Samatian Island in Lake Baringo

Samatian Island Lodge is located in Samatian Island, only four hours’ drive from Nairobi. The small and exclusive Samatian Island is set on a small private island on Lake Baringo in Kenya’s Great Rift Valley. With its breath-taking views across the bronze waters of the lake to the imposing backdrop of the Laikipia Escarpment, the lodge offers the perfect mid-safari break.

The beauty of Baringo is legendary, with its spectacular sunsets, dazzling array of bird life, and the Njemps fishermen continuing a lifestyle little changed for over 200 years. Lake Baringo is also a Ramsar site, having been recognised internationally as a vitally important wetland.

Accommodation is in five open plan thatched cottages sleeping up to 14 guests. Each room has a superb view of the lake and all bedrooms have adjacent bathrooms, each with its own unique style, and usually a view too.

The family chalet has a double and a twin bedroom as well as an open air deck upstairs for star-gazing and enjoying the breathtaking 360 degree view. These open rooms provide welcome breezes while mosquito nets provide protection at night. In the rare event of a storm, waterproof blinds are let down to shut out the rain.

Each room has a unique personality, blending in with the nature of its surroundings and providing privacy to each chalet. Hot showers are available in each unit all day, and some units are furnished with stunning indoor/outdoor baths.

A spacious, open dining area with views across the lake and beyond to the Rift Valley provides guests with an idyllic setting to enjoy their meals. Off this dining area is a lounge, with comfortable cushions, hammoks and chairs. A peaceful area to watch the birds feeding on the bird tables and to take in the vast open wilderness.

Alfresco bush breakfasts, open air night time dining around the pool or in the main dining area is available.

[ATTACH=full]218668[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]218669[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]218670[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]218671[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]218672[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]218673[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]218674[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]218675[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]218676[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]218677[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]218678[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]218679[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]218680[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]218681[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]218682[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]218683[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]218684[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]218685[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]218686[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]218688[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]218689[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]218690[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]218691[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]218692[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]218693[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]218694[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]218695[/ATTACH]

Wow.

Rates per night ni ngapi?

Elder,

I was on that lake in post-PEV 2008 and didn’t know there was an island. Looks great.

Absolutely its 40000 for a family of four full board.

This place is so beautiful. Sooo rare.

Ni place poa sana. Alafu unapata samaki fresh hapo hapo unavuliwa na locals

Leta review kaka

I have a great shot of a young Njemps fisherman in his shallow canoe made of reeds. They’re expert fishermen.

Tulienda na watu Jesus Jesus hivi, thought it would be boring coz kuna walevi and anti ulevi, it turned out to be a blessing in disguise juu the quiet is exactly what we needed. Very relaxing. Unaweza tuliza akili vizuri sana. Kuna place ya kucheki stars usiku kama wewe ni stargazer. Lakini beba mosquito repellent mzuri.
Chakula ni yako unabeba but unapikiwa ama you send someone to buy.
Or you can fish with the local guys(best option for fish)

Nice. The one we made friends with had had a big chunk of his leg chewed off by a crocodile.

Na rates?

Sijui. It was a gift. I heard someone say 400 something dollars but I’m not sure