Speed bumps on Kenya roads

Who the effin fuck keep allowing speed bumps to be erected on highways?

It’s stressful driving nowadays as bumps are all over major roads.

Where in particular

it’s the same peasants that demonstrates when one gets knocked down by demanding bumps everywhere an imaginary stage is formed.

Kwanza zingine ziliwekwa Northern bypass hapo Gulf, asubuhi hazikuwa unazichapa usiku proper

http://i.imgur.com/qkxk16X.png

As steep as Kinungi is why couldn’t they have put those HUGE signboards showing bumps 500m ahead? Na hii story ya kuweka bumps bila signage wanafaa wakome KABISAAAAAA when going hakuna bumps, ukirudi zimewekwa na hakuna signage unazichapa vizuri sana

[SIZE=6]Legally, the mounds on roads are not speed bumps[/SIZE]
SATURDAY FEBRUARY 4 2012
By GAVIN BENNETT

It is time to correct two widely held misconceptions. One, that Kenya has too many speed bumps. Two, that motorists don’t like speed bumps. Neither of these statements is true.

Certainly there are thousands of very large mounds of tarmac built into our road surfaces. But these are not speed bumps. Indeed, the law itself says they are not.

The law acknowledges that these large and usually unmarked mounds unduly obstruct traffic, damage vehicles, cause unwarranted discomfort to motorists and can even cause loss of vehicle control. In sum, they are damnable and dangerous.

That is why a multi-disciplinary team of acknowledged experts was constituted to draw up a design and definition for speed bumps, known as Kenya Standard 774. That Standard has the authority of Act of Parliament.

Yet by that Standard definition of a speed bump, you could search all the roads of Kenya and not find a single one. The issue is not that one person has built one speed bump incorrectly in one place. Nor even that many so-called speed bumps do not comply with the Standard. It is that virtually all the bumps, virtually everywhere, are in contravention – and their non-conformity is not marginal; it is massive.

To remind you, the legal limit for the height of a speed bump is in most cases 10 cms and, in exceptional circumstances, 15 cms. Kenya is riddled with bumps that are more than double the exceptional limit.

More significantly, the height-to-width ratio (the sharpness of the bump) should normally be about 1:40 or more. In the most exceptional circumstances a sharpness of 1:20 is permitted. Kenya is riddled with bumps with ratios of 1:10 or worse (which is akin to placing a tree-trunk across the road).

The key question, yet to be answered, is: Do Kenya Standards mean anything? Are they just a “suggestion” (which each of us can individually choose to follow or completely ignore), or do they constitute a legal requirement?

If they are legally binding, then anybody who builds a speed bump that does not comply with the Standard is not just doing a bad job, but is – in plain and particular language – committing an offence!

In addition to compliance with specified height and ratio limits, a speed bump represents sufficient hazard on an otherwise regular road surface that each should have an advance warning sign (always), and the bump itself should be marked with highly visible paint or reflective roadside pegs (always).

This is not just a motoring issue. It is a fundamental part of the social contract between government and people. Responsibility and accountability demand the bumps be fixed… or removed. The majority of motorists would vote for the former. We understand the need for them. Properly built in the proper place and properly marked they can help make the motoring environment calmer and safer.

Authorising construction of a huge and unmarked bump does not make it legal. It makes the person who authorised it, and the person who built it, culpable.

[I][email protected]

http://www.nation.co.ke/lifestyle/lifestyle/Legally-the-mounds-on-roads-are-not-speed-bumps-/1214-1320234-2xs0g4/index.html [/I]

Wajnga wengine n wale waliweka bumps between Tumutumu na Marua heading to Nyeri, hao watu ni matako sana and those bumps are huge @gashwin niko sure anazijua

Hizo zilisaidia . Haven’t seen an overturned truck of late.
Another place is Naro moru-Nanyuki. There’s a recent raiya one past the airstrip towards Nanyuki before Delta petrol station. Drive cautiously.

Ju morals zetu tuliwachia doggy zikakula, hivi ndivyo tunalipia. Hatuna morals ndiposa corruption is rampant on out roads, whereby traffic cops and ntsa receive bribes to ignore speeding offences. So as to force drivers to slow down, cos they can not observe speed limits, ‘bumps’ get erected to do the job. If only speeding was taken for what it is, a serious traffic offense, and traffic cops scoffed at receiving bribes to look away, then hizo 'bumps hazitakuwa. Inasikitisha lakini Kenya tulijichimbia kaburi kwa ufisadi na sasa inatuzika mmoja baada ya mwingine!

Indeed the worst bumps are the once put up by villagers ( the ones made from mounds of earth). Imagine coming at 160kph and you only have 70 meters to brake(brembos will do).

They’re called ‘CDF’ bumps. Baite can relate. :smiley:

Timau they repeatedly set up those CDF bumps zikingolewa. Villagers walichoka wachimba mtaro.

My main issue is why can’t they put signage indicating bumps ahead? Even if you are travelling at 50kph, hit a bump at that speed and you will definately wreck something.

I think Kiambu holds the record for the most number of bumps per km in Kenya.

You evidently haven’t been to Mwea, have you?

Biggest problem often is pilferage of road signs. Quite unfortunate. As well as failure to replace those that get damaged in accidents.

Just the main highway, can’t recall the number of bumps. Think Kiambu to bypass has 20+

Mtu anapeleka signage ya bumps wapi?

How many times did you see a sign proudly proclaiming ‘Koinange Street’ hanging from windows and balconies in main? Countless times in my time, kwanza one very notorious fellow in Hall 4 at the time. Mpaka nikashindwa do guys ‘collect’ them as some sort of trophies? Yet by virtue of their education university students should know better.

In the past we’ve had metallic road furniture getting vandalized and sold off to scrap metal dealers. I’m told there’s a prominent dealer somewhere in Athi River area who’s suspected to be complicit.