Supervising a mjengo while in the office

Those people who are in fulltime employment while building, how do you supervise? Through phone calls, weekend visits or do you visit jioni after work?

naona @utachoka sana

If you dare attempt that your fundi will build their own house out of your ‘phone supervision.’ Mjengo inataka uwe hapo ukimake sure simiti, mawe,msumari,mchanga,mabati, chuma zimekuja as ordered. And you need to directly source all these through market survey then bargaining. But if you have few cents to burn then go ahead and give the project to a contractor who will take care of everything from scratch, wewe uendeh kifungu after the agreed period

Just take a leave and supervise your building otherwise utalilia kwa choo. Utacheswa. Even your relatives will be overwhelmed by greed and screw you up

nuf said.

Ikiwa huna time tafuta architect, engineer, q.s, clerk of works then patia kazi contractor

That’s how your poorly built sub standard structure will come tumbling down with all your dreams.
If you don’t have the time don’t even attempt it.

Nipee kazi.

Get yourself a reputable contractor and an independent engineer.

Yako itakua weekendi kuzunguka mjengo na mineral water mkononi, shades kichwani na hasira ndogo ndogo like 'mbona Hii wheelbarrow ni chafu?"

38 Likes

My own advice is hata ukiandika contractor, you need somebody on site to be your ears and eyes. Get a relative from shaggz and pay him a monthly allowance. He can also be mtu wa mkono and get 500 per day.
Second advice is to buy the materials yourself. Don’t let the contractor do it for you.

Reliable Foreman + CCTV kama the late Gus Fring?

He’s said that he doesn’t have time to go to site so I don’t think he will get time to watch 8hrs of CCTV footage Monday to Saturday.

Bratha…just start with the mjengo if you have made up your mind. Kuibiwa utaibiwa but try to minimize on the thieffery. Try and pitia at least twice in a day and if necessary have a foreman then have some snitches among the fundis or vibarua who will be counting the materials used

1.You buy material at a good price…some is stolen
2.You give money to foreman for material…they undercut you
3.You hire someone to be your eyes… he colludes with the ones stealing from you
4.You pay a contractor…they overcharge or do a shoddy job

Scenarios are infinite so advise is just start the mjengo and learn as you go

Africans tulirogwa…

Hapo mwisho getting house keys, apana, you must know how your house is proceeding at every stage regular visit is important. Nasiile unafika site and you don’t get out of the car ati unaogopa uchafu !

how do you guys come up with such original content? jana kuna mungine alisema ati walking from fig tree to town will even get muggers themselves getting mugged:D:D:D

Tafuta tu @byro and @Randy the amount paid to them with be worth it considering they will inspect the quality of workmanship and materials.

The ancient enduring fallacy of the trusty relative from my village. Haya.

It has worked for me well.

Its called experience. Having been there done that… N gotten the tshirt too.