Subaru

Folks what is the difference between a normal subaru and an sti one?

I noticed the price difference, with the price of an sti being higher than a normal one.

Explain about turbo too

Sti’s are more powerful than kawaida subies actually izo ndio are normally used in rally’s and performance enthusiasts…
Alafu what about turbo’s?? How they work ama??

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DqWKNuTppmU

Sti stands for subaru technica international, these are subbies with best trim. Talk of recardo seats, brembo brakes, momo steering wheel and a tuned engine with a turbo.

Momo steering wheel? :o:o:o

A turbo charger simply supplies more compressed air into the engine meaning more oxygen hence more power can be generated by the engine

the STI can be said to be the holy grail of the subaru fraternity as web dev has explained

however, @Mzee mzima not every subaru with an STI sticker is an STI, in case you want to buy one go with a guy who knows his stuff, very many fakes out there or base models with STI stickers plastered all over

Tembea college wachana Na magari yetu @Mzee mzima. Strive to excel kijana

13 Likes

STI is a sports vehicle, especially the Impreza STI. As in you can take it to a track. Hizo zingine ni kawaida ata ukiskia ni sports its just more about styling and some turbo for a little more power.

na Subaru wrx? Out of curiosity, do they come with the booming exhausts or are the exhausts modified when here? I think I have seen some sti subbie with normal looking exhausts online.

that one. Impreza wrx sti

Ningejibu lakini wewe ni villager, meffi.

Hehehe, kua mpole boss

lol. Pass…

jana pale garden city i saw a forester (hizi new model za twin exhaust)with an sti sticker it was blue ofcourse driven by a kalasinga kid ofcourse but the sound eminating from the exhaust was epic.
the nigga switched on the engine and alarm za neighbouring cars kelele fyi he wasnt even revving the engine.i bet that bonnet has at least 300 horses beneath
shida ya hizo gari ni kelele throughout

junkie does changing the muffler increase the power? Are there subarus that would perform equally well but quieter?

The louder the car, the more the power.
[SIZE=3]Source: Tomato Sauce[/SIZE]

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/e6/d6/16/e6d6161b61b7acc6bfeabff0c7cc8891.jpg

muffler has no relation to engine power
case in point those noisy toyota wish,nissan wingroad etc
their engines still remain 1495cc about 115 bhp

Changing the muffler has a small effect on power…you don’t gain much more than approx 5 HP…fuel consumption actually is affected

manufacturer’s exhaust has the maximum power/efficiency effect. kama unataka gari igurume enda utoboe exhaust. the higher up the system the louder the noise. but you will lose power and consumption will be up.
Subaru’s growl is not at all times intentional, and cannot be achieved by a simple silencer change. Subarus are powered by flat boxer engines, most with four opposing pistons, A flat-four has a lower frequency exhaust action and the engine is less smooth in running. Exhaust manifolds are also two with one for each side of the engine. The result is two noisy exhausts with a special deep rumbling. Even when combined they are not as quiet as an exhaust with a single manifold in a straight inline four engine.
If you juakali modify a toyota 110 or a toyota NZE running a straight inline four to try to achieve the subaru rumble, what happens is a misfiring noise since the exhaust is usually tuned to engine performance and you might reduce power. I am not sure about if you might do some damage to cylinder head valves. That is why that nice power rumbling is hard to achieve. Most modifications result into a noise like one you find in a Jincheng chinese boda.
Secondly, yours will be an untested technology. The best option is to ask the manufacturer to make you a rumbling and tested engine