Sunday Musings..Inspiring Stories

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dhufY7Ck6mQ

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=usuQAYE2ASo

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tJnJ_fTYofQ

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XezLiezWN0E

[MEDIA=facebook]id=2040449452651493;type=video;user=ScandalABC[/MEDIA]

[MEDIA=facebook]id=745746305831606;type=video;user=DailyNation[/MEDIA]

Widow shames dead beat husband on his burial day…calling the deceased a dead beat father among other things. In her eulogy, the woman, identified as Nancy Muteshi, had no kind words to her late husband who she accused of abdicating his duties and failing to provide for his children. While the mourners listened in shock, the woman recounted the difficulties she was subjected to by her husband after he abandoned her with two children to marry another wife.

[MEDIA=facebook]1980416445619839[/MEDIA]

All along as she delivered the eulogy, the co-wife, dressed in black, stands near the coffin listening pensively. But then at some point, she starts walking away, seemingly having heard enough of the other woman’s speech. Unmoved by her co-wife’s emotional breakdown, the woman goes ahead to accuse her of breaking her marriage with the deceased.
“Nawasalimu katika jina la Yesu, Bwana asifiwe, kwa majina naitwa Nancy Ngarai Muteshi, niliolewa na bwana James mwaka wa elfu mbili na moja. Na nikafanikiwa kupata naye watoto wawili. Nilikaa na James kwa uzuri, nilivyozaa huyu mtoto wa pili kama ako na mwezi mmoja, akanigeuka akaanza vituko na akakuwa hasaidi watoto, hasomeshi watoto,” the woman narrated.
“Nikavumilia kila nikienda kwa mama, Mama ananiambia nivumilie nyumba ndio hivyo. Ikafikia mahali marehemu akashikia mamgu panga, na kutaka kumkatakata kwa mambo ya kumuita mama aje atatue kesi ya ndani ya nyumba. Nikavumilia, lakini nilitoka kwa James sio kwa uwezo wangu ila ni kwa ajili ya huyu mwanamke.”
“Watoto wangu sahii wamebakia yatima, hawana Baba hawana mtu wa kuwasaidia. Mimi ndio kila kitu lakini naomba Mungu aweke roho ya bwana James mahali pema peponi. Kama familia mutakubali watoto wangu, nitawaacha hapa muwasomeshe, na kama hamtawataka nitaenda nao,” she says.
There is a brief confrontation between the two women after the first wife challenges the second to respond to her accusations, but another woman steps in to pull the second wife away. The first wife then ends her speech in an emotional breakdown.

[ATTACH=full]293288[/ATTACH]

Nyaribari Masaba’s immediate former MP has kept this 33KVA Transformer (3 Phase, a government property of Rural Electrification Authority) in his compound since 2016. The people are demanding of him to immediately surrender the same to REA. 4 years of keeping it in the grass is an illustration of poor leadership, lack of concern for the people and a greater level of selfishness.

As Italy mourns thousands of coronavirus dead, and survivors brace for life in an economic wasteland, one rung of society looks to win big: organized crime.

“The Italian mafia can turn threats into opportunities,” top government anti-mafia investigator Giuseppe Governale told AFP.
Over 10,000 people have died in Italy of the flu-like disease, which has forced the country into a lockdown that is devastating the eurozone’s third-largest economy.

[MEDIA=facebook]2514357638780239[/MEDIA]

From the historic Cosa Nostra in Sicily, to the immensely powerful 'Ndrangheta in Calabria and trigger-happy Camorra in Naples, Italy’s mafias were “caught on the back foot (by the virus), but are now organizing themselves,” Governale said.
The Economist Intelligence Unit said Thursday it expected Italy’s GDP to contract by a colossal seven percent for the year. Italian experts say some 65 percent of Italian small and medium businesses are at risk of bankruptcy. That is music to the ears of the country’s mobs, who use extortion and usuary to feast on ailing businesses.

‘On their terms’
“Just look at the portfolio of the mafias, to see how much they can earn from this pandemic,” Italian anti-mafia author Roberto Saviano said in an interview in the Repubblica daily this week.
"Where have they invested in the last few decades? Multi-service companies (canteens, cleaning, disinfection), waste recycling, transportation, funeral homes, oil, and food distribution. That’s how they’ll make money.
“The mafias know what you have, and will need, and they give it, and will give it, on their own terms.”
Saviano pointed to the last big epidemic in Italy, the 1884 Cholera outbreak in Naples, which killed more than half of the city’s inhabitants.
The government paid out vast sums for a clean-up – which went straight into the pockets of the Camorra.

[ATTACH=full]294443[/ATTACH]

The mafia “is already carefully planning ahead to when the economy will start to be rebuilt,” said Governale, who heads up Italy’s anti-mafia investigation directorate (DIA).
“There will be a lot of money going around.”
The 62-year old Sicilian said his team was preparing a plan to combat mafia infiltration.
“They will be looking for loopholes in the system. We’ll have to keep our eyes open for… suspicious operations, the creation of new companies, dummy corporations.”
Giuseppe Pignatone, a former mafia-hunter in Reggio Calabria, said the epidemic would “inevitably make the judiciary’s job more difficult over the coming weeks and years”.
The trials of hundreds of defendants have ground to a halt.
‘Real danger’
The redirection of police resources over the crisis could also contribute to the mafia blossoming, as officers “already weighed down by new roles may have to face public order problems,” he said.
According to the Stampa daily, Italy’s secret service has warned the government of potential riots in southern Italy – fomented by organized crime groups – should the virus epicenter move from north to south.

Slideshow by photo services here: https://www.msn.com/en-us/news/world/mafia-primed-to-feast-on-italys-virus-devastation/ar-BB11RNQT?li=BBnb7Kz&ocid=edgsp
Mobsters were believed by some crime experts to have orchestrated revolts in jails across the country early on in the epidemic, with prisoners fearful of catching the disease in overcrowded facilities demanding early release.
“Very worryingly, some with lighter sentences are being allowed out,” Nicola Gratteri, a leading prosecutor in the 'Ndrangheta stronghold of Calabria, told AFP.
Rights group Antigone said over 2,500 prisoners had been released since February 29 to ease overcrowding.
“People linked to the 'Ndrangheta have already been released and put under house arrest,” he said.
“That presents a real danger”.

Confessions Of A White Woman On Bonobo Mentality…

[I]Ok, I think it’s about time for me to write about White Privilege in the context of Uganda. A little self-reflection – and you don’t have to go deep – brought me to the conclusion that I am experiencing a lot more privileges than my Ugandan friends in their own country.

I don’t like the word “expat,” because Ugandans in Toronto are not called expats – they’re called “immigrants” - and also it sounds too close to “expert.” We cannot deny that many white people in Uganda are paid more than their Ugandan colleagues, regardless of some migrants’ inferior expertise in their roles and responsibilities.

On many occurrences, I have been waved through security checks while the Ugandan people I’m with are asked to open their bags. I actually have to say: “here, check mine too.” I often joke cynically that the biggest terrorist threat in Uganda could be a muzungu’s purse.
[/I]
[ATTACH=full]296743[/ATTACH]

[I]I have traveled a lot with my Ugandan friends around the country, and I have one friend named Nvannungi who likes to tease me with the reminder: “Anne, your White Privilege is showing!” (This blog is dedicated to you, Leadership.)

Last year, I traveled upcountry with my housemate Zalwango, and we noticed that many of the hotel staff and other service providers would look me in the eye while speaking, and pretty much ignore her. They’d offer to carry my bags and not even notice when she held out hers. I tweeted about this and was advised that I was served better in the expectation of better tips - muzungu = $$$ - never mind the reality of the situation, which was that my friend and I were splitting the cost of the trip and deserved equal service. We were both upset, not at the people themselves, but at the injustice in that way of thinking.

I have worked on so many funding proposals and pitches of different kinds with teams of Ugandans, and we noticed that when a Ugandan teammate contacts a potential partner, they are often ignored, but the name Whitehead gets a reply. I understand the lack of trust in a market that can often be too “unserious” about professionalism and integrity, and I do good work, but my muzungu name also has a more positive prejudice.

When a Ugandan welcomes a muzungu into their country, they open doors (literally and figuratively) lead you in and offer you the best seat available. They are warm and receptive. They take time to talk with you, and offer you any food or drink they have. A Ugandan will speak their very best English with a muzungu, and then praise the migrant for even one or two words in the local language that they can fumble out. A Ugandan does not expect a foreigner to learn their languages the way a Ugandan would be expected to speak English in America.

Through a confluence of a trending news cycle and my relationships in Uganda’s media – and I think some White Privilege – I found myself this past week in the middle of a story that runs faster than Kiprotich. Everyone was giving me credit for PR that I wasn’t doing, calling me a “manager” of someone I wasn’t even working with at the time, and no matter how many times I responded to this, people just believed I must be running things. I believe this was confirmation bias at least partly based on the assumption that a Ugandan man – mbu muyaye – could not express himself so eloquently and confidently without a muzungu writing for him, which is just not true.

This thinking is a symptom of the same mindset that believes “local” is an insult, and better things must come from outside countries. Meanwhile, so many amazing creators are making Uganda proud to be local! Mindset change is so needed to deal with these injustices that rob society of development, but people’s thinking is changing mpola mpola…

So, what can I personally do to remedy my situation of benefiting from cultural and systematic injustices? Well, I think it is my responsibility to make sure to treat everyone with respect and to listen and learn from others. If I notice that my white privilege is showing, I should take a minute and consider whether I could make another choice to help bring more equity to the situation. As for opening doors that not everyone can, once I am inside I will do the best work I possibly can to stay there and make a positive impact. When I know Ugandans who have value to offer, I will recommend them for jobs, and if my clients ever try to underpay artists, staff, entrepreneurs, etc. I will argue on behalf of the oppressed because we all deserve that dignity.

It’s not so easy sometimes. Honestly, privilege of any kind – whether based on your gender, class, etc. – it can mess with your head and make you think you’re a VIP. But then look down at the world from space and all us humans and our drama are even too small to see. We are nothing, or we are all VIPs. [/I]

20 Comments here:

http://www.whiteheadcommunications.com/blog/white-privilege-as-ive-lived-it-in-uganda?fbclid=IwAR1b9OBjmdR_1ptQIoWXNAptCK8t-4g6TP6swVJ3q4Z3zDfaWx2daZ-b8wU

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3byTN8NTCkc

[MEDIA=facebook]id=904338649586593;type=video;user=AfricanaWeddingsRock[/MEDIA]

[MEDIA=facebook]id=229059554967003;type=video;user=channel7newstv[/MEDIA]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vPXlh84PXeY

[ATTACH=full]300172[/ATTACH]

Whiteman’s Burden…?

A Sikkimese woman carries a British colonial officer on her back, West Bengal, India, 1900.

[ATTACH=full]300173[/ATTACH]

The story behind this disturbing photo is just as disturbing…
This was the widely Circulated Photo of a vulture waiting for a starving Sudanese girl to die so it can feast on her.
It was taken by Kevin Carter, a prolific photojournalist, during the famine of 1993 in Sudan.
This photo later won Kevin the Pulitzer prize for an ‘exceptional’ caption.
However, Kevin later got depressed and took his own life four months after his worldwide celebration as a skillful photographer.
He fell to depression. His depression began when during an interview (a phone-in program), someone asked him what happened to the child.
"I did not wait to see what happened after this shot as I had a flight to catch… "
And the person replied,
“I put it to you that there were two vultures that day; one had a camera”.
This comment sank Kevin and as he constantly thought of the haunting statement, he got so depressed and soon ended his own life.

We took goat samples, sheep samples, pawpaw samples, engine oil samples, and samples of other different items and took them to the COVID 19 testing laboratories without them knowing what we were doing. We gave them names… the oil sample we named Jabil Hamza, 30 yrs old Male and it turned out negative results. Jackfruit we named Sara Samuel, Female 45 yrs old and the results returned was inconclusive. When we presented the papaw sample, we named it Elizabeth Ann, 26 years old and the pawpaw results turned positive for Coronavirus. Meaning the fluids that came from that pawpaw tested positive for Corona. We took samples from the quail bird and it tested positive for Coronavirus. We took them samples from a rabbit and the result returned as undetermined. We took samples from a goat and it returned positive for Corona. We took them samples from a sheep and it returned negative results etc etc.

[MEDIA=facebook]10163657637405533[/MEDIA]

This means that if we take pawpaw, goat, and jackfruit then they test positive, it means we need to isolate them. This is making us think that there is a very serious game going on with the testing of these samples. That there are some serious issues going on in this country. Either the lab technicians doing the tests have been compromised by foreign masters, or probably they’re not well qualified which is not true because these labs have been extensively used for testing other diseases, or probably it is the testing kits used because everything including the reagents and swabs used to come from overseas.

[MEDIA=facebook]10213243629044338[/MEDIA]

So there must be something that is going on here. If even pawpaws are testing positive for Corona, then WHO needs to do more work. If goats have Corona and if they haven’t established if this Corona is affecting goats and humans and plants alike then the scientists still have a lot of work to do. So based on my findings that I am holding here, it is possible that there are many people who have been tested positive for Corona yet they do not have the virus. Some people may even die from fear and anxiety. The pawpaw, the goats, and the jackfruit are still well and alive.
So am calling upon Tanzanians not to be anxious especially to those who are well and alive with no symptoms, why be anxious. The flu you are having will also pass however advanced it is. The pawpaw samples were taken from its inside, not from the surface otherwise they would claim that the surface had been contaminated by Corona, but they were very careful and collected the samples by inserting the swab right inside the pawpaw. So we have a lot of questions, first by us Tanzanians, the whole world and especially Africa in general.
So am calling upon people in Africa, to take samples of animals, fruits, or just about anything and test them; then they will confirm what am saying here. I am a scientist by profession, I know what I am talking about. This work was done by highly qualified people. So I am calling upon Tanzanians not to panic. Politicians should desist from running around with this issue as a political agenda saying lockdown Dar es Salaam, Lockdown Tanga; I won’t Lockdown I already stated. Tanzanians must live, work, produce but do take precautions. I am even thinking to allow the Soccer league to continue so that people can at least even watch from their TVs.
Tanzania President John Pombe Magufuli earned his bachelor of science in education degree majoring in chemistry and mathematics as teaching subjects from The University of Dar es Salaam in 1988. He also earned his masters and doctorate degrees in chemistry from The University of Dar es Salaam, in 1994 and 2009, respectively.

Tanzania President JP Magufuli speech on COVID 19:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hFoydP1DjzI:20

[MEDIA=facebook]id=584499582059804;type=video;user=redlinesyntheticoil[/MEDIA]

[ATTACH=full]304513[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]304514[/ATTACH]

[MEDIA=facebook]id=1633996026654943;type=video;user=JaymoUleMsee[/MEDIA]

[MEDIA=facebook]id=10152405033912628;type=video;user=MaxAmini[/MEDIA]

This lady will make your Sunday…

[MEDIA=cbsnews]my-mom-in-quarantine[/MEDIA]

[MEDIA=facebook]id=2320465708260156;type=video;user=BBCnewsafrica[/MEDIA]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ugOTd0jdgJU

Reddit co-founder Alexis Ohanian, who resigned from Reddit’s Board of Directors on Friday and urged the board to replace him with a black candidate, said he made the decision for his 2-year-old daughter with wife Serena Williams.

[ATTACH=full]308189[/ATTACH]

“I didn’t arrive at this easily. It was absolutely a hard decision,” Ohanian told “CBS This Morning” co-host Gayle King in an exclusive interview. “But thinking back, especially on the position our country’s been in, and then especially in the last few weeks, I realized I needed to look at myself, look in the mirror and see what I could do to help contribute some real positive change, so that I could look my daughter in the eye when she’s a little bit older and she asks me what I did to help make this country and this world a little bit better for her and for a whole lot of people who look like her.”
On Thursday, Reddit got the message and added tech CEO Michael Seibel to the board.

See interview:

https://www.cbsnews.com/news/alexis-ohanian-serena-williams-reddit/