Some possible scenarios

If Del monte (K) LTD, was to exit .ke, due to lease renew hiccups ?

Structure your questions well

10000 unemployed. Ricochet effect. Business that provide services to them will have no income. Food services, kiosks,etc. You have people clamoring for empty land when you actually develop by industrialization. Mechanization of land ( what Del Monte has done) is part of industrialization. Taking that away is going backwards. If the problem is mistreatment of laborers, this can be corrected by county laws.

What will happen if del Monte exits due to failure to renew their lease?

delmonte is like a betting firm

These are the effects of people going into public service for none other than enrichment of themselves than the greater good.

Let Kenyans get shafted. Then and only then, will they wake up to the reality that stares them in their face.

Most multinationals will keep away from investing in .ke.

Hawa watu husema that the land del Monte has should revert back to the people

Nani watapewa Hata mashamba?

Who will benefit

Del Monte is going nowhere. Where else on earth will they get thousands of acres of fertile land for pennies?
Even if Kenya government took half the land they grabbed they will still not close shop. Fertile land is a scarce resource. They use scare tactics to try to get locals to back off and some of you are falling for that.
And if they pack and leave locals will use that land to farm maize and other vegetables.

In an ideal set up, Muranga county would be trusted to take over Del Monte. But we all know how selfish and visionless most leaders are in Africa.

That’s my question

Kama wanaenda wacha waende…wether they get land or not sio shida yetu

Hawa locals unasema will use land to farm maize and other vegetables…how will they be identified and picked?

Au Ni politicians watapewa

That’s the biggest issue. After mzungu left and Nairobi was comparable to London, look how far it has sunk. It is rapidly becoming one huge slum with no city planning.

There are places in London you go to and they are reminiscent of certain parts of Nairobi.

I have seen many ordinary Kenyans on Kilimo biashara and other TV shows making good returns on farming. Leo tu nimesoma about a 27 year old Maasai guy who sells 27,000 bales of hay at 200/= and he says he doesn’t regret leaving his corporate job 2 years ago.
Personally I believe Kenyan politicians are Kenyans. All it takes you to be a Kenyan politician is run for office. So if a Kenyan politician gets land and puts it in good use then I cannot feel bad. By the way most retired Kenyan politicians are doing very well in farming.

So what’s the difference?

Taking land from a muzungu and giving it for free to a muzungu mweusi?

I don’t think it makes any difference

Why do people always look at employment while there is a bigger picture behind some moves.
So mkoloni aendelee ku benefit just because there is a number that is going to miss unga for few days.
Sometimes sacrifice has to be done,problem is that if the company left there are few individuals eyeing the land

The question to ask is why is Murang’a County adamant, and how does it’s residents benefit from del Monte?

I have no problem giving all the lands to Kenyans because it is Kenyans who should own it. And as much as I don’t like seeing the politicians with so much land I would rather that they have it than non Kenyans. Because even the politicians are Kenyans.
It would be ideal if the lands were to be given to the ordinary Kenyans to farm but we know progress is never that smooth. It is messy just like making a cake. The land must first be freed from the outsiders just like independence had to be secured from colonisers. Then Kenyans can fight over the spoils amongst themselves.

Grow vegetables and maize on an 1/8 of an acre. If del monte closes shop. Most of that land will be utilized for real estate.
Politicians and their cronies will acquire huge tracks of land, subdivide and then sell, others will just fence it off.
Nairobi city was once sorrounded by farms and ranches.

That’s a blatant lie!
Nairobi improved and grew between 1964 and 1978 . It’s decline begun with the moi regime it’s growth restarted under kibaki and continuing albeit at a slower pace.
Btw under the mzungu you praise so much Nairobi was a restricted area for “natives”, you needed a pass to live and work in Nairobi and only in certain areas. Tafakari hayo!

Its a symbiotic relationship right now. Mzungu benefits, mwafrica benefits. Of course that land will never get to the peasants. Governor, MCAs and connected individuals will share it.