SIMPLY HEART WRENCHING - R.I.P

So for awhile i’ve been following on CHARLIE GARD’s story as it developed. For those of us who don’t him; he is the 16th Child in the world (so they say) to have been born with a rare condition known as MITOCHONDRIAL DEPLETION SYNDROME (more on that @Luther12 can help. Something to do with the rest of the Body growing but the brain,skull doesn’t)…Breakdown of the events over the months before my Big Q.

Ctrl+C/V

August 4, 2016 Charlie born 8lb 3oz to Connie Yates and Chris Gard.

October 2016 Tests reveal mitochondrial depletion syndrome. Believed to be only 16th sufferer in the world of rare strain.

Autumn 2016 Miss Yates finds specialist in US testing nucleoside therapy, but it has never been tried on Charlie’s rare type.

January Gosh doctors say drug would be futile because of irreversible brain damage. Parents contact US doctor.

March Gosh asks High Court to let Charlie die. Mr Justice Francis gives parents a month to make case for treatment. Daily Mail readers help raise £197,000 in days to help fly Charlie to US.

April Doctors say he is likely to be in pain. Judge rules Gosh should let him die.

May Court of Appeal upholds ruling. Parents appeal to Supreme Court.

June Supreme Court rejects appeal. On June 27, European judges back decision. Gosh gives parents more time with Charlie. Pope Francis intervenes, followed by Donald Trump on July 3.

July 7 Seven scientists hand Gosh fresh evidence showing higher survival chances.

July 10 Mr Justice Francis gives parents 48 hours to produce new evidence in case.

July 13 US specialist Dr Michio Hirano invited to London by High Court

July 17 Dr Hirano examines Charlie.

July 21 Court told scan results ‘very sad’.

Yesterdays ruling ,

Charlie will now be moved to the hospice in a secret location before his first birthday next week the 8th of August and his life support will be ended a few hours later, meaning he will inevitably die. :(:(:(:(:(:frowning:
[ATTACH=full]115163[/ATTACH]

SUPPOSE YOU WERE THE ONE TO MAKE SUCH A RULING, WOULD YOU LOOK HIS PARENTS STRAIGHT IN THE EYES AND READ IT BOLDLY??

Reading this alone made me shed a tear. Knowing this could be anyone’s toto. Aint sure what i would do if it was mine and if i was the judge; i guess i would choke and not give a ruling…
[B]
IF ITS GOD’S WILL FOR HIM TO TAKE HIS LAST BREATH COME 8TH AUGUST, MAY HIS PURE SOUL REST IN ETERNAL PEACE. PRAY FOR US LITTLE ANGEL :(:frowning: SPREAD THEM WINGS AND FLY. 1YR OLD WARRIOR.

HIS PARENTS[/B]
[ATTACH=full]115164[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]115165[/ATTACH]

THEY WERE GIVEN A CHANCE TO TAKE HIM OUT IN THE OPEN TO SAY THEIR FINAL GOODBYE’S…HARDEST PART FOR ANYONE…
[ATTACH=full]115166[/ATTACH]

May this never happen even to the worst of my enemies…

I have picked on those 3 points, what would you do?

This is very hard for the parents. I am very skeptical about the whole process of euthanasia because of self doubts that may occur afterwards. What if angepona? Does that mean we played God?

Hapo ni tricky lakini its better aende ratheer than the pain.day in day out

Some births/lives were never meant to be I felt this was such a case, the kid was suffering let the little cherub rest in peace !

Very sad indeed

I watched the parents on Monday walk down those steps to read their press statement. Sikuweza watch hizo news tena.

Tricky. Very tricky. Do you play God. Or not.

Dr. Luther do you support it? Do you think there is a point where you as a medic may end up playing God? I am not a religion fanatic just thinking here.

I cant imagine that even on Ruto himself… so heartbreaking

Very tricky I tell you, but then again are they truly alive?

Conducting trials on humans is never a simple thing, so many ethical issues arise. This is one of those where you wouldn’t have an answer until presented with the situation live.

wah…this is sad.

Of course this is only sad to you because it’s a white kid and has been sensationalized by a media house known for unethical, blatant, and gross gatekeeping.

Haven’t seen you getting sad for tens of children dying daily of cholera in Yemen, for example.

Colonial assfaced MOTHERFUCKA!

Putting him on life support is already playing god…the parents should have let the kid go…its very selfish of them to not take his pain away simply because they believe or wanted to believe he could be healed…the best doctors in the world have already spent lots of valuable resources on a sad but pointless case

The have also had a long time to say their goodbyes most people dont get that chance…wanacheza a very effective media game

Yaani the devil has just lied to you unitusi hii asubuhi yote na hii baridi…???

WHY ME LORD?? WHY NOW??? DON’T FEEL LIKE ENGAGING THIS BOY WHO SEEMS TO BE SUFFERING FROM VERBAL DIAHORREA…WHY NOW AKI…
[ATTACH=full]115186[/ATTACH]

ISOKEI,…

But isn’t this what anyone could do…?? At such a time you believe in anyone and everything that would possibly save the life…Ata the miracles you believe inawesekana…

Desperate times man…Desperate times…Its not easy to give up just like that for someone dear to you…

Weee…Wouldn’t want to be in your shoes as a doc or even as a Judge…Naeza die na depression…

Like i said. I dont know unless faced with such a situation but i have this strong feeling, it would have been hard for me to let go just yet…Ningesema Fuck the Judge…

Well, Atleast from what i read and heard from previous posts; It was easy for the Doc’s and the Judge to make such decisions coz the family weren’t well off and they were hugely depending on the insurance that couldn’t entirely cater for their bill…Some believed if they were rich, getting rid of the support machine would be the last thing they’ll think of…

Remember even after that US doc emerged saying he could do something and people raised Lots of funds to finance the process, Ambulance Planes Offering to fly the Kid to US for free, the court and the Docs were still reluctant on the experiment. They should have atleast given it a shot by flying him out.

But that part the Doc was invited to London, hapo ndo kalicheswa…maybe akaambiwa wewe sema hii ni noma…