Safaricom 4G For Home

I was an early adopter of the all but dead Safcom GIGABOX. The OG version of the set-top box was utter dog shyte. I used it for a whole of four days before dumping it in the bin of forgotten items. Plus the amount of data they offered wasn’t that great. 5GB, was it?

With 4G For Home you get 1048576.0 MB of data. That’s 1 TB. There is no mention of unlimited anywhere on the marketing materials. I think that’s deliberate. What Safcom does is they subscribe your SIM to a special tariff that allows you to buy 1TB of 4G only data that is capped at 5Mbps for 3000 shillings. But you have to buy a router first. Router is 9000, data is 3000… (12k).

So what can you do with it?
→ Watch YouTube all day in 720p.
[ATTACH=full]287176[/ATTACH]
→ Play online multiplayer games. Safcom seems to have the lowest latency when playing with/against European players. Followed by Telkom, Faiba, and lastly far behind is Airtel. Faiba/Telkom seem to beat out Safcom when playing against African players.
→ With enough patience, download small files.
→ Regular browsing is OK.

What can’t you do with it?
→ Download huge files. This will test your patience. An 800MB movie will take about half an hour of your day. And games?
[ATTACH=full]287178[/ATTACH]
→ Upload files. The uploads take a ridiculous amount of time, even for not so huge files – 20MB.

Good news is torrents aren’t throttled (yet). You will be downloading torrents with the same speed as regular files – ~500KBps.

By every indication, this is still in the trial stage. There is no dashboard to check your data/renew your monthly subscription. They are selling an UNLOCKED router. When’s the last time Safcom sold an unlocked router. Occasionally, you will have to restart your router to get connected to the internet. But once connected it stays connected. The only other 4G provider that can say that is Telkom.

I told fellas here 5Mbps is a way too slow for a person to enjoy anything. Unless you just do menial browsing as.you sit and wait for your files to finish downloading. Considering that their 5Mbps FTTH goes for almost the same amount, it’s a better deal then.

Yep. If you want to download files with this you’ll have to queue them on a proper file downloader and take a walk. But I seem to stream more and more and movies.cab and Youtube seem to be just fine.

Yeah streaming 720p but for a person like me who strictly streams 1080p I’ll just have to download whatever I prefer. Good thing is at a particular time, there is always a moviensittingnidly in my laptop so I waiting for a movie to finish downloading is just a by the way

Why get 4G for home when you can get Safaricom home fibre?

Mashinani problems.

Thanks for the review

we hutumia gani? but naona haikai mbaya sana kama uko mashinani pahali hakuna fibre, nitajaribu hii nikienda ocha

Nasurvive kwa Airtel daily 2GB hakuna wifi huku

What he has described is true for Home fibre as well nowadays… that shared connection thingy kills all the joy… UPloading a simple small file to email takes forever, thats like 3MB or less… I remember after 4hours I wasnt succesful, had to switch to telkom to get the damn file uploaded in under 30seconds… At the time of roll out of home fibre the speeds were bliss but not anymore… You either get the platinum connection 10mbps at 5k and above or just let it be. That 5mbs crap is nothing but schadenfreude… if you are into uploads and downloads

Faiba haiko kila mahali.

I have the Safaricom Home Fibre 10Mbps package for 3,999 monthly. I stream movies from my android box (okay 720p ukijaribu higher you get issues), I watch EPL live. I have like 7 devices always connected. I have never had issues with uploading or anything.

Mimi landlord aliweka Wananchi online, nalipa to rent alafu na browse 30 days nonstop. Torrents wamenizoea

I went to enquire about this product and was told the speed is capped at 3mbps

Exactly, it’s this 3mbps that makes it less attractive. For me, 5mbps would have been acceptable, 3 is a little slow considering I have to share the connection with at least two other people in the house

[ATTACH=full]295987[/ATTACH]

Can you stream youtube at 1080p smoothly?

No

Can you stream 720p?
How many users can it support?

You can stream 720p, but only for a single user.