Tembea Kenya

Central Island Park in Lake Turkana. Discover the origin of man. Explore the crocodile, tilapia and flamingo lakes
[ATTACH=full]101556[/ATTACH]

Those monsters will tear you to shreds if you dare explore them.

wewe ni wale watu husomewa bible, can you finish the full sentence please

I have only highlighted the kingangi. The others are harmless.

Kuna lami inaenda hadi turkana!?

@spear you cant communicate that the marsabit moyale strech be improvised to include turkana ama ni ju ya nanok?

If you think like that then you are lost. Government is doing +100km road tarmacking there. Ama its when nanok isn’t there.

I am entiltled to ask for “turkana transformation” ama ni makosa???

Itakuja with the other 36 counties remaining.

are you guys for real?

never been there thats why i ask

ok, first, it is about 233km from the isiolo-moyale road to the nearest part of turkana.
two, you could say the turkana-marsabit border runs parallel to the said road…

kindly read a map bro.

Is there a tarmarked road to Lodwar…hilo ndilo swali langu tafadhali

yes. Kitale to Lokichogio is tarmacked. acha kua lazy rafiki yangu google ingekusaidia hata kujua mengi zaidi kuhusu hiyo corner ya Kenya.

had done so…but there is no clear answer…this here is the best you can get from google

From Nairobi to Kitale (which is the transit point to Lodwar ) is about 6 to 8 hours and the road conditions are not bad. From Kitale to Lodwar, most of the tarmac roads have either been swept awayby seasonal river or have deteroriated due to neglect. Don’t drive to Lodwar unless you have a landcruiser or something close to that. After Kapenguria (a small town) there are very few vilalges and if you car breaks down you will have to wait for days. You’d better use a bus or a flight.

There are no service stations or rest areas once you enter Turkana district at the south until you reach Lodwar. Not recommended to travel by night, and beware of bandits.

The road to Lokichokio is in excellent condition (which is interesting, since roads south are very poor). This road is in reasonable condition because of the number of NGO’s in Loki. Lokichokio was the base for the aid and relief effort for Sudan and Ethiopia. Near Loki is also a refugee camp. Do not travel to Loki unless you have a good reason or if you are part of a NGO.

Kapenguria to lodwar is being reconstructed under Jubilee Development…

great thanks!

Depends on where you starting the journey from. The upgrading of the road (Marich Pass to Lodwar) is at design/tendering stage and construction yet to commence. Once you pass Kapenguria (Makutano) you’ll have about 50km of paved Road up to Marich Pass. After Marich Pass, it’s total chaos. You then proceed to Kainuk bridge (boundary of Turkana and Pokot). It’s recommended you take police escort from Kainuk to Lokichar(Ngamia 1 neighborhood) . Avoid the KPR as they have been known to collude with bandits as the road is well covered by mobile phone signals. The road is atrocious all the way to Lodwar with sections impassable during rainy seasons. There’s a part of the road running along some game reserve around Kalemng’orok, this is a deadly spot where bandits love to launch attacks on convoys. @123tokambio seems to know the place. While on this road, make a habit of asking oncoming drivers road conditions ahead. Past Lokichar, road still in very bad condition but no risk of bandits. Lodwar is a hot town, pubs operate on the streets because of the heat.
When in Lodwar, best place to visit is Kalokol for fresh fish and if daring (or stupid like me) swim in the lake.
The road to Lokichogio is tarmaced after Kawalase drift(outskirts of Lodwar) .
I’ve been lucky to get to 15km just before Kibish. The area within the Ilemi triangle was neglected. No network, women walk bare chested (this requires a hekaya) while men’s tools are visible. Raids from Tobosa(Sudan) and Oromo(Ethiopia) are common.
Devolution has made a difference for Turkana but there’s still lots to be done. In 2014, the County purchased LandCruiser for each ward, wonder if they are still operational.
In my to do list, approach Lake Turkana from Laisamis to Loyangalani stretch.

Nice narration. I feel like i have travelled there already. Uko na picha?

na hii @holycow imetembea sana…