Singapore cars

Is there a valid reason as to why cars from Singapore tend to be cheaper than Japan.
Unaweza pata for example vw touran ya 2014 with sub 50k mileage, sunroof, leather seats steering wheel controls na GPS being cheaper than one from Japan with no sunroof, fabric seats, no steering wheel controls mileage more etc. Also applies to other brands as well.
Is this a red flag sort of thing ama?

wacha nivurute stool ningoje pia…

Ungesema watu wa Toyota wako excluded from this thread ju they will bring dense arguments and claims to what should be a very insightful discourse

Singapore cars are mostly ex Eu used. Esp the high spec ones. Sasa zimechapa mileage kibao na aren’t tropicalised or well quality verified. So u can only imagine the mileage. Av seen old Singapore cars zinafika Kenya na 350,000 miles kisha shiny eye anazungusha to 40,000miles to appease kenyans with their new plate mtumba nonesense~~~ gari ya 8yrs ati ni mpya (we need prayers).
Anyway ole wako if u buy one be ready to do major service or overhaul coz the region changes will def affect the cars performance. From Europe to Asia to here.

Kenya yako gani hiyo gari ya 8yrs inaingia

Hata hizo za akina beforward na sbt ama u are referring to one in our local car yards?

Gari za Japan hazijatumika elsewhere except huko. Most Singapore are pre used not new there. Mtumba third hand.
Most cars are x japan currently but u can do the online inspection search.country of export itaonyesha na mileage.dony know if Jericho still have the inspection license. Sbt mob ni xjapan.

What is think is, Japan being where we Kenyans source our second hand cars,prices just rise with demand.

every yard, ata yahya motors hua wana clock back madinga

Singapore is in the tropics at just about 120km (North) from the Equator so expect almost similar operating conditions to Kenyan coast.

JM Barasa had once alluded to the fact that they are used as taxis hence subject to abuse.

How dealers determine prices of used vehicles
Please accept my humble gratitude for the work you do on Car Clinic and Behind the Wheel. Thank you.
After reading your view on the reliability of Subaru (Daily Nation 16/5/2018), I have been looking at the second-hand Subaru Foresters for the years 2013-2015.
On Tradecarview website, I have seen three Singapore Foresters from 2013 and 2014 — with mileage below 80,000km — priced at half the price of their Japanese contemporaries. What is so essentially different with the Singapore cars?
Thanks. J Mumira

Hello,
There are a lot of things that go towards the selling price of a car, though on the face of it I’d expect the Singapore cars to cost more than their Japanese equivalents, not the other way round.
This is because Singapore has a rather high importation tax protocol for motor vehicles, making them quite expensive to buy new.
I don’t expect depreciation on a Subaru Forester to be that extreme, even in Singapore.
Another difference could be stemming from the spec levels of the cars themselves, but again I don’t expect this to affect price disparities by a factor of two, which is extremely high.
Have you compared the vehicles spec-for-spec?
Now a third aspect came to light courtesy of my infamous Facebook group. I cannot vouch for the veracity of this information, but I am bringing it up here because it raised an interesting point.
The poster says Singapore is a high humidity country and this climate wreaks havoc on a vehicle’s inner workings, up to and including — but not limited to — electronics. It therefore follows that two identical used vehicles of similar vintage, one being Japanese and the other Singaporean, will have the latter cheaper because it has wonky humidity-packed electrics.
Like I said, it is a strange theorem and one I had never heard of or read about until last week.
If anyone out there can shed more (scientific) light on this, we will be very appreciative. If anyone can also explain thoroughly why Singaporean cars are cheaper rather than more expensive, we will appreciate that as well.

Someone imported a 2012 volvo xc60 from Singapore and total cost plus tax came to 1.7m. A similar car on sbt lands for at least 2.5m on the minimum

Are they both same age,grade/condition,specs level etc

Yes, give or take differences are negligible

man where did you get this info from. you are one reason why people should take some of ktalk advices with a pinch of salt.
now let me tell you why its soo hard to buy a used car in singapore and it has never made sense to anyone.
[ol]
[li]You can only import cars that are less than three years of age. most of this cars wont be cheap either[/li][li]There is a surcharge of S$10,000 for each imported used car registered in Singapore. 1million kenya shilling just to get the paper work kick started[/li][li]The used vehicle has to comply with the Euro II emission standard. As such, the used vehicle will have to be tested by LTA/ENV recognized overseas vehicle emission test laboratories to ensure compliance with the required standard at the time of import.(if we had this all the cars from japan to kenya would probably fail to get into this country)[/li][li]All safety glass fitted must have not less than 70% light transmittance and must not contain any metallic oxide coating(it will be a pain to get a car that passes this from uk)[/li][li]The car must pass a mechanical inspection by the LTA.[/li][/ol]
now if for example you import a a bmw 328 you probably end up paying 14million kenya shillings. that why in singapore importing a used car is not as easy as you make us believe
ownership of cars in singapore is damn expensive. a litre of petrole is 200 shillings sometimes it goes up to 270 ksh. road tax, insuarance etc

let me tackle the elephant in the room. why are singaporean cars very cheap. because just like most kenyans you buy a car then laiter realise you better with out it because of running costs, after ten years you have to renew a something called COE with is not only expensive but there are few slots in a month with you have to bid online. my friend 6 months zinaeza isha hujapata hii kitu and dont dare drive your car without this.
so this guys resort into selling these cars at the age of 3 to 4 years and since its soo hard to sell them in singapore they wana be like japan and sell them world wide. like kenya

why is it not advisable to buy a car from singapore ? because singapore doesnt have doesnt have QISJ (Quality Inspection Services Japan) or aversion of it in that country so chances of being sold a defective car is 70 percent or an insuarance salvage that has been well repaired. so there you have it you can as well get a pristine one

So ati Ni cheaper to import it’s just that wako na very strict laws za car inspection na the older the car gets the higher the cost of making it complaint is na resale value falls so making it uneconomical for the owner to keep it

yeah…

Thanks man. Very detailed. Hizo Bei zao though really tempting yawa

I guess the government of Singapore is trying to stop CONGESTION and pollution in their cities. So in order to reduce the problem they came up with tarriffs and barriers to stop increase in motor vehicles in Singapore. They have also made the costs of vehicle licensing so high that the majority can’t afford. They have an excellent public transport system and costs less than owning a car and this has also caused demand for cars to eventually fall due to high costs and government tarriffs.

Shida ya Singapore ni ati hakuna inspection ya importation. Utauziwa salvage or a very defective car bila kujua. U see, thats why ALMOST ALL wahindi car yards stick to ex-japan cars juu ni safe bet and to protect their customers. Even though they know that kuchukua ex-singapore or ex-UK will be several times cheaper.

yeah… but then again you still get a good vehicle huko. some madison insuarance nurse i know got a lovely nissan qashqai. The car is top notch. premium material everyinch of the cabin.