Speaking English Fluently is a Competitive Advantage

How many times have you wished that you could speak English fluently to start a YouTube channel? Of course none for some of you, but many times for the rest of us. The problem is, people don’t understand that spoken English is significantly different from written one. Spoken English doesn’t require you to be grammatically correct; it necessitates fluency that others can understand.

I never spoke English in both my primary and high school years. I was among those who felt that all you needed was to perform. That’s the problem in Kenya. You see, English is not a measure of intelligence, yet it is one of the best ways of earning something today. Are you good in tech? house tours? politics? Most jobs have become globalized, and you need to not only speak to Kenyans but also to Ugandans, Russians, etc. You might have the best written English prowess out there, but no one cares if you can’t speak fluently. Harvard Business Review calls English “the global language of business.”

While English is not a measure of intelligence, inherent human instincts are to judge a person based on first impressions. Essentially, too much “aah” and “eeh” while speaking becomes an immediate turnoff for many. It’s not our fault that we hold fluency in high regard. it’s just how things are. I wish I spoke English more often when I was little because my fluency is on its death bed currently :D. Many Kenyans can read and write English without any issue, but cannot hold a conversation with it. That’s why Kenyans have taken advantage of academic writing, but YouTube remains a dream despite the vast knowledge many possess.

Key point is, be open minded about this language; it could be your only hope towards financial independence.

Opinions are Mine

Disabuse yourself from the notion that you need a particular language to create content. Good content will work its way to audiences no matter the language used. Russian content creators in technical fields have a huge following in the English-speaking world even when they don’t provide subtitles. Why? Because they can create good content. On the other hand, similar efforts from Indians who can speak English yield dismal results. Why? Because they cannot produce great content. There are also thousands of highly successful ‘silent’ videos.

I agree with your opinion
A century ago that space used to ve occupied by French

You better learn Chinese. Fluent Chinese in written and spoken form. That’s the future.

Obviously there are some outliers. But statistically, the ability to connect with your audience verbally is one of the easiest ways of succeeding in content creation. For instance, you don’t need a university education to succeed in life, thousands of people have made it with just KCPE certificate. But to make it without the benefit that others possess requires exceptional abilities. Your example somehow undermines the fact that a majority of content creators have succeeded by using language that can be understood by millions.

If you want to quickly learn how to format your laptop, a silent video won’t be your first priority. My opinion isn’t absolute, it’s about the majority of the general public out there. The easiest way to explain something to others is through verbal communication. But by no means does that disregard non-English speaking individuals who’ve succeeded by just doing their thing.

Indian have great content on you tube in Hindi .na hawasumbui.

There are over 300 million native Hindi speakers, with a majority of them also signed in to YouTube. It’s not Russians or Chinese that made these content creators famous, it’s their Hindi-speaking audience. In Kenya you don’t have the luxury to take the opportunity of millions if you decide to use sheng to create content, for most, you need to take the “hard way” to compete globally.

“The ability to speak is a short-cut to distinction. It puts a man in the limelight, raises him head and shoulders above the crowd. And the man who can speak acceptably is usually given credit for an ability out of all proportion to what he really possesses.”
https://socialskillswisdom.com/introduction-a-shortcut-to-distinction-by-lowell-thomas/

There are no two ways about fluent speech, at one point or another you may be required to address a gathering.

I have found out the key to eloquence in english is to speak gently, as you would to a lover.

Sisi watu wa Ivy league schools hatunanga hizi shida ndogo ndogo.

Na vile tulikua tunadharau hao wasee pale high school… Ona sasa

Ngoso muhimu baba, huwes patana na Kianda au Riara group alafu unaanza zile za ‘aje aje mrembo’!

The only successful silent videos are those showing handjob happy ending after massage.

LoL Brayo hakuna kitu mbya kama kukatiwa in Kyuk, afathali hii yako. Nothing can be worse. So so so cringeworthy. Not romantic at all. Atee kuhana atia my dear, nie ngumisite takee…ukahe rii…niuii ningwendete muno nikio witiaga…ukwenda tuonane rii ngugurire ranji…

You wanna shout Aaaaaaaaarg pls stop, my head hurts already.

This is a very valid point. I will say no more. If you want to even get those corporate jobs that you are qualified for huku kwao, you better shed other foreign accents.

Come on, dugieda kuhoywa kamurigo ka mehia kya thayu.
Gwirage wi muthaka ta noti ya giri imwe na uthekaga ta Mpesa messaji.

Ati goro yakwa iimbite ta Muigai ni kwaga thayu no mwathani angikwonia ugima wa mwiri na mutwe,
unyone ni nie ndumitwi misri ta Samoei gukombore kuma mathina ma kwagagio ni murogani wa ichaweri.

Gikuyu ni githaka Mundu wakwa

Godayuuuuuuuuuuuuuuum :D:D:D:D:D:DThis is savage! It is at that point that I get off the phone hurriedly…with an excuse. Siwezi patiana hata kama I was into it. Kuna beshte mwingine alinipigia juzi to update me about his harem. 1st of all…niki kunde uguo na thigukuu na lockdown was his greeting! ff the 2 girls he was talking about were referred to as jangiri. Atee niurarikana gashangiri karia ndakwirite uhoro wako? me feigning ignorance…kariku? description followed in Kyuk woishe. Atee ndirerirwo karutaga arume Tinder…on and on he went. He still has a crush on her.
And so on until …bang right ontime…nie wandegire nikii? I really can’t tell him that it is all that mapenji in Kyuk…
Language ni muhimu and I agree with the OP. You know tujungus here know that we know our stuff but they will mark you down at mid and end of year appraisals citing poor ‘communication skills’. Yet they want your ideas which they bash around in proper grammar so that the narrative can be widely cascaded.
[SIZE=1]I must vuvuzela your poetry to my ngeos tukufe na kichecko.[/SIZE]

Same case here although one or two minor differences, most offices have seniors who are allergic to change so any entry of a tech savvy and efficient young blood will always be treated with disdain.

Let them keep on marking you down, provided you are doing your thing and getting paid the rest ni kuvumilia tu.

Tell that jamaa akubali matokeo mapema, it might be too late to ammend his lingual prowess lakini akam srowry.
[SIZE=1]Please do. [/SIZE]

Oh yes there is that ageist problem and misogyny too. But the communication issue reigns supreme too for immigrants. I had to go for pronunciation classes back in the day even tho sikusomea Ndumberi.
Jamaa wacha aongee okuyo nisimuongeze sheng.