Sampling in the Music business

Ever heard a song and you wonder umewa iskia wapi?
Start by listening to this:
Octopizzo- something for you

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4wMZwZcjBSw

now listen to this
Slim Ali & the Hodi boys- You can do it

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O6HUoeYgKHQ

Cool James- Mtoto wa Dandu Sina makosa

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aGKvMX1Yhdw

Les Wanyika- Sina Makosa

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HbE7sARmyNU

Wyre- Sina makosa

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NeyneXZe51s

So what happened there? Sampling I hope and not outright theft of music.
Sampling is when a musician uses a beat/ chorus/ hook of another musician’s work to make ‘new’ music.
I use new in quotes because some just basically change a few things- tempo/ verse etc but still push the new song as theirs.
Internationally this is done by even super producers such as Dr Dre and Kanye West.
Kanye West’ first song Through the wire sampled Chaka Khan’s Through the fire so beautifully.

Chaka Khan- Through the fire
https://youtu.be/ymuWb8xtCsc

Kanye- Thru the wire
https://youtu.be/uvb-1wjAtk4

The other sampling guru has to be Dr Dre.
Nuthin but a G’ thang sampled Leon Haywood I Want to Do Something Freaky to You
Dr Dre
https://youtu.be/ucoK6KN1dzU

Leon
https://youtu.be/BoeStB36dic
Dr Dre went HAM in sampling this. The beats are 80% similar.

Hip hop has done heavy sampling of Jazz/ Classsic Soul with James Brown being the most sampled artist.
OTIS by Jigga ft Kanye sampled Otis Redding’s Try a little tenderness.
OTIS
https://youtu.be/BoEKWtgJQAU

Try a little tenderness
https://youtu.be/UnPMoAb4y8U

Sampling is a good thing because we get to hear the classics in an entirely new way. These old artists also get paid which is useful to them in their twilight years. I f you sample you have to pay royalties or else face a lawsuit like Pharrell and Robin Thicke did after ‘being inspired’ by Marvin Gaye’s Got to Give It Up when making Blurred lines.
http://www.rollingstone.com/music/news/robin-thicke-and-pharrell-lose-blurred-lines-lawsuit-20150310

Check out a few more sampling gems. TGIF

Cool James- Hallo Hallo papa
https://youtu.be/4KhJxOZV6Kw

Koffi Olomide- Allo Allo Papa
https://youtu.be/k6-shXnHtcc

Paul Wall- Oooh Girl
https://youtu.be/YZVp8fvD_yc

The Chi lites- ooh Girl
https://youtu.be/LwjsVD23Z3E

And my all time favourite (watu wa GTA mpooo)

The Isley Brothers- Footsteps in the dark
https://youtu.be/etwIu8-FlGU

Ice cube- It was a good day
https://youtu.be/h4UqMyldS7Q

Sources- Uncle Google, Youtube and a keen interest in music.
TGIF

Saa hii ndio una discover?

Imagine

this is what i’m talking about. very good

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mM0-ZU8njdo

and

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OMOGaugKpzs

wacha ningoje nightshift bundles zianze works

One of my favourites…

Sample this one

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XmTG4lpMj3c

Alafu sikia hio ngita hapa

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dFDU9o6CAoU

Hii nayo je? Any similarity…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AlXqOuG1Sic

…to this?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XauFLWYSIiU

I need that!

J cole is always good. Just listen to his forest hills drive album which according to me is his best. I never tire of listening to it

True. No wack album from Cole world to date

This is one case of ‘sampling’ that I’ve always liked. IMO, all the songs stand out.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L1f74hRZKac

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l5CujW5MokY

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pD5xS2XPPwI

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=joX3E3m7XtI

and

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rEoZq6X_7Mc

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HEXWRTEbj1I

vs.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KV2ssT8lzj8

@Luther12 hapo safi. Really nice songs there

Glad you appreciate. Nikikumbuka zingine nitaweka.

Good stuff.