Singapore And Its Lessons For Kenya

n the 1960s and early 1970s Kenya was at par with Singapore. A focus on some of the pertinent macroeconomic fundamentals affirms this. In 1966, Singapore’s GDP was US$1.096 billion while that of Kenya was US$1.165 Billion.

In 1978, when the Kenyan founding president died, the nation’s GDP had risen to $5.3 billion but Singapore’s GDP had grown more immensely to $8.06 billion to surpass that of Kenya.

What is it that Singapore did right that we didn’t?

They had a dictator like we did lakini whenLee Kuan Yew died Singapore had retained 1st world status. But the question that lingers is why is it that Singapore has been able to develop at such a fast pace. Rather why has Kenya’s economic growth been such sluggish?

It is quite disheartening and embarrassing that the son of the founding father is still dealing with the same socio-economic problems that his father dealt with. This includes poverty, illiteracy, health challenges and now endemic corruption.

We have a higher level of literacy than USA.

Singapore is a dictorship family business. It’s a very unique country since business thrives and people’s welfare.

Most of these Asian countries received humongous financial backup from USA while we only got loans, brain drain etc

Boooo. This stale comparison has refused to go away despite being proven stupid and low IQ every single time. Singapore for a starter has the highest AVERAGE IQ in the world at 105 and Kenya is barely 75. That one alone is enough to tell you where we are headed. Secondly, Kenya was COLONIZED AND SUBJUGATED by the Brits while Singapore was treated as a trading post. Lastly, Nairobi has a bigger population than Singapore.

Not that alone. Africa doesn’t have the necessary human capital required to build functional states. And the little that is available, is domiciled in Western countries capitals.

How do we reverse this coz people will always go where the opportunities are.

Honestly I have no idea. Revolutions maybe idk

No they didn’t get much. The only country that got some aid was Japan, as related to WW2.

was there significant transfer of skills from Murica to most of these Asian countries including China, these countries were and are somehow under the influence of Murica a world super power, while a huge chunk of African Nations were under and still are under the influence of Britain and France, two countries that power has been declining the the last 100 years. in the years of Kenyatta senior, most manufacturing and other well paying jobs were courtesy of the British entities, France didn’t have much to offer to it’s colonies, only sucking blood out of them.
i wonder what would have happened to Germany colonies in Africa, if they weren’t taken away from them ?

Huwa hamchoki kurudia hii argument ya kishienzi? In 1966 Singapore’s population was 1.9 million, while Kenya’s was 9.8 million. Hata kama they had the same GDP, simple math shows Singapore’s GDP per capita was already nearly five times that of Kenya. The two economies have never been equal.

A catastrophic event that will instill a sense of community mindset, the feeling that we are one and connected. An event like what happened in Rwanda, which wake people from their slumber land. Right now is individualistic mindset that is fueling corruption and cheating. Then we will have leaders like Putin who can sacrifice their comfort and even lives for their country and citizens that know they got only one place to call home.

Malaysia and Singapore policy for public administration (the ‘blueprint’/plan left by the British ) is similar to Kenya’s . Their ‘people’ actually came for training at Kenya Institute of Administration in 1967. They implemented plans that Kenya never has

We are not a country. Kenya is a collection of tribal confederacy.

Bonobos wacheni unjinga. Singapore is 80% Han Chinese and to think that we were on the same level 50 years ago is being delusional.

These are people with the highest IQ in the world and wherever they’ve settled hata wakiwa minority, they’ve thrived and are usually the richest. Example ni Malaysia na Indonesia where the Chinese minority dominate the business class there.

Ukiangalia other Han states kama Taiwan and Hong Kong are super developed. China only got left behind because of stupid experimentation with communism and cultural revolution but see how fast they caught up once wawache ujinga. That should tell you something about them

So once again, we were not on the same level with Singaporean Han Chinese in the 60s.

FYI Kenya’s per capita income and gdp seemed high but it was not representative. 99% of the economy was in the hands of settlers and a few Indian traders. The blacks of 1960s were living in mud huts and illiteracy was kitu 90%.

Kenya has a sizeable population with just elementary education or none at all and this has been a case for a long time . The rest are largely lacking professional training or are poorly prepared for any professional undertaking. Watu tu hivi hivi. Nchi ni watu. Hii ingine ya expressway, elfu sita, na fisi ni ujinga mtupuuuu

South Korea and Taiwan greatly benefited from geo politics! Both enjoying access to American markets which African countries cannot for example.

Keyword.

Hii argument huwa stupid beyond words…

Niaje Guka …