Subwoofer tinkering

I bought my first sub way back in campus. Decent little Sony sub. 8",150 w, powered. Plug and play. Still using it for normal music and movies.
As time went on however I grew restless. Needed more earth shaking bass.
So I got me two more subs, a 12" pioneer and a 15" Sony both driven by a vintage kenwood amp.
Ugly fellows, awesome bass.
Then the kenwood gave up the ghost this year after probably 40 years so I can’t really blame it.
Mimi na kiherehere yangu decided to go big one last time and get a behringer ep 4000 Pro amp to run the subs.
950 Watts per channel RMS @4 ohms kaende kaende kwani
The beast landed this week, I excitedly hooked it up and… Nothing
I cranked the volume all the way to 100% and I could hear a tiny sound.
Confused and disappointed I turned to Google.
Turns out you can’t just hook up AV receivers with Pro amps… Some BS about not enough voltage/output from the receiver or something…
So now I have to apparently buy some gadget to “step up” receiver output and sijui convert unbalanced to balanced signals so that the amp can fire up my subs.
Anyway long story short if you’re not a chronic masochistic tinkerer just buy powered plug and play subwoofer… Ni hayo tu kwa sasa

Amplifiers take a particular input from any music system. You cannot just hook the speaker output to it. it will not work properly. Most high end amplifiers will come with a port to hook the speaker system if the reciever doesnt have pre-amp output and another port for a preamp input. The other thing is that even the most basic amplifier takes at least two channels of input. If the input is not parallel such that one channel ground meets the other channel signal then input will cancel out and the amp will underperform or simply not work. finally, there is the bridging phenomenon where you configure the two channels to give you the -V to +V amplitude which is of course double of 0 to +V. You probably dont need more equipment. just a bit of research will help.

:D:D:Dyou do know your gadgets

Would n array of pre-outs allows you to turn your receiver into an exclusive pre-amp/processor by using external amps to power the rest of the speakers? Just a thought

thats the idea of the separate output to amp. you can ignore the internal receiver amplifier especially if its inferior quality. but the amplifier needs to have a subwoofer output and at least two other channels.

I’m using the receiver’s LFE output… However the behringer is definitely not a high end amp so its inputs are basic

sielewi ii lugha juu ya hangover…
shida yangu ni ii, hometheater yangu dvd player imechapa motherboard, izo speaker nizitumie aje??

mtu anaweza kuwa na subwoofer mbili?
naonanga tu

and their variations

A

Ata nne ukitaka… Depends on receiver, your pocket depth and personal preference

You probably are making a mistake. the receiver LFE is supposed to be connected to a speaker not an amplifier. the Amp should have its own low frequency output. look for the correct connection. then bridge the output and use the low pass filter (LPF) to connect to subwoofer. other speakers should be left connected to the reciever. Thats the effect you want.

Si unaeza tumia anyhow. lakini subwoofer inahitaji amplifier. ama ununue head unit ingine ama board ingine.

motherboard walisema labda import, so out
labda io option ya amp…
head unit sijapata 2nd hand ama kuna vile inauzangwa ikiwa separate mpya?
sikuwa nataka kununua hometheater mpya ama upgrade for now
amplifier uta connect aje izo speakers zote za 5.1 aje na woofer? iko na izo port/ terminal zote

New head unit is only sold as a package, but if you buy a second hand one you can buy any model with several outputs. I assume you used something like a TV or gaming console connected to reciever. There is a way of using the amp for subwoofer alone and power other speakers from whatever electronics you are running.

I think you need a mixer to act as a preamp

Watu ya Ampex 2.1na battery slot hatuna izi shida.

Could work though it might be overkill having a mixer at home. I’ve ordered this gadget from amazon, apparently its resolved such issues for other guys… Will find out in a few weeks time [ATTACH=full]424940[/ATTACH]

What amp is best to connect to a 2.1 subwoofer to produce loud output without noise?

Go to Ex-uk, you’ll find a very good DVD player.

Thanks

Yeah. Two Subs is usually Recommended for Best Experience.

My Receiver has two Sub Outputs

I thought subwoofers in a 2.1 set up have their own inbuilt amps… Ni gani hii kwani ?