Smart TV vs Smart TV Box

NEVER buy a smart TV instead buy a Full HD Digital TV of a reputable brand eg Samsung, LG, Panasonic and buy Smart TV box.
Buying a smart TV is imprisoning your self to that brand’s bundleware unless you wanna risk rooting your TV which might brick it just like phone. It’s easier to upgrade a box’s firmware than a TVs

Good point. A bit too late for most guys though. Everyone already owns a smart tv, except for the few lucky bastards who bought the cheap good brand wide displays similar to the ones in high end clubs…which do not even have tuners. Many of them sell for a song.

interesting … More on this please?

There is a Japanese brand called NEC. They make highest quality Pdps like the ones used in airports they have no tuners just displays. That screen can stay on for 10 years day and night

Following closely

How does a smart box work? and what are its pros and cons … nilikuwa nataka kubuy a smart tv or android tv

Can you get a full HD TV that isn’t smart nowadays??

A smart box is simply an external advanced Set top box. They come in a wide variety. A smart TV has a smart box that’s built onto it it’s mainboard.
Smart boxes run on different operating systems but most popular is Android. Smart Box have processors, Ram and storage the bigger the more expensive.

You can make your own Smart Box by using a souped up PC so lazima ubuy Kodi ama Safaricom Big Box. Get a Core i7 desktop I stall 1Tb HDD, 8GB RAM, NVIDIA display card, I stall Kodi for PC Tea TV etc connect it to your FHD display

Yes. NEC. Just FHD doesn’t even have a tuner. Ni monitor. From 8inch to 64 inch

A good sentiment, but subject to debate.
I would suggest you buy both a smart TV and a android TV box or a combo top set box, ie a top set box with Internet and dvb t2 compatibility.
Zaidi kabisa, I would suggest that tujifahamishe mno mambo ya TVs, kama tulivyotia fora kwenye mambo ya simu! For instance, if you are going out to buy a TV today or in the future, don’t take home a TV without Bluetooth capability, without HDR and whose reflesh rate is below 120 hertz. Insist on a TV with android 9 because it has Google chromecast built in kabisa kabisa, bila kubahatisha. .

There are some fellas who bought really expensive Sony tvs earlier in the decade around 2012 2013. Kumbe come 2016 youtube upgraded encryption na hizo tv zikawa hazina hardware processing power ya kurender youtube. Sony discontinued you tube for those tvs. Talking about huge 55, 60, 70 inch high end screens za ksh 200k 300k. :smiley: Wote wako na hizo screens saa hii wanatumia wifi home theatres to stream media online.

[ATTACH=full]260772[/ATTACH]

Very educative thread

Your best bet is to buy a projector + fire stick. That is the best value for money considering the screen size you can get…up to 300".

The idea of projector was on my mind about 10 years ago too, my concerns at the time being the cost of 1080p projectors at the time. Typical cost for these is currently in the region of? Please include make and model of the projector and typical life span of bulb and cost of replacement bulb.

Those of us with both a smart TV and android boxes, where do we sit? I would think like 90% of new TVs on sale nowadays are smart.
I didn’t like the limitations of LG’s OS, so I got an android box.

Avoid the TVs or boxes with ported Android. You’ll just get a buggy OS that looks like a phone on a big screen. You’ll end up hating android on TV.
Buy one with Android TV.
It is made specifically for TVs and works flawlessly. Plus it comes with Google Assistant.
Very few android boxes have it as they have to be approved by Google. Mi Box is one.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UehNYsspc0M

Anyone planning on getting a premium TV should hold out a bit until QLED TVs are readily available at an affordable price. This is the next frontier for LCD technology that boasts very good contrast and black levels similar to what you find on OLEDs without the drawbacks of OLED such as burn-in effect and degraded luminance over time. Other must-have specs are 4k HDR and eARC for the movie buffs with a decent Home theater setup. For the gamers, ensure the TV has some form of game mode for low latency gaming.

Now this is the real question

Just because you have a smart tv it doesnt mean it cant also accept an android box. If you feel that the apps on your smart tv are outdated, just get an android box and plug it into HDMI port of the smart tv.