Suicidal Sendoff

Excuse the topic. I didn’t know how best to name this shit

Okay, so my uncle offed himself in the 3rd of this month in his home in Kitengela. He worked as a knitting personnel at that EPZ plant huko run by those Indians. I bloody hate that job BTW

So Jana after I got back I called my mum to say hi. She got wind of the trip I made to bury him. Shags ni Busia. She was pissed that I went after she said I shouldn’t have gone. I mean yeah I am religious and everything but that was family. Back at home, attending these things is high on everyone’s priority list, so…

Anyway she said that I made a huge mistake going and we should meet and she tells me what is at stake. I have been asking around for some advice about these things…

I have these two questions.

1. Is it right according to your traditions to bury a person who offed themselves in the normal way?
  2. What do you do exactly during that burial, from cutting down the corpse until laying them to the ground?

hizo beliefs mingi zisikushtue,death is death and that’s just about it…once someone is buried life continues

liberate your mother from her superstitions. you are enlightened. help your brethren

Our African traditional beliefs are very unaccommodating of mental health problems which is the cause of the stigma, superstitions and ignorance surrounding it.
Try to educate your mum but respect her beliefs to keep the peace. As long as all that upus ends with that generation, it’s all good.

I was shocked to see that some of the luo tribesmen, once someone has committed suicide during the burial all doors and windows are closed and the person is buried at night. The only people who are present then are the parents…

…these traditions, Fada Lawd!

Ya but he should not try and convince the Mum otherwise. Her beliefs are hers and you cannot change them at this late stage in life. Don’t know how old his Mum is but mine is in her early 70s and if it was me ningeenda and just listen, get really angry, bite my tongue and leave smiling. Keep the peace…
He did the right thing…only we can change these superstitious beliefs. Look at the misery the late Kibra MP has inflicted on the mother by having his body cremated without ‘educating his mother 1st’. Now she goes to bed at night in a flood of tears saying ‘walichoma kijana yangu usiku’…gaddamn it:mad::mad::mad:

Don’t argue with her just listen and see how it goes. You can’t convince the old generation otherwise most of the time, they are very rigid.

True, even in Bikusuland, such people are burried at night, no ceremony, no mourning, only close family members. Nowadays if the family members know in advance they hide the cause of death so a respectable send off can occur.

Lakini @gashwin pls come back…I don’t like your policing on lingua but look MoD is telling us no morning??did he perhaps mean no mourning kikikikiki. He is wearing a yellow shirt and glasses yawaaaaaaaa.

African traditions still hound us because of the older generation who are still stuck in their traditional beliefs and superstitions.

She’s your mom, so understand where she is coming from and don’t try to change her, but listen to her, unless she’s willing to hear you out. I have influenced my mom over the past several years and it takes talking to her every day to change her mentality about certain beliefs/things, which I’ve succeeded to a certain extent, but not entirely.

Listen to what she has to say and do not, belittle her beliefs however tempted you might get to do so.

I thought we were friends, I don’t like that schumbag @gashwin ile siku tutakutana atakula upper cut moja wazimu.

Si mtakatakata migomba (ma)shamba mzima juu ya hio story?

We are friends MoD which is why I go for your jugular when I can. Only when I bump into you online telling guys here that mimi ni mkali sana and I might jump on you with my claws???:D:D:D:D:D:D

Ya @gashwin should come back, I love his police work, I always learn something new

He annoys me on that one since not all of us went to polishing schools, further sometimes that is the only thing he sees in a post.
Having said that did I mention multi handling? kikikiki

You should be asking about why he did it and how you can prevent and manage trauma in his family instead of getting hung up on useless traditions.

My mum is saved actually na hizi vitu za mila she is against. I tried to explain that I am trying to keep an open mind. Nataka kujua how they send off people who have offed themselves for lack of a better term. She wants to hear none of that

Okay this I understand. But do you attend the short ceremony or not?

You know if we all just had that time, wouldn’t it be nice?

That is not easy. My mum is old generation. Hizo vitu she is always particular about in a way huwezi mchange. Plus I don’t want to change her…

You should attend if you are a close family member, blood is blood no matter how he went.