Sweden's Super Stealth Submarines...

[SIZE=6]…Are So Lethal They ‘Sank’ a U.S. Aircraft Carrier[/SIZE]
[ATTACH=full]167163[/ATTACH]

In 2005, USS Ronald Reagan, a newly constructed $6.2 billion dollar aircraft carrier, sank after being hit by multiple torpedoes.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=saCdvAp5cow

Fortunately, this did not occur in actual combat, but was simulated as part of a war game pitting a carrier task force including numerous anti-submarine escorts against HSMS Gotland, a small Swedish diesel-powered submarine displacing 1,600 tons. Yet despite making multiple attacks runs on the Reagan, the Gotland was never detected.

This outcome was replicated time and time again over two years of war games, with opposing destroyers and nuclear attack submarines succumbing to the stealthy Swedish sub. Naval analyst Norman Polmar said the Gotland “ran rings” around the American carrier task force. Another source claimed U.S. anti-submarine specialists were “demoralized” by the experience.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Khaa3y0i87s

How was the Gotland able to evade the Reagan’s elaborate anti-submarine defenses involving multiple ships and aircraft employing a multitude of sensors? And even more importantly, how was a relatively cheap submarine costing around $100 million—roughly the cost of a single F-35 stealth fighter today—able to accomplish that? After all, the U.S. Navy decommissioned its last diesel submarine in 1990.

Diesel submarines in the past were limited by the need to operate noisy, air-consuming engines that meant they could remain underwater for only a few days before needing to surface. Naturally, a submarine is most vulnerable, and can be most easily tracked, when surfaced, even when using a snorkel. Submarines powered by nuclear reactors, on the other hand, do not require large air supplies to operate, and can run much more quietly for months at a time underwater—and they can swim faster while at it.

However, the two-hundred-foot-long Swedish Gotland-class submarines, introduced in 1996, were the first to employ an Air Independent Propulsion (AIP) system—in this case, the Stirling engine. A Stirling engine charges the submarine’s seventy-five-kilowatt battery using liquid oxygen.

With the Stirling, a Gotland-class submarine can remain undersea for up to two weeks sustaining an average speed of six miles per hour—or it can expend its battery power to surge up to twenty-three miles per hour. A conventional diesel engine is used for operation on the surface or while employing the snorkel. The Stirling-powered Gotland runs more quietly than even a nuclear-powered sub, which must employ noise-producing coolant pumps in their reactors.

[Source: http://nationalinterest.org ]

I thought Sweden was one of the most peace loving countries that don’t need to invest that much in military hardware.

Thread closed. Next!

That is Switzerland. It even has an embassy in North Korea. It is non aligned.

Sweden has an advanced defense industry, they also produce the gripen

Now you are waiting to be asked what’s the gripen?

Fighter plane, MBAFF!!!

Kwani you think the said simulation happened on a computer? :smiley:

I don’t have to know everything and yes I knew there was Google.

Swedes have a very shady past. While the Brits, French and Germans were busy colonizing weak indigenous people across the world in the 19th century, Sweden had colonized Finland for hundreds of years.

Sweden developed a good defense industry during the cold war since they were right next to USSR. Army armour, equipments, jets and navy ships.

I’m a big fan of the Gripen multirole Jet. Cheaper to buy, maintain, very lethal and agile. It needs only one crew member to arm it, refuel and do basic maintenance. The south African air force have them.
[ATTACH=full]167191[/ATTACH]

However the Chinese aren’t to be left behind. They developed the JF17 Block 3 with all the modern features and needs of the best multirole 4th generation fighter. Its cheap to buy, arm, maintain and still very effective. Its the backbone of Pakistan airforce and a new stealth version is in production. This I wish Kenya airforce can buy.
[ATTACH=full]167192[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]167193[/ATTACH]

I bet Kenya can buy the Gripen because its tried and tested by several countries. But i doubt they will even think of the Chengdu, until its tried and tested. Most likely the any purchase will not happen anytime soon…

If we get the Gripen then I will be very happy. One thing I learnt is that it doesn’t matter which equipments you have but how you use them and have them ready for combat at any time. UG has 7 Su-30 great planes, mostly on storage. 1-2 actually ready to fly at any moment. Germany has dozens of euro fighters but only 5 on standby. They are relying on USA F16 based at its NATO base in Germany for air cover. Something which made trump very mad. Gripens can be combat ready in less than an hour and only a few minutes for the standby ones.

The JF-17 is very cheap to buy, maintain and operate. Probably the cheapest of the multi-role jets in the world. Pakistan has over 200 of them and they have seriously modernized them to match any 4 generation fighter. With our budget this will fit nicely without a struggle. Actually Air force senior staff have been travelling globally to try out its next fighter jet acquisition. They were in Sweden and Pakistan. In the future some announcement will be made.

Chief ambia hao wachukue Sukhoi 30 hapo mwisho waandike KS as in SU30KS ‘ks- Kenya speciale’ ama namna gani…tunahitaji ndege itapatrol borders zetu bila was was…

Yes

Spare parts tunaendea pale hindustan aeronautics

wacha wajichoche waendee ndege kwa wazungu. Vile kwanza tuko na mafuta…wakumbuke story ya Iran na Pakistan.