Safaricom contact

I had travelled for a little while only to come back yesterday and found my mom had been defrauded by Safaricom scammers.

They pretended to work for Safaricom and asked for her ID details, which they used to change her number and borrowed money from KCB Mpesa and Mshwari.

How they managed to replace her simcard without the original documents by beats me. I have fought Customer Service on phone who are making her pay for the money borrowed, but to no success. No one should be able to change/replace a simcard without the original documents or at least the simcard which is being replaced, if it’s not a case of stolen phone.

Anyone with a good contact I can speak to in regards to the same?

Cheers!

Hapa huna bahati. Probably wale jamaa was kamiti not safcon employees. Tens she gave out those details yet the telco keeps warning never to give out your details to anybody.

Safaricom employees are in on it. The best way to deal with Saf is to expose and tag them on social media, they’ll work real quick to solve that issue. They don’t like it when you broadcast their thieving ways.

Safisha mesho kwanza nitakuhelp na mbana

The thugs simply replace your sim card. If you provide your ID number and pin number of your ism, you are cooked. Tell you mum to use voice recognition. Even my mum alionyshwa hivyo tu few years back.

Worse ni equitel, if the shugs get your SIM details, account inangarishwa na wanachukua Eazzy loan.

Safaricom has licked our asses, begged us, literally done everything they can to put this simple message across of not sharing passwords over the phone. Na bado mnangongwa?

Acha tu nisave matusi zangu *&$#@$. Hiyo pesa msee ashakojoleaa Sabina Joy. I

next time be letting your mom in on the current thieving trends it always helps ,anyway pole to her na vile umeambiwa hapo juu exposing them on Twitter works well since they care about their image

Not unless kama ulisomea communication kwa dirisha, this first part of your statement is useless and unnecessary to say the least. Are you suggesting that there is a correlation between your presence and the safety of your mother’s Mpesa funds? Kama hungesafiri pesa haingeibiwa? Kwani walikuwa wanangoja usafiri ndio waibie mama yako? Your message would still be impactful if you had started with your second paragraph albeit tweaked abit.
With that out of the way, your best strategy ni kupiga kelele kwa social media otherwise ambia mathe alipe loan.

That story a few months back of the old woman whose account got cleaned out was really sad.

More than a million gone!

I’d literally die from the shock!

I have warned her about these fuckers, but I will cut her some slack because she’s mama. The scammers only got her ID details, not her password. She could be old, but not stupid. So they used her ID info to replace her simcard. I blame Safaricom for allowing simcard replacement without an original ID.

Yes, there’s a correlation, but I will not delve into it…but thanks for your two cents.

You have the thugs phone numbers from her records?

There is a lot here you haven’t said or haven’t been told.

To replace sim card you need original ID and PIN. In fact you also need that whole green card holder with PUK etc.

To borrow from Mshwari and KCB Mpesa you need the Mpesa pin as well. So they have the two PINs. sim card pin and mpesa pin. Lazima she gave out both.

Calling any employee in Safcom wouldn’t help. Any log in on subscribers details leaves a trail of the exact employee details. Besides its not like they all have full access to information unless its within the responsibility to do so and all interactions are logged in automatically.

The only option here is the official route. Call customer care and report the fraud. It will be logged in and you will be given details. Go to the nearest police station and report that fraud as well so that the ID, line can’t be used on other crimes. Then go to Safaricom customer care with the complainant and provide the OB. Talk to the fraud department staff and they will give you the actual transcript of the events from the system. Hope for the best but prepare for the worst.

Hii ni ku-waste time, police will just ask for kitu kidogo and nothing will happen. Let me ask you a question: sometimes you receive a call or text from a strange number, and Truecaller lists it as “Kamiti…scammer…conman or mwizi”. If that number has tried scamming so many people that Truecaller has already identified it as such, then it must have been reported to Safaricom. Why does such a number still remain active?

Thanks indeed for your comprehensive reply. I was thinking of taking this route too. Asante sana once again.

Because you don’t report it to Police, get the OB and take it to safcom customer care. Once you do that Safcom is now obligated to suspend the line as it looks into the issue while the Police are to investigate. You can then be given the office line no of the Safaricom fraud staff handling the case and follow up on the matter. I helped a certain person on the same and ones they printed for him the transcript he was shocked. Kwanza if your line is taken over call immediately to have it blocked. You don’t know what its been used for. You can become suspect no 1 on robberies and crime without knowing.

Nothing like “good contact”, just report the case to the police and go to safaricom customer care with the complaint… pole.

Good advice there BUT…BUT… the policeKE will obviously use that to extort the fraudster… wewe utabaki na OB tu… SADLY.

Wouldn’t you, if you were paid peanuts?

Which details?