Sexual harassment at ushahidi

Ushahidi which was founded on the premise of mapping violence reports in Kenya in the 2008 post election violence, and known for all the good brought on humanity, is back in the news. This time for the wrong reasons. As it turns out, there has been something really wrong going on in the company as far as human resource is concerned.

We got wind of information that there has been cases of an individual in the senior leadership being accused of sexually harassing women in the company. Something that has been brought to the attention of members of the board according to the reports. It is said that it’s not just one cases but the said person has developed this reputation for many years now.

Instead of dealing with the said employee to make the victims feel safe in the organization, it seems like the said senior team member is enjoying protection from the company, and instead of stern action against them, the women involved have got victim shamed.

It is alleged that the responses from the top leadership include threats and emotional blackmail. They were warned that if they spoke up they risked not getting investment for their startups. Other responses include loss of jobs in the organization in this case I assume that they believed that dealing with it firmly would ruin the reputation of Ushahidi among investors.

Ushahidi shares board members with BRCK, a company that designs portable wifi hotspots targeted at remote areas without stable internet connection and also recently got into the education space with BRCK education.

This association also brought in sentiments among the top leadership that it would make it hard for BRCK to fund-raise.

It is a courage act for a lady to bring up to the attention of a company’s leadership, a case of sexual harassment, knowing the potential outcomes ranging from protectionism to actually dealing with the situation. It’s even worse when it’s not just one but several women, on an ongoing basis. And the protection is all in the name of “protecting an ecosystem”. The ecosystem doesn’t need to be protected from such, and instead action should be taken since human resource is more important than funding.

It’s my wish that this doesn’t get taken too far and gets dealt with as it should. For an organisation associated with ”
Helping people raise their voice and those who serve them to listen and respond better’, it should be at the forefront of ensuring that these same voices are protected. Charity begins at home.

I would want the founder to harass me. she is a looker. hehehe

soooo. how does this help us kama you are protecting the person by not naming them…hizi ni rumours tu

Well put VE

why do i smell mud slinging ?

I know the BRCK CEO personally. A very humble lady. Mrs. Nivi Sharma. She should just get the eff off that Ushahidi chieth.

Underground sources say that the CEO Daudi Were is the sexual pest

Because you have an extra sensitive mudslinging smelling nose…

elder wacha zako, sharma aint the BRCK CEO, or did Hersman change his name?

Three or so years ago Alai mentioned this and accused the founder of some allegation he did not substantiate. Claimed she is silent about the things that were happening at Ushahidi but very loud about others. If this article is recent, it means the stuff has been going on for ages.

come on chief, i hope you have concrete prove before you start dragging his name into what appears to be mud slinging

let me bail out on this thread

Unless you are talking of a different BRCK, the CEO and founder is one Nivi Mukherjee who became Nivi Sharma last year after getting married.

Aviator wacha zako, Brck C.E.O ni Erik Hersman

come on elder, argue with me on matters none tech

are you confusing BRCK with eLimu, she founded the latter and is still the CEO , also currently engaged in the former to bring BRCK into the education sector due to her success with eLimu, incharge of BRCK education

Protégé wangu wachana na Mama Saitan

Another half baked hit job by #36b

Fundah wewe. I exchange emails with her every day, and her signature reads… ok, Managing Director. Is there a difference anyway?

She’s the founder of eLimu yes, but also an MD at BRCK. Anyway, nimeangalia her email signature, it reads MD. Website reads president. I think she’s also not sure who she is.

provide picha evidence to substantiate your comments

Watu wakulane

Gugu Juliana Rotich BRCK