The American dream

Is this living the American dream or sheer exploitation!
This hekaya was inspired by a post, a few days ago, that left villagers revolving around a discussion on who, between Europe and America, has exploited us ‘more’. Europeans colonized us, beat the hell out of our grandfathers-and for some, great grandfathers-forced us into hard labor, and milked our resources dry. On one hand, no one can deny the fact that Europeans overly exploited us in the name of showing us the way of civilization!

On the other hand, America has, and still continue to exploit us to date. In fact, I feel like I am being exploited by America directly. I will start by a case in point in reference to my 3 uncles who went to America through the Green Card program. Going to live the American dream to us meant an assurance of steady but immediate improvement in social status of close family relations. That was 19 years ago. The fact that they left decent primary school teaching jobs to go and work in a car wash is sheer exploitation! These guys used to give me some cash when I was in high school after mid-term breaks and at the beginning of the terms. Now they send nothing home! Two of them have never come back to Kenya. They say that life is very tough in America. It was not always like this. 10 years ago the 3 of them had pulled together some cash and sent 1 million to their eldest brother to buy them a ka-buloti in Nakuru. I think the guy drunk the cash in one month. They swore to the gods that they will finish him the day they will come back!

Around the same time, my grandmother left a decent 2.5 hectares coffee plantation and joined my uncles in the US against their will. Rumors had it that older citizens get jobs faster and that she would be taken care of by the government. She was determined to make things right and was so sure of living the American dream, and not coming back soon, that she had thought of selling off the parcel of land. Everyone convinced her otherwise. She is now a US citizen and I hear she just sits the whole day long doing nothing. She should be managing her coffee plantation but now see what America has done to her. Sheer exploitation!

Another distant cousin of my father’s went to America 2 years ago. Until then, he was a decent mechanic along Kirinyaga road. Actually he was rather one of those who could smartly sell to you anything regarding outomotives including jet engines! He once sold me a side mirror, for unimaginably low price, after mine was broken and snatched away along Juja road. He was a great fellow and we became very good friends. This guy was also a pastor and had a number of his own churches in Kangundo, Zimmerman and Nairobi West. It’s those churches in makeshift structures in estates. When he said he was going to America we all shuddered with dismay. I personally knew that this was just another form of exploitation by America. But he assured us that all will be well. He had prayed extensively for his journey to the land of milk and honey. He was a blessed man who had success in his pouch and definitely won’t end up being like my other uncles. Akasema amejipanga! Some said that he had a plan to start a big church in America like that of T.D. Jakes. Fast forward and 2 weeks ago the guy jetted in, bought two 15-millions each ka-buloti along Eastern by-pass and disappeared back at night like Nicodemus. The wife kept mum about the whole thing (by the way the wife still runs the churches). He plans to put up a 5-storeys skyscraper there by the end of this year. Rumors has it that the guy is into drugs business. For once there is someone in the family who seems to be turning the game of exploitation against America. As in, that was too fast!

Unasema nini?

Hata kuishi kenya you are being exploited by the system, depends on what angle you see it. It’s tough everywhere. …

Wewe inakaa ulinyimwa VISA :D:D
They also owe you NOTHING !! Unataka upewe pesa bado ?? Why ?

Kenya is plate made in China and owned by Usa (as our minds are by ‘American dream’):cool:… Accept this sooner and move on. :D:D

We are supposed to get support from our relatives in the U.S. by default:D!

a lizard in Kenya cannot transform into an aligagator in Texas…

a few years ago, there is a guy I met in Mobatha. He went to USA in his teen years time ya Bill Clinton. He came back around 2009 with a masters degree to start business. Everything flopped after some slay queens kumuingiza mjini. He couldn’t get a job. He became a photographer pale Pirates Beach. He was over 40 years, no wife, no child and very broke.

Is the American dream a myth or is it true. Coz i know kuna so many villagers living huko but some are hard pressed to talk about it. I wish i was a mechanic like @Scott Gardener uncle when going majuu… ;):wink:

Oooh! My Uncle! Oooh! My Cousin! You can become successful anywhere! As long as you make SMART DECISIONS! Kama ulikua MBUMBUMBU Kenya, going to the US won’t change that! Success is hinged on your mindset! Don’t just blame America! Maybe you, and your cousins and uncles are just dumb! Kwani teaching a primary school with 25K salo si exploitation?

I can totally relate to this hekaya

Leta your story

Hiyo story iko na bugdha, nikiiguzia tu somebody will blow up my cover

Angusha hekaya bwana, bado ikiwa moto!

Some of us got so tired of these sterotypes mpaka we do not bother. Hebu Nyarwath angusha hekaya. Waiting at some point:D.

xAtoti.

Very much so. Kids are sent abroad to study and take to menial jobs to meet their needs. If they are not keen on studies they drop out and take to 2-3 menial jobs and thus begin the cycle of mimimum wage jobs.

From this, I can say America works for people who are ready to work/change their lives and are motivated by young school going kids.