Silver lining

This thread straddles Relationships and Motoring, but isorait, I’ll drop it here.
I have a son who is eight. A good kid.
He still thinks I am God…poor dude. I’ll enjoy it while it lasts.
Tries to copy everything I do.
Saturday, yesterday, after his recital of the 5-times table, I take him on for leaving his bike uncovered in Friday night’s rain. There is a custom-cut Tuskys jwala for that.
Water got to the plug so no matter how hard we yank at the cord it won’t start.
To my surprise he asks to use my tools and I oblige.
He clicks the plug spanner onto the ratchet and goes to work.
In a few minutes he has the plug out and he’s off to the kitchen.
He’s seen me doing this before, I just didn’t realize how keenly he was following.

[ATTACH=full]98301[/ATTACH]

He recycles the plug and lets it cool on the kitchen sink for a while.
When it’s cool enough to handle he puts it back…ratchet, lead wire, etc.
All this time I’ve been watching without commenting.
When he is done he works the choke, yanks the cord and the two stroke barks alive.
I must say I am impressed. Too impressed to remember that we hadn’t added oil to the fuel mixture. Shait.
Kijana huyoo, helmet kichwani na ameondoka.
Fifteen minutes later he is back…pushing the bike.
The engine has seized and I should be upset.
Strange thing is, I’m not.
A chance has just presented itself for me to rebuild this engine with him, and I will gladly take it.
With this chance, hopefully, I’ll teach him a thing or two about being a grease monkey, and while at it give him something to tell his own kids about his childhood.

Mentoring is the key.thumbs up jatelo

your son Is one lucky MF. I remember I could not touch my dad’s bike even with a 10ft pole.

Wonderful, just wonderful, you are the brand of dads this country needs,.
I pray That God gives you a long life so that you can see him do the same with his kids
Bravo

that is very impressive Onyi

Kudos Crayon thug

Thumbs up

Kudos bro well done. they just watch and absorb everything daddy does.

Couldn’t help myself :D:D:D:D
[ATTACH=full]98306[/ATTACH]

Namna hiyo.

That’s very impressive introfart. When I was young, my dad had a Husqvarna chain saw and on the weekends he would take it apart to clean it after a week of felling heavy trees. First thing ilikuwa ni kutumwa petrol. mimi huyo Na kibuyu juu ya cheki Maneno mpaka petrol station Na kubuy Super ya 100… a litre or so was just enough for the task ahead.

I would sit by as he laid his paraphernalia on a gunia from the toolbox. Kazi ianze sasa.

Nipe number 5. Nipe Number 3… Hii ni carburetor… hii ni choke… hii ni air intake and so forth.

Siku moja niliambiwa ningurumishe hiyo kitu. Si nikafanya vile huwa naona akifanya. Kanyagia handle chini Na kuvuta kamba ya kick start. wuehh! niling’ang’ana hapo nikitoa jasho. SA hiyo buda anavuta kafegi huko kando.

Anakuja karibu ati, kwani umeshindwa, hebu lete. Anaivuta one touch Na kitu inanguruma kama kisiagi ya mundu mulosi.

Hiyo kitu iliitaji misuli sawa sawa.

FFWD I lost interest in it and started sneaking away nikiona ameanza kutoa paraphernalia zake.

Custom-cut tuskys juala for that purpose. @introvert you are a fool I swear! Had me cracking up!

By just telling his story you have made him immortal.
There’s a trick to pulling that cord.
The God-status goes down one rung when they learn how to do it.

The jwala comes complete with cutouts for the handle bars.

Respect Jatelo, memories are made of that, he will never forget What you did together.

safi sana vibonzo man

I remember when my little man was growing up he used to be very curious and interested in my line of trade,computers and tech.

Some few years down the line,whenever I needed some light jobs to be completed,I would just stretch my legs on the couch and watch him work away.

Well,later on puberty happened and that interest shifted to girls,never been the same since.

family bro family
“how can we not talk about family when family is all we got?” wiz khalifa mimi nimepasuliwa jana screen ya samsung j2 barely a month !

Hehehe.
That he has shown interest in girls shows he is perfectly ok.

just asking… did you compensate him for work done???.. na usiniambie anakula kwako

Grease Monkey hapo sawa…WD40 ndio usifundishe yeye.

Heartwarming and commendable. Hope he grows to be a fine lad!