Smoked meat

i thought nyama choma was the deal, lakini wapi. some jungu made us a whole brisket of smoked meat. well, the meat was just delicious.
here are some youtube video on how to Smoke meat.

basics of smoking

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KbHu4XizBP0

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=htaZqsnxAIY

real smoking

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JuwGL8JKPQQ

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dn5ZJz2Ta78

how does a smoker work.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KbHu4XizBP0

smoker technology

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mI50XCjanJs

how to choose a smoker

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=43x32cgkyNc

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1yGq4inA41U

Yuck

Guy Fieri and Robert Rainford introduced the rest of the world outside of the U.S to American style grilling. Black Americans from the south are the fathers of grilling. The true pitmasters.

Ni vile hujaonja.

Jaluos have a traditional smoker, made from clay. Tastes even better. The actual big deal is actually just the smoke. SO which wood are you using.
Luhyas use maize cobs. It works perfect with chicken. You eat chicken smoked with maize cobs you will never want any other chicken.

for the longest time, i thought smoked meat was nyama choma, then i came across home smoked meat, a cool 36hrs.

Yeah smoke cooks slow. One of the biggest reasons I want to finally settle in a farm, is so my sunset years can be spent doing things I actually like. And smoking meat is one of those things. I’ll construct a dedicated smoker.

Smoked fish?

I never liked it. Fish flavour is too strong for smoking.

The Luo call it Athola. Luhyas call the smoking process ‘okhusika’, it is also used to preserve large quantities of meat.

Hujaulizwa utalipa ngapi?

That is the problem with Kenya’s education system. Smoking meat was an examinable topic in the old days but no Kenyan student in the urban school setting had ever seen PRACTICALLY how the traditional Luos and Luhyas actually did it. Kids only read about smoking meat in text books.

And yet in the west these are key entrepreneural skills. Opening a grill is very big business in the West as wellas in the far east e.g Japan, Korea and Vietnam. Sasa hizo skills za western Kenya ni kama zitapotea na zisahaulike if the community is not keen.

What tasty pictures, wow!

Biltong, anyone?

Hey, this is not the smoking most of you are thinking of. Ati unaweka nyama juu ya moshi