TBT Exile Edition

Can Picture Miguna Miguna singing this song somewhere in Calgary Alberta Canada.

“By the rivers of Canada

Where i sat down

And there i wept

When i remembered Kenya”

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ta42xU2UXLA

Hii stori ya M2 imenikumbusha siku pia mimi nilienda exile, twas either exile or death on a slow burning fire.

It so happens that in most rural villages around the country kuna that one very reach unguy who nobody knows how he got/made his money, the fellow just disappeared to Nairobi for a few yrs or so and when he came back he was loaded with cash. We had such a man in our village, ata mimi nikijijua this man was already reach, in the whole village which spread out over three ridges only his hse was made of stone, his fence too was made of stone and his homestead looked like a fortess, it was rumored that he used to be Wakinyongas getaway driver but hakuna mtu angethibitisha, he had invested his loot well, he had an isuzu truck (igogo) and the only wholesale store in the ridges while in his fortess homestead he had several freshian cows na hapo ndipo tulikua tunaingia kwake kuchukua maziwa. This man (lets call him Mukundi) was 40 times worse than mama saitan, ole wako ungekataa na deni lake, he would way lay you and beat you up himself, then drag you to your hse where he would take whatever he fancied and pack it in his 404 mbickup, everyone feared him he was not a man to be messed with.

Did I mention that Mukundi had a very beautiful daughter tulikua twasoma naye in the village mixed secondary school? Well in the 80s ata kaa ulikua na pesa there were no private schools, watoto wa peasants and reach fellows all met in the local schools (ata hakuna shule zilikua na school bus na zile zilikua nazo were Bedford trucks with a passenger cabin where you sat facing one another), all boy in school and all young men in the village walikua wanamezea huyu mrembo mate lakini walikua wanaogopa babake Mukundi, nobody dared ata kurusha mistari exept Meria.

I used every chance I got I school to tell her that I loved her and one day she would be my wife, alafu huu ujumbe nilikua nausindilia jioni nikienda kwao kuchukua maziwa (I couldn’t let my small bro do this simple task) would wait for late eveining hivi kitu 6:30 ndio nilikua naingia kwao na chupa yangu ya treetop kuchukua maziwa yetu. We would flit around kiasi and I could tell it in my heart the girl liked me.

Tuliendelea hivo hivo na tukamaliza shule kaa sijaonjeshwa, ila tu kuguza matiti in very rare occasions, our relationship was the best kept secret in the ridges. A vulture is a patient bird na siku moja out of thin air I got a chance ile nilikua nategea. Kulikua na matanga mtaani, nikifika kwao time yangu ya kuchukua maziwa mamake akanishow nimpeleke huko matangani kudeliver maziwa yao, I did a sign of the cross coz I knew mungu alikua amejibu maombi yangu.

We delivered the milk and on the way back akakubali kuingia kwa cube yangu, wale washakula vajo mnajua vile hua wanasumbua, twas supposed to be a quickie but ikakua mambo ya kubembeleza nikimshow kichwa tu, it wont hurt blab la bla hatimaye akakubali niguzishe, juu ya dry spell na long anticipation of this moment I didn’t last long, the game was over.

As we were dressing tukaskia gari imesmama kwa fujo hapo barabarani and a door being shut very roughly, my balls shrunk zika fika kwa lungs coz automatically I knew Mukundi was here, I grabbed a pair of shoes opened the window and jumped out, saa hio hio the door burst open nikaskia Mukundi akiuliza “iha ngoma iyo” in his burly voice, na hivo ndivio nilijipata exile in a dusty place huko Nakuru known as Tandayrathy in greek or Tinderess.

John Karani
[ATTACH=full]155783[/ATTACH]
Huyu myamaa ako wapi.
He was our radio hero

Kenyan Police in the 1970s.
[ATTACH=full]155784[/ATTACH]

Memories are made of this
[ATTACH=full]155785[/ATTACH]
190ml Fanta ginger ale…
[COLOR=rgb(29, 33, 41)][FONT=Helvetica][SIZE=14px][FONT=inherit][/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT]

Hehe umeanza na sweep ya fatality

This was the Hub Of Nairobi - Nairobi House corner of 6th Avenue ( present day Kenyatta Avenue ) and Station Road - ( Moi Avenue ) - 1912 -
[ATTACH=full]155786[/ATTACH]
[COLOR=rgb(29, 33, 41)][FONT=Helvetica][SIZE=14px][FONT=inherit][/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT]

“I did a sign of the cross coz I knew mungu alikua amejibu maombi yangu”. usherati mbele ya Mungu??? thats the source of ur troubles

He he he! Pole VC!
Dry spell was real those days…

[ATTACH=full]155787[/ATTACH]

Policemen had shorts and those socks reaching the knee

for 1000 likes, make of this car?
model iko displayed hapo
[ATTACH=full]155789[/ATTACH]
@introvert hii hupati

The Argentinean revolutionary and hero of the Cuban revolution, Ernesto “Che” Guevara, in the African Congo, where he led an all-black force of Cuban and Congolese soldiers against white South African mercenaries of apartheid, 1965
[ATTACH=full]155790[/ATTACH]

Nilisikia ako Tanzania working with Kiss FM (TZ) and Tone FM

Nairobi - buildings on left looks like Nairobi Law Courts - late 1950s
[ATTACH=full]155792[/ATTACH]

fiat

Rare pic of @Wakanyama C 1985
[ATTACH=full]155794[/ATTACH]

umekosa dada
thanks for trying

Sawa kabisa Meria.

Nairobi Hospital Staff - 1902 -
[ATTACH=full]155795[/ATTACH]
CC: Cecily Kariuki