Shugri Bagri deng deng played in an NBA game but Kenyan Radio stations still wont Play Kenyan Music

If we wont support our own, who will? Kenyan radio stations playing us Naija and Bongo music yet we have lots of good songs in kenya. This Kenyan Dj who is the official Dallas Mavericks DJ has been really promoting kenyan songs over there but Jalango will write a million essays telling us he is not incharge of selection of songs for his own fucking show, kwani he is paid a million bob salary to be controlled like a puppet?

[MEDIA=twitter]1082557460337119232[/MEDIA]

@patco once had a thread comparing a colonel Mustapha song to a similar bongo song, Moustapha was considered a flop but the bongo guys were a hit. we need to support own first before supporting the trash from Nigeria or TZ

Dundain pia ishacheswa

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GFYYuwCoEhQ

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vNcJaVho6rA

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VyI1bh8BI90

wonderful

"Bank otuch "ikichezwa munisho.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p3zyqOzwsKU

I had this conversation na wife. Told her the reason why Kenyan music doesnt do well is they are not original. No single day Papa Jones will rap better than an American no single day redsan will sing better than Jamaican fellas. So challenged her why is it Lamba Lolo, New position and Dundain have better youtube views than all these established music like Khaligraph Jones Redsan. Its because those songs kenyans can relate to them no matter how stupid you think they are.
As i told her, check their views in youtube it was over 2.5m views she was shocked

The only thing kaligraph is good at is rapping with his mouth twisted to the side… Hahahaha…

Khali is appreciated elsewhere.
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.sde.co.ke/amp/article/2001298309/2018-afrimma-awards-khaligraph-papa-dennis-win-big

It’s only a specific genre of kenyan music that is not being played ( popular with 5-25 year olds)…most other genres are played continuously.
The problem with this kind of music is that nobody will be listening to it in two years time…am still listening to kalamashaka, ukoo flani, les wanyika etc 10-20 yrs later.

We dont need awards to know how good you bro.
There are some genuine parameters to see how your music is received on. This are where fans spend their hard money. This is the only genuine way awards hizi can be manipulated big time.
Let Khaligraph jone fill up Kasarani stadium. Let him have big number in youtube views, let him sell albums, let him produce albums? Lastky you think Khaligraph is better than Cassper? Cassper? Khaligraph even is not worth to tie Caspper shoe laces.

For your Infromation this Cassper in the previous years.

[MEDIA=twitter]937223615568842752[/MEDIA]

Last month he did FillUpMosesMadiba Stadium like this…
[ATTACH=full]219260[/ATTACH]

Can Khaligraph achieve something like this?

If you think awards are useless then your viewpoint absurd. Casper is a joke when compared to Khali. It is only that SA have embraced him. A sizeable percentage of Kenyans do not listen to hip hop because it is a bit complex to them. Generally speaking, hip hop artists in Kenya are not well acknowledged making the artists struggle for limelight.

Kenyan Music does not do well in Kenya because Kenyan Radio stations dont PLAY them, any other reason is just pure hate. Please don’t give me the social media and internet excuse, Radio and TV are still the main source of entertainment for most Kenyans. Beyond Nairobi streaming music is a dream for most people.

I first knew of Khaligraph Jones before he went Mainstream from Homeboyz radio’s the jumpoff. Corine kept playing his songs plus other Kenyans too. By playing Kenyan music you increase their outreach to more fans. An artist popular in his own country makes it easy for them to go international since they have a huge fanbase that other big players from other countries can tap into when they collabo with them. Diamond or Wizkid or even Rick Ross will easily collaborate with you if you have a huge fanbase in your own country and not if you are some obscure person with good music. you will only have this fanbase if your country supports you and that starts with the media there which the kenyan media is not doing.

Take the example of Nigeria, they only play their own music and support their own

[MEDIA=twitter]1082299183481135104[/MEDIA]

do they have better lyrical content than those of kenyan artists?

[ATTACH=full]219258[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]219259[/ATTACH]

hizi ndizo content unataka kusema are better than kenyan music?

The same Lamba Lolo you are talking about are not even played on local TV and radio stations. Their fame is majorly from social media. So what if our local stations played their songs, how huge would their fanbase be? if their songs are dirty then why are local media stations playing chopped up and censored erotic American songs like Tyga’s dip? why can’t they edit out the PG stuff from Lamba Lolo crew and play them?

Look at vernacular radio stations on how they promote local artists. they even organise live show like those ramogi night stuff for their fans. You don’t find inooro majorly playing lingala music but the local Kikuyu artists, same to Ramogi. can you say the same for Kiss, NRG radio etc Okay for NRG they have had festivals, but who headlines them? Kwanza NRG only plays Naija, Jamaica and American music, rarely do they play Kenyan music. if in an hour you play let’s say 10 songs, will it hurt if half are Kenyan?

before you hate Khaligraph this current conversation is because of him

[MEDIA=instagram]BsSdz_BBVQO[/MEDIA]

read my reply above

Huyo DJ amefanya poa kupromote wakenya. Though amechagua the meffiest of meffi songs kupromote

Radio wako kwa bizness they play music that’s in overall demand.

Si ni record label who release clean edits? @Deorro

Mimi I support music I like nationality doesn’t matter.

kama huyu si ndiye alisema hawezi cheza position

[MEDIA=twitter]1070919119493627905[/MEDIA]

Nikiwa home i was watching Mashariki tv or whatever the fvck it’s called and the DJ said they spend some hours before the show editing videos that they will play to make it TV friendly. even if they can’t how about telling them that “hey we like your music and would like to play it, can you have someone edit to make it TV or radio friendly?”

I love bongo music, nice love songs and beats. Kenyan music with their sijui…kuja kwa keja…madiaba…pure juvenile embarrassing nonsense with a few exceptions like sauti sol etc

And then you listen to wasafi, hii ujinga wakenya mlitoa wapi

mbona unaskiza radio 2019?