TBT 6th July Edition

lets kick off our journey down memory lane with this timeless classic by John Ngereza.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kVIfhyp_M-o

am sure even kids born in the 2000s can sing along

@Wakanyama ashakua TBT.
[ATTACH=full]110502[/ATTACH]
miss his soup

DRUM, Africas leading magazine in the 50s and 60s
[ATTACH=full]110503[/ATTACH]

we used to anticipate the rains vile @culture hugojea salary ili akakamue momo huko sabina j, lakini siku hizi??? sijui niblame watoi au wazazi, the parents are too protective of their young ones, you are not letting them be kids. [ATTACH=full]110504[/ATTACH]
na mvua ikikosekana we used to make our own Nyororoka with water na kuigrease na urine.

Schoolchildren waving flags for the visit of the Queen Mother, Eldoret, Kenya, 14th February 1959
[ATTACH=full]110506[/ATTACH]
[COLOR=rgb(29, 33, 41)][FONT=Helvetica][SIZE=14px][FONT=inherit][/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT]

The NW face of Mount Kenya seen from the Nanyuki area, 1936:

[ATTACH=full]110507[/ATTACH]

Limuru Market_1940s

[ATTACH=full]110508[/ATTACH]

Government Road(now Moi Ave.)_Nairobi_1971
[ATTACH=full]110510[/ATTACH]
what landmarks can you identify

Meru warriors _1921
[ATTACH=full]110511[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]110512[/ATTACH]
My peace message

its tbt now
[ATTACH=full]110517[/ATTACH]

Wooh that place does not look like nairobi. Very clean.
Kidero must go

Nairobi was Known as the city in the sun

Iman Mohamed Abdulmajid (Somali: Iimaan Maxamed Cabdulmajiid, Arabic: ايمان محمد عبد المجيد‎‎; born 25 July 1955), mononymously known as Iman (“faith” in Arabic), is a Somali former fashion model, actress and entrepreneur. A pioneer in the field of ethnic cosmetics, she is also noted for her philanthropic work. She is the widow of English rock musician David Bowie, whom she married in 1992.

She studied political science at the University of Nairobi. While still at university, Iman was discovered by American photographer Peter Beard, and subsequently moved to the United States to begin a modeling career.[ Her first modeling assignment was for Vogue a year later in 1976. She soon landed some of the most prestigious magazine covers, establishing herself as a supermodel

[ATTACH=full]110521[/ATTACH]

1960s_ Kenya_ Men Dragging Rhino Which Died In Drought in Tsavo Park
[ATTACH=full]110524[/ATTACH]
check out the number plate

Shan Cinema (now Sarakasi Dome) Ngara_Nairobi_1963
[ATTACH=full]110545[/ATTACH]
check out hio gari ya black,
for 50KCr nipe make na model

nice

Charles Rubia, the first African Mayor of Nairobi. (June 5, 1967)
[ATTACH=full]110547[/ATTACH]
I think Kidero has the first mayors Limousine, havent seen it in a while.
@spear saidia please

I remember using cow dung at some point. Utamu bure.

He was flossing with stolen devolved funds. Aibu ndio ilifanya ifichwe.