Tanzania bans Carrots from Kenyan in a bid to protect its local producers

The cross-border trade wars between Kenya and Tanzania worsened last week after newly appointed Arumeru District Commissioner Jerry Muro announced a blanket ban on Kenyan carrots, in a bid to protect local producers from competition.https://i0.wp.com/www.farmerstrend.co.ke/wp-content/uploads/2018/08/carrot-farmers-in-kenya.jpg?resize=600%2C400

“During the harvesting period, carrots are imported from the neighbouring country, but by the power I have been given by the president, not a single carrot will be imported into the district,” Mr Muro told Arumeru residents.

He said that he and all carrot farmers would stand along the Arusha-Moshi Highway to inspect all lorries to ensure middlemen do not import a single carrot from Kenya.

In 2011, the five East African Community partner states signed a comprehensive Common Market Protocol, officially binding themselves to open up their borders for free movement of goods, labour and capital across the region.

However, the latest move brings into question Tanzania’s commitment to open its borders for cross-border trade as required by the EAC Common Market Protocol.

“This is a form of non-tariff barrier,” said the East African Business Council Trade and Policy advisor, Adrian Njau.

“Decisions made at the EAC’s higher level organs have not been communicated to grassroots leaders,” said lecturer, Gasper Mpehongwa.

“Today they will ban carrots from Kenya, next time Kenya will ban carrots from Tanzania,” he added, cautioning that ordinary East Africans were the victims of such decisions.

Tanzania and Kenya have been experiencing frosty diplomatic rows recently with Nairobi lodging a formal complaint against its neighbour. Last year, Tanzania seized and auctioned off 1,300 cattle from Kenya, which had wandered across the border to graze.

READ ALSO: 4 Farming Challenges That Need to Be Addressed

President John Magufuli warned Kenya that any livestock wandering into his country would be confiscated.

“Those who sneak with their livestock into this country will not be spared.”

http://www.farmerstrend.co.ke/tanzania-bans-carrots-from-kenyan-in-a-bid-to-protect-its-local-producers/

Hawa Majamaa waweke tu ukuta Kama ile ya Trump na Mexico…

They should also close their embassy in kenya…

The problem is with Kenyan officials.
Why do they tolerate this nonsense without effecting counter measures.
The only way to deal with a bully is to pay him back in kind.

This is too much now!! Till when shall the GoK bend over backwards just to accommodate this economic saboteur called Tanzania.

Shall the people stand up too and burn 50 trucks from TZ daily before our cries are heard? Or should we frogmarch Tanzanians living as paupers or traders at gikomba to the Arusha bus Park and see to their deportation?

Tried onion farming some time back , to turn a profit I had to sell between 60 - 80ksh per Kg , enter the Tz flood this chaps are selling for 25ksh per kg a big fuck you to Kenyan farmers , no protection from govt !

Doing business with unreformed socialists is not easy.

It is also worth noting that Kenya usually gives in to more of her neighbour’s demands than what it receives in return whenever there is a disagreement.

For instance, despite finally allowing her northern neighbour’s goods to its markets after a two-month standoff, Tanzania has still retained the duty it had imposed on Kenyan products - which is part of what created the tiff in the first place.

https://www.standardmedia.co.ke/article/2001252648/kenya-and-tanzania-trade-war-that-cost-kenyan-firms-sh7-5-billion

I don’t see why that’s necessarily a bad thing, if you’re a Tanzanian farmer that’s exactly what you will want to your government to do. Kenya also needs to move on the same direction and ban imports of anything it produces locally. I thought this was first grade economy?

Hata sisi tume ban mahindi ya sebo…

Wakenya mnapenda kulia lia sana. Tz is ur big bro. Lazima mtusujudie. Mkileta vya kuleta tunawabinya zaidi.

The EAC is meant to be moving towards a common market, with free movement of goods between the member states. This runs counter to that in every sense. It may seem unfair to the farmers at this point, but free movement eventually boosts trade across the community e.g. in Europe. Saa zingine we have to accept that there are comparative production advantages, si kila kitu utaproduce kwako at the best price siku zote.

When did this happen? Sina copy, but ile issue iko ya NCPB is that huwezi nunua mahindi yanje upeleke kwao ati ‘umelima’…which is perfectly acceptable even within free trade. Ukitaka kununua ukauze kwa wasee wa posho mill au unga sioni ukikatazwa.

Apologies… You are correct…

Let us ban maize and potatoes from the Kilimanjaro area of Tanzania as well. The Governor of Taita should block such produce from Tanzania

The best way for our country to survive the hostile neighbors is to diversify into production of hi-tech goods that they can’t produce easily in a decade.
Software, machine spare parts - esp for motor vehicles and motor bikes,mobile phones accessories, agricultural equipment and consumable farm inputs… let them farm but they will be using our equipment to do so… after farming mtu ajue atauza wapi.

The problem Africa has is that we produce the same raw materials, and some simple processed foods, hence the protectionist policies.

It may take time, but if we start now in the next 20yrs we will have a huge advantage. by the time the “next maghufuli” and Museveni ban kenyan tractors and drip irrigation equipment, we will be fabricating next generation computer chips

Kama wa China wanachapa watu humu Kenya,mna expect goverment iwa protect from TZ kweli.
Hiyo ndiyo hali ya Ukenya,ng’ang’ana nayo pole pole bila kulia sana.Kule Mau Narok ndio wakati wa kuvuna carrots,target market ni TZ…wakisikia hii habari wataona na midomo