Simple Matrix that can create jobs

I read this paper and I knew this guy got this idea from discussion we once had it here But: he is very organized and articulate.Enjoy

A Prada Milano handbag from China retails at Sh3,500 at House of Leather in Nairobi. Shiny patent leather shoes from India go for Sh8,500. At Sh1,500, Woods leather belts from India are going like hot-cake.
These are not just prices of shoes and handbags; they are also foregone wages to some disillusioned youths from a pastoralist community in Northern Kenya who, in the absence of gainful employment, have taken up arms.

In 2016, for example, while Kenya shipped out animal hides to China and India valued at Sh2 billion, it imported from the two Asian countries finished leather products, such as those being sold expensively at the House of Leather, at a cost of Sh3.1 billion.
ALSO READ: Wilting rose: How Karuturi coughed up his flower empire
This as Kenya also exported tanned leather and animal skins valued at Sh4.7 billion, compared to imports of leather products valued at more than Sh12 billion, including trunks and cases worth Sh8.8 billion from China.
The dubious case of Kenya exporting jobs even as a large fraction of its population remains jobless is not unique to leather industry, though it has been more emotive in the latter.
The country has spurned an opportunity to revamp its manufacturing industry through value-addition in some of its agricultural produce such as tea, coffee, fish or even tomatoes.

https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/business/article/2001288078/how-kenya-is-exporting-jobs-worth-billions

Very educative article

na hii umbwa inaitwa uhuru? Can’t happen

Juzi we were discussing how ET wants to add value to her leather industry by manufacturing leather airplane seat covers.

Kila siku tunaskia govt this govt that na hakuna kitu inafanya. First, if Uhuru is serious he should appoint a serious trade minister who can oversee these changes. We need a new trade agreement with the EU cause we can’t sell them coffee and tea without buying their cheap subsidized goods.

I’m shocked that we import tea worth 15 billion from our neighbours? Why is it so hard to setup a coffee roasting plant when we have a German plant (Neumann Kaffee) in Ruiru that does the same?

Heshima sio utumwa

Kwanza that part that we import tea from Rwanda ?? Really , how does our leader let that even happen?