Safaricom puts 5G plans on hold... and so should you!

Safaricom has confirmed it has no plans for launching 5G network in Kenya for the foreseeable future despite the hardware being ready. Apparently, the US has dissuaded Kenya (and Safaricom for that matter) from using Huawei equipment in exchange for a trade deal.

So if you are planning to buy a 5G phone I advise that you put your plans on hold - just like Safaricom. If you are in the market for a phone - buy phones with the following chipsets.

Snapdragon: 8 series - max should be SD 855
Snapdragon 7 series - Max should be SD 732G
Snapdragon 6 series - Max should be SD 675
Mediatek - Avoid all Dimensity chipsets
Samsung- Avoid Exynos 880, 980, 990 and 1080
Huawei - Avoid 820-5G and above for 8 series, and 990-5g and above for 9 series.
Apple - Well in this case iPhones tend to get support for even 6 years and offer a wide band coverage but still I’d stay away from 5G iPhones.

I know many of you will want to go against the advice of @Nyamgondho wuod Ombare but don’t be surprised when your 5G phone does not connect to Safaricom’s 5G once it launches. I once bought a 4G phone before 4G was launched in Kenya and needless to say only band 3 could connect to the phone when the network launched. Don’t go down the same path. Also why buy a 5G phone yet it may take 3 years before you get to use the tech, and by the time 5G launches you’ll need to change the phone anyway.?

New 4G phones are likely to have better battery life and better technology over time (compared to some current 5G phones). Snapdragon 855 is no slouch and btw new phones with this chipset might continue getting launched.

I say tulijua back in September.

https://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?threads/safaricom-to-launch-5g-via-huawei.164238/

We ain’t buying phones niggah, hizi ma 3G na 4G imetutosha, representing @WaleWaBara

Go wank to sleep. Your news is stale as a fermented busaa. Just don’t get up after you pass out.

Safi kabisa. Wasee wakongwe watwangane makonde

You can’t wish away your problems in judgement Abba. I still insist that you want to redeem yourself - you need to go back to that kijiji ya wazee. We didn’t force any decision on you…neither did we force you to badmouth Ktalk on the other forum. Be responsible, be accountable, stand by your decisions. Kuwa mwanaume!

In my book @Abba is young man… probably in his mid 30s. His posts when he joined this forum as a NV are testament to that. He has a taste for Zilizopendwa, rumba and I suspect lingala but that doesn’t make him a mzee.

Says unsullied :smiley:

Zima hiyo bangi mzee.

The thread has gone Souz.

O rly?

If you haven’t been told already then hear it from me… you are a poor excuse for a moderator. And all this time since you joined this forum in 2015 it hasn’t sunk into your thick skull that some of us just raise informative threads and are not here to drum up “likes” or “replies”.

I have always requested (and I still do) that my title be permanently revised to (new villager) as that will stave off shallow-minded people like you who think we are here to assuage our egos or something.

:D:D nini inaendelea hapa? Feels like I stumbled onto a family feud.

Wapi zile umbwa @Sokwe mtu @Kodiaga @uwesmake ohhh i forgot they are still washing their smelly arses after a night of threesome bottom fucking… Ghasia hizo

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

@Nyamgondho is it that time of the month ama nini mbaya na wewe jizee??

usa inafanya tusiendelee banae

China must pay.

Can’t see this story in the interwebs…

Um

Hapo Umeongea kama wahenga kumi combined

TONGOZA @poyoloko bila kelele