Singapore Sevens

Kenya meeting England in the main cup quarters at 8.00.

Remember we won the main cup here last year.

http://rugbystream.us/live/watch-hsbc-sevens-rugby-vs-live-stream-game/

SA out, All Blacks beaten by Canada of all teams. Kenya leading half time.

Interesting, shida sasa ni Fiji, guys are on fire.

Best tournament for Kenya 7 played their with all their heart. I wish we would have been this serious in every leg. We have the talent, skill, build and experience. We lack consistency and great coach.

It sad that we could have had the best 7’s coach in the world but KRU felt that paying all that money for him was too much. He would have taken this team from good to greatness just as he did with the rough diamonds at All Blacks whom he made stars of 7s Rugby. After all hiyo pesa sportpesa was willing to pay. Innocent Simiyu is a good coach at best but we need a great coach.

Fiji were earlier knocked out by USA. I bet we would have kept the cup if we made it past England. But isorait, tumeoga mikono tu kama Pilato.

Even with the best coach in the world, he can do little, considering that Kenyans start playing rugby at 14-15 yrs (form 1) and at best are semi-professional. We rely on physical play/speed and individual brilliance, because the players haven’t even mastered the basics (formations, ball handling, defence)

Didn’t manage to wake up in time for the game. Nasikia tumeibiwa na ref?

If it was Uganda or Zimbabwe yes but Kenya 7’s have been in Rugby 7’s tourney for over a decade. Our squad by Rugby 7’s standards is old and experience to be consistently making basic mistakes. They have also been professional players for 7 years now which started with KQ who were paying them 150,000 a month. Now sportpesa is paying their wages. We peaked with Mike Friday some years back without winning the main cup but we were the most feared top 4 team at the time.

What Kenya needs is to enhance brilliant individual talent with smart team tactics like England/S.A right now and the Hallmark of All Blacks 7’s. 30 seconds on the clock, the team doesn’t rush to throw 50/50 passes on give penalties. Control the ball get space and await one crucial move to take it all the way. That’s what great coaching does. Tactical decisions at the heat of the game not adrenaline rush.

I’m still optimistic we can do that this or next season but KRU needs to have global ambitions and outlook of Rugby. More man cup wins will bring bigger richer sponsors. We have Rugby powerhouse close by. S.A. let’s take this team for an extended training session there off season and bring them back when the season starts. Sort all the basics and learn to play at peak 90% concentration throughout.

Hii ni ukweli lakini inauma kama ni hujuma. I had known rugby before St Mary’s School but my friends and I confused it with that american sissy sport. It’s only after landing there did I learn it properly.

They have gone ahead and done exactly the opposite of that a few minutes ago:

Kenya vs New Zealand, Plate Semi Finals, Kenya leading 21-17, less than a minute remaining. Kenya win a penalty in NZ’s 22. The captain Andrew Amonde stupidly restarts the game quickly, but his pass is too long. The ball is miscontrolled and NZ earn a line-out. Seconds later, Amonde gets sin-binned for a stupid block on a player without the ball. NZ make good use of the penalty and score in stoppage time. Final score: Kenya 21-24 NZ :mad::mad:

This is a tournament for the underdogs. Only one top three team (England) made it to the main cup semi finals, after the ref robbed Kenya of a victory in the quarters. England then got utterly dominated by Canada in the semis. Now it’s USA vs Canada in the final.

Look at how well USA are playing after they got Mike Friday.

This is the weakest All Blacks 7’s team I’ve ever seen. They are still rebuilding the team, within a few years they will be back. Kenya 7’s like you mentioned great fault is making errors at critical moments of the contest. Game concentration and good critical decisions should be constantly at 90% in Rugby 7’s. At top 8 games, any fault is a try by opposition.

Mike Friday remains the best coach we ever had and his assistant is still the best unknown asset in Rugby 7’s. Mike Friday does the game tactics and correcting of mistakes at half time. Everything else his assistant does perfectly, body work, nutrition, fitness, ball handling, set plays and skills enhancement.

Discipline

Kenya needs player development starting as early as age 12
http://kenyapage.net/commentary/rugby/build-kenya-rugby-from-the-ground-up-not-top-down/