Stories that are never told about the black slaves - revolts

In the black man’s lowest moment in history , where all dignity was stripped, some people stood up to demand liberty and freedom.
We were not all meek and submissive in servitude.

But the greatest slave revolts of all time is the [SIZE=5]Haitian Revolution[/SIZE] … black slaves revolted against the French and formed a state.
[ATTACH=full]306715[/ATTACH]

This is in addition to numerous other slave revolts that were quite courageous and some of the greatest acts of bravery ever, though they were finally subdued.

The other notable rebellion that should be told and re-told is the[SIZE=5] Zanj Rebellion,[/SIZE][SIZE=4] it involved the Bantu Speaking people who had been captured from East africa and taken to middle east.[/SIZE]

I take my time to celebrate these great acts of courage and bravery.

We were not all meek and submissive. And this is how the black man has been portrayed all over, leading to self hate. Keep your heads high Brothers.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xV8xGfNz_P8

https://www.pbs.org/wnet/african-americans-many-rivers-to-cross/history/did-african-american-slaves-rebel/

Great post. The movie Amistad is a good depiction of one of the slave rebellions. Other great epic slave movie series are Roots (many people know this one), Twelve Years a Slave (with Lupita Nyong’o), and The Book of The Negroes

thanks , am watching it before end week

slave revolts were barely successful juu ya selfish bonobo snitches and house niggers ! … africans are a divided people man , the haitian revolutionists knew this and the first thing they did was to poison all the snitches and sellouts …very smart !

They also had a unifying factor in voodoo religion , unless bonobos are unified by something bigger than themselves , nothing will succeed ! …genius move !

[ATTACH=full]306718[/ATTACH]

true about the snitches…

Tha Mau Mau had realized that too, and the first order of business was executing traitors among themselves…
the first official victim was Chief Waruhiu…
The greatest enemy lies within.

It was an uphill task to mount a successful rebellion.
You can imagine the trauma: your kin have been slaughtered as you watched, your village torched, you and your young neighbours have been separated. You are being frog-marched a distance like from Nairobi to Mombasa, hands tied, chains on your feet, (no shoes of course), a metal brace on your neck. You are part of a long file of people chained together, headed to the slave markets of Mombasa or Zanzibar. You are naked, you have no water, and no food. You are probably bleeding but only the devil cares. If you fall you’ll be shot. At the slave market you are placed on a platform and auctioned like a farm animal. In the ship, which will be your home for the next 3 months as you cross the Atlantic to Brazil or America, you are packed like sardines, and still chained to the wooden decks.
You are allowed to sun yourselves for a few minutes a day and you get sprayed with a stinging burst of sea water occasionally to wash off lice (this is your bath).
If the ship captain and crew desire some young women, they come and pick them and have their pleasure, even as you watch–utado?
Slavery was the greatest evil, ever.

African history doesn’t concern itself with detail about the physical mental, or emotional state of those people. Only art forms such as music, paintings, movies, poetry and fiction can do that.
African Americans have been told about it through the generations. No one has ever apologized for it. That’s why they always seem angry.

Of course you left out Mau Mau. Typical of you collaborators.:rolleyes:

Mau Mau was a resistance movement against a form of slavery as well. The only difference was that colonisation was slavery at home.

Really, i feel offended as one of the sons of the mau mau… I was purely talking about black slavery… Not colonial rule resistant. I didn’t want to mix up issues. I have been one of the greatest defenders of the mau mau on this forum

Mimi natambua mzalendo Nat Turner who took out 70 wazungus pale Virginia. Kwanza alichapa massa wake na nyundo za kichwa like a true Mau Mau. No guns. Just a nyundo.

(Some accounts say he used an axe which only makes the story sweeter.)

For four years,he lead a revolution with other slaves but when the devil’s caught him… oh my. They literally turned his body into the gunk used to lubricate horse drawn wheels of the day.

Maumau can eat shit , they should have left the British be for another 30-40 yrs , Nairobi n Kenya as a whole ingekuwa well planned bila izi slums zimejaa kila mahali… Kwanza the ones called majengo in every satellite town.

That shows you the level of desperation. To organize a proper rebellion you need effective and secret communication. The enslavers knew this and were quite prepared for it. Remember, this was a thriving business, complete with insurance to cushion the massas That is why it took so long for slaves to fight back.

True you can’t unite unless you have a common clear objective. In Africa for example when we are faced with the a situation that requires our participation to solve it, some people will simply say “God will fight for Us” or “God has His own reasons” and alot of other religious crap meant to subjugate the Black Man.

Upuss

He was a great rebel… He slaughtered the white masters with axes. Very sweet

Njaruos have never been very smart at rebellions. Do you see like their rebellions held every five years ever achieve anything???

They are smart at reading books, hio sijakataa but hata 1982 si uliona vile kulienda. Now these kavirondos in the U.S of A they are very well fed. Some of them weigh as much as 350kg. Some of them are close to 8 feet tall. Most of them are over 6 feet tall and can knock you out with a single punch.

Na wamekuwa wakiketiwa na tumzungu tuko 5 feet tall , weighing 72kgs. If the year was 1785 na niko U.S na ninatoshana na Shaquille O’Neal hata sihitaji bunduki. I would eat mein enemies with my teeth.

The gun my friend… When the whites came to Africa, our traditional armies faced them courageously with spears and arrows… But were subdued, wakaingia baridi… When they went to Ethiopia, those guys had interacted with the outside world and gotten guns.

This is a defeatists mentality! What you are saying is that only the British (read mzungu) could fix Kenya’s (African’s) problem.

To contextualize it for you: France still continues to have strong control over its colonies. Are you telling us that those countries are any better?

Ama wewe ni descendant ya one of the snitches?

But Black Americans have guns today. In fact no community is packing heat like African Americans apart from the colonialists maybe.Why don’t they ever use them when the need arises?

Even the ones who were recording George Floyd I am very sure they were packing on their person or in their cars. Mguu ya kuku. Why not use the mguu ya kuku on the real enemy instead of on your fellow black on the street?

Because in such a situation like the one George Floyd found himself in as an African American you would be totally 100% justified in blowing Dereck Chauvin’s eye ball completely out of it’s evil socket. Absolutely 100% justified. Instead you stand there shooting him with a camera.

I agree, but maybe the bystanders were not armed