TEAM Kenya: A disastrous Olympics

Eliminated in Volleyball, Rugby, boxing, swimming, judo and Archery.
10,000 metres: Worst finish in a very long time.
First Kenyan finished a poor seventh.
This team was poorly prepared.
No wonder the Javelin guy who was to be Captain resigned.

Its been really quiet kumbe tunashika goli huko?

Hata nilisahau about olympics,kumbe ziko? Any medal yet?

Corruption is our daily. That combined with some nepotism

Our only win ni ile ya womens rugby beating japan lakini hapo kwa 10000 metres the last time we won gold ni 1961 so i think bado .

For ze first time in history, Uganda is ahead of Kenya on the medal table.

But we have always been on the podium either getting a silver or bronze.

It’s coming home

We’re in a transition stage. We need more young blood.

We don’t invest in sports infrastructure and it shows whenever we compete on a global stage. To some extent long distance athletes can get away with it, they are prodigies and running really isn’t that complex, you just have to put in the miles. But it doesn’t work that way for team sports and other individual events that require a lot in terms of qualified specialists, equipment, advanced training programs etc.

In rugby for example we are competing against guys who play for a living and they started being groomed with all the things I have mentioned from their teens. Same with football, basketball, boxing etc. Of course the level of skill, experience, and just the quality of everything they do will be far superior to what our athletes can put out. Playing with heart can only take you so far.

We plant what we harvest the government does not invest in sports politics ndio priority so expect nothing nil motivation

Ata steeplechase itaenda Tu.

Kuna Olympics inaendelea kweli? Acheni uongo

What

We are punching way above our weight and expecting to reap where we do not sow.

Sports is not taken seriously at all, during the ‘pandemic’ all sporting activities were cancelled yet political events full of crowds were happening.

That said those events are not our forte. Congrats to our sportsmen for trying their best.

I mean whatever is going on in Tokyo has not attracted much attention; its as good as nothing is happening

Inachezwa time mbaya, by 3pm activities for the day are over. I had to pull in calculus to know the time for 10km race….but ilikuwa disappointing kama tangazo za corona.

Tumekuwa watu bladifuckin in all sectors

How did Kenyan athletes cope with lockdowns? I assume their competitors did not stay locked indoors without practicing

Well said