Teaching Career & Parenting in Kenya

Am not a teacher but i think teaching nowaday children is one daunting task. I don’t want to sound as protecting the school adminstrations, but as a parent, i ve attended those school meetings/open days/clinics or whatever some call them, you realise teachers wield no power over our kids. Touch some of those kids and you’ll regret taking career in teaching. Recently, a teacher found pupils viewing some nudes from a fone (iphone 4s) confiscated it, the pupil-owner got angry took her bag in a huff and left the school, took a public transport home, within 2 hrs both the parents were at school fuming and screaming, demanding an explanation on how the school could allow their kid to take public transport home. The teacher tried to explain what had transpired lakini the parents defended the kid, saying they gave her the fone and it should be given back to her immediately. Sasa niambie kama huyo mwalimu ako na nguvu ya ku-discipline any other pupil in that school. Its ok for a parent to protect his/her child but i think we are over doing it, the kids know that hence becoming arrogant, reckless and ill mannered. We 've also left to house-technicians/house-helps the major roles of parenting. Lets be role models to our children, much freedom must be curtailed, as its dangerously misused na tena marafiki ujue ni akina nani. God help us.

you tell the parent to help the kid pack and they both go home and you give a leaving certificate explaininv the reason you let the student go read expel

how will ka-mum know you love her unless you protect her from that “hater” teacher? but then again when we have parents and soon to be parents glorifying fangi here what do you expect?

Very valid point there my friend…On that particular case, the teacher will obviously back off since she now knows that it is the parents fault that the kid is indisciplined…Huyo unawacha afanye vile atataka. So long as the teacher maintains professionalism…then she is covered!

you have to do something. if its a private school she will mess other kids and your brand when the entire neighborhood knows kids watch porn in that school. you let her walk out and take public transport then she is abducted, Ndegwa Muhoro and Tobiko will ne knocking on your door. If the parent doesn’t support your enforcement of rules and punishment for breaching them expel the damn brat

Kusema ukweli, parents have abdicated heir parenting responsibilities. We see the consequences in our hospitals all the time.

Very sad. The kind of children being raised in an environment of poor parenting are most likely to be indisciplined. If every parent is like that, then we’ll have little ‘devils’ everywhere and when the society can’t stomach that, force will have to be used for them to tow the line, because at that time counselling may be less efficacious.

The teacher will ve to take that role of parenting for the sake of the yet corrupt minds.

I have a cane in the house which is at a conspicuous location and which thankfully I haven’t had to use. My kids teachers have the go ahead to beat the crap out of them if they as much as sniff in the wrong direction. So far they have been obedient top performers. I don’t know if it is coz of the threat of punishment or in spite of it. Truth is I wouldn’t hesitate to use that cane and they know it. Heshima kwanza.

That changes the order of the whole system cz henceforth from the incident the teacher cnt dare even raise a finger wherever he/she comes across the kid doing wrong just to make sure he/she keeps on t he safe side. …

Considering that if the teacher decides to save a whole month’s salary n not touch a n penny…he can’t make to purchase yhe damn gadget (iphone 4s) which in ths case is owned by a student he’s supposed to mentor to have a bright tomorrow. …wondering whose tomorrow. …the teacher’s or the kids tomorrow whch shez already there today.

Stand for something or fall for anything. And that’s part of the problem. We have too many people who don’t have any strong conviction about anything and strong conviction means having reasonable, factual and correct knowledge of an issue. What we instead have in our society is people who are simply empty shells to be filled by the opinions of their preacher, politician, neighbor, workmate, salonist that most make decisions even about their children based on what people might thing or think. Another part of the problem is our obsession with wealth. Everyone works long hours to afford things we do not need again because we want others to have some opinion about us. If everyone is on some kind of hustle to make more what time will we have for our the children. We as a society glorify money at the expense of everything else. And that’s a lot worse than glorifying Bhangi.

That’s an action point for the school owner/administrator. …was referring to the employed teacher

Wah…! Hiyo point ya tomorrow here today nimeipata in the midst of all that gibberish!

Ulikuwa unataka niandike??? excatly wats in ur 256MB skull? or darkness deactivates ur brain ??? nongwe

Last year,I was requested by a lady 2 coach her Grade Six pupil. She told me that if the kid akileta kichwa ngumu,I’m free to twanga. One day she failed to follow my instructions intentionally,na mimi na mambo ya kubembeleza,it’s a no no. Nikachapa mtoi. Budaake alikuwa around. Mtoi akaenda kulilia mbele ya mbuyu wake. He didn’t do anything n I was like WTF??? Seems this nigga z jus dangling his balls like some earrings???He ain’t got no balls to whack his daughter to get her lazy @$$ back to class. Later,the mama calls me,tells me that twas my last day coz the father said so…

Ikiwa ni mtoto wangu amekam home narudisha shule na bakora.

Pris pris…sio mimi nimetusiwa hapa rakini nimeskilia huyo jamaa uchungu babaa! Woi samehea yeye

The problem is not the kids. We have parents whose brains works like those of a kid. So kids meet in school. Kids from hard headed single mums, from loving couples, those whose dads have been kaliwad chapati…to those whose mothers are sochiorites…the result unaskia mtoto wako amepatikana in a gals school with ten packs of condom. You come and rant that hekaya here and ekasmweu lets you know that your son has represented Team Mafisi. We all laugh.

the teacher should give feedback to the owner and they agree on an SOP. in fact such should be factored in the existing sop. the fact that the teacher doesn’t even think of pushing the matter up means that there is a serious problem with the admin/ownership. that is why I recommend public high sch.teachers know their backs are covered so they dont give a fuck ati mtoto wa nani

at one am one night, when my boy was in form one, we heard a knock only to find him and three others in tow, muddy to the waist and drenched to the skin. they had run away from school 15 klicks away to escape what was called a monos’ graduation…following day i called the other parents and when we met i soon realised that i was on my own in insisting that my son should be punished for breaking school rules while the other three were for adopting a common front against the school admin. needless to say i decided to return my son to school on my own…and i feel that decision was decisive moment for my son’s growing up too…

shida gani?