SGR vs Air Cargo.

A thunderbolt just struck me after reading about KQ losses in another thread. The usual annual KQ losses report.

Why exactly did Uhuru construct a very slow SGR whereas customers could be air lifting cargo from Mombasa to Nairobi and elsewhere?!

Why not boost KQ by investing in efficient affordable cargo planes and also expand Mombasa road to 6 or even 7 lane dual carriageway?

Reli zinaisha fashion lakini wewe unajenga a very expensive reli, ilhali you have a very huge airport and a very BROKE airline in need of work and money!!!

Recently someone here wrote of how the American railway line has diminished in size and use due to competition from air and road transport. And he was absolutely right, it’s all about speed & efficiency now and not that much about the size of what you can pull. Size is very important of course but people want it now! Today! This very minute! Eggs from Naivasha, milk from wherever,make it happen, now please!

It’s all about DHL and Fedex now… President Uhuru, rail and sea are dying, people are looking for someone who can ship their product direct from Singapore or China right to Nairobi in one day!

Sio ichukue a whole week by sea then a whole day by SGR! We are competing with other fast growing economies, and air is very efficient. How many times have I seen people on ktalk asking whether there is a way to get stuff from amazon, Alibaba and other websites… yes there is a way and it’s called Kenya Airways Cargo, lakini wamelalia maskio. Instead people talk of freight services from Somalia. Somalia!!

KQ is always talking about restructuring sijui new CEO… what you KQ mofos need is new business!

Mmewachwa na wengine kabisa. Singapore airlines was born in 1947.
Kenya Airways was born in 1946 as East Africa airways. Kenya airways at the time had even much more growth potential than Singapore because it had been created to serve 3 nations and very vast interests.

Yet today, wacha tu. Singapore airlines is highly profitable, very diversified and they are cushioned perfectly to survive financial strains in the aviation sector. They even have contracts to overhaul engines and construct new components in state of the art facilities. What does KQ their agemate have? A parasitic, one sided marriage with KLM, bloated redundant staff and services, zero diversification…

Most workers at KQ and KAA I think are cleaners na waliwekwa hapo na mtu wao. No research facilities. Not even just one flight academy or aviation business school since 1947! Shule moja tu?!! A school that could train pilots, caulinary experts, aviation business executives etc and at the same time rake in a few millions per year. You still send pilots to very expensive schools in S.A. and elsewhere.

Not even a renowned taxi and bus shuttle service to rake in a few more cents. Angalau just one executive hotel to shore up profits. Nada… zilch… zero! Na ati you’re the same age as Singapore Airlines. KQ should’ve already financed and constructed light rail services from the airport to surrounding towns years ago from its own kityy.Singapore Airlines holding company Temasek Holdings is actually a govt. sovereign fund. Yaani Singapore Airlines is so well run, it’s like the equivalent of oil to the Singapore people. Zile pesa bakshish za kujenga mashule na hospitali na for future generations. And its absolutely independent of govt. inteference unlike here in Kenya where KQ is a personal ATM for people in power and a place to reward larkies with jobs.

Singapore airlines saw the future. In 1992 (very
recently) they invested in air cargo proper. And in those few and very short years, they are world leaders in air cargo. A small fleet size in the cargo division yet they move millions of tonnes through their cargo super hubs. And they fly all manner of distant destinations ferrying all manner of goods.

KQ meanwhile only does cut flowers and michiri to one or two destinations. A paltry 65,000 tonnes a year. Thats like 2000 containers a year. That’s the same amount of containers Meria mata transports in 2 or 3 years of hard work. One man vs a whole airport!!

Oh, and they even rewarded themselves for such paltry figures. And the worst part is, most of that 65000 tonne cargo isn’t even ours ni chakula ya U.N. na vitu za wazungu. A whole airport!

Trailer zimelemewa kwa barabara na mvua na jam, Mombasa road being so narrow… East Africa’s gateway yet, next to that road is thousands of unused acres of airport land with very underworked aircraft and very jobless pilots just chilling at home and sending applications every other day to Wilson to look for a chance to transport miraa to war torn countries and yet somebody just poured several billion dollars into a new and very slow railway line and he now wants to force people to use said railway line…

Only in Africa do you get that kind of thinking. Americans are abandoning rail and going the Fedex, DHL, Amazon drone route… nyinyi mnaenda the exact opposite: the slowest mode of transport. Si afadhali hata kupanua Mombasa Road to 6 lanes of dual carriage-way both ways Meria Mata akitaka kuendesha 2 trucks at the same time side by side anafanya hivo. He should find himself driving all alone from here to Busia with no jam at a constant 120kph. He is moving East Africa’s product na yet amekwama kwa jam.

Sasa juu driverless trucks are on the way, a real reality where a convoy of trucks will be following each other with one driver, what will happen to this expensive SGR?
Drones are also coming. Its only a matter of time before very fast “freight drones” come.

Have i read what i just read?come you are sober na punguza madre.

Are you stupid?

Tuseme tu @patco ni kubwa kuliko akili yako

But of course when you are used to mediocrity ideas like these to you appear stupid. I imagine mnanyamba nyamba juu ya story ya cost.
Those would be high at the outset but with more uptake and govt. support they would be very affordable for goods like electronics for instance.

Shipping might appear cheap but you forget the steep warehouse costs at the ports.

And proof that air transport is in high demand just look at the high demand for local flights. As it stands one is being told to ship, then the cargo is loaded on a train and trains are despised worldwide because they are NOT FLEXIBLE at all unless the railway line runs through your factory. Then after the SGR gets to Nairobi you then pick up your container from the train depot and load it again on a truck to bring to your business hao watu wote ni wewe unalipa including all those clearance and handling costs.

Imagine a modern freight superhub at jkia. Your stuff lands and you just pick it up immediately.

Lakini kwa Mwafrika thinking ni, “hapana hao Americans hawajui nini wanafanya, wacha kwanza tujenge reli tuskie vile waliskia utamu wa reli alafu tutajaribu ndege after everything fails fantastically. Hakuna mbio, mambo ni aste aste.”

You live in USA???

Have you asked yourself why America uses air for heavy cargo (if at all its true) while Europe and majority of other countries use railway?

It’s not possible for one to be this ignorant, no way.

Darwinism must be failing if you made it to adulthood.cheer up guys,end of days is nigh

Silly.

Nothing intellectual nor close to smart thinking here.Just a rant

Are you a pilot or aspiring to be one?

President Uhuru is in Rwanda today signing documents about intra-Africa trade. Trade between our countries a common market.

How can you have a common market over such vast distances without air freight?

E-COMMERCE IS HERE!! Online shopping is here with us now. Unalipa inaletwa. The only way Amazon in the U.S. makes sense is through air freight: UPS, Fedex, DHL.

Without those there’d be nothing like amazon. And now amazon is leading the fight into the world of drones.

Uhuru and other African presidents want a united market. You order fabric from Gambia ikuje mbio mbio, Bananas from Kisii ziende Moyale mbio mbio na zingine ziende Zambia… you order tyres from South Africa… mwingine anataka tiles and mobile phone zikuje mbio from Turkey… YOU NEED AIR CARGO!!!
How will Jumia work across Africa if you order something online from Rwanda and it takes three weeks to get to Nairobi. Otherwise what uhuru is signing in Rwanda is just another piece of empty paper. SPEED IS ESSENTIAL!!
Lakini unajua naongelesha akili meffi. Herd mentality. Slow thinkers, kila kitu lazima ikuwe filtered: “Is he attacking jubilee?”

“Does baba concur?”

If sea ports in Hong Kong some of the busiest on earth are losing out to super terminals in Hong Kong airports kwani what will be different here:

https://www.joc.com/air-cargo/hong-kong-air-cargo-soars-above-sinking-sea-freight_20150127.html

So why bother commenting or even reading in the first place? You don’t counter my argument, ni kupayuka tu.

The level of intelligence on this site is quite wanting. You wanted another hekaya or a tbt about how two guys fucked an inebriated female on a double decker?
Hio ndio ni inakubamba.

Kenyanlist has really sunk to new depths.

Have you seen what kcaa has done with drones? I keep saying that in Kenya everything is an obstacle.

Theriously…Are you the one who was operated in the head by mistake

You really need to reflect on what you’ve written.
How is KQ supposed to carry a shipping container, leave alone 300? In what world would that be economical.
DHL and Fedex work best for small parcels.

Which majority is these you speak of Vanadium? Air freight in Europe grew 10% last year:

http://www.iata.org/pressroom/pr/Pages/2018-01-10-01.aspx

http://www.aircargonews.net/news/policy/government/single-view/news/airfreight-demand-up-9-in-2017-strongest-growth-since-2010-says-iata.html

All I’m proposing is that for a struggling airline like KQ they shouldn’t be struggling when there’s so much cargo for them to transport from Mombasa! Cargo that shouldn’t even go to Mombasa in the first place.

Cargo they could even pick up direct from whence customers ordered said cargo e.g. Dubai, China, Turkey etc. And they are very well positioned to do it. And they would seriously decongest the Mombasa port.

Now with e-commerce in Africa and with presidents saying let’s open our doors, they have an opportunity of a life time to grow and expand, away from just carrying passengers.

Kwani how hard is it for instance to imagine the transportation of perishable goods like fruit and vegetables from places like kinangop or laikipia to other destinations within and outside Kenya? This is a very serious and large untapped market.
Why should miraa travel to nairobi then to market whereas it should travel directly by air from Meru to markets?!

Already Amref and U.N. have proved it’s doable because that’s how they access the very remote parts of Kenya’s interior. This is a niche just waiting to be tapped.

Troll alert!!!

Last time i got decoders from SA nilitokwa na jasho kwa mkundu, DHL na KRA walini dfhkm kitu ya 4k ikafika kwa shelf @13k, Common Market indeed, waondoe boaders zote kwanza, Kenyan truck in TZ has to pay thousands to be on their rds, sijui shida yao hua nini, by the time ufike Zambia Hio product ishapanda bei