The big VITZ

Wakuu, I think the vitz must be the most reliable car ever made by Toyo. Well, little carlie has never dissapointed me, just the normal servicing and the gal pretty fine, wish the exhaust was wet, will climb her! Then nowadays napate ikus left, right n centre! Aha leo nimetoka setbook shows, niko juu ka kite. Long live beb.

Your life is so miserable…we just slaughter you for dogs …to be this happy about a Toyota

Bingwa, am happy. Thats all meff!

Please don’t take this in bad taste, but have you calculated the cost of owning that vehicle? I am not trying to ruin your good life, but to provide a voice of reason so that you don’t fall into a common money trap in your profession.

You may wonder why I am saying this specifically to you, but it is a classic mistake I observe with teachers, nurses etc basically people who earn less than 100k net and are unlikely to have side hustles with good cashflow. They calculate the cost of ownership of a car but ignore the real costs of owning that car. The real costs of owning a car do not arise from the car itself, but from the convenience it provides. Almost all financial planners and advisers miss this important point.

As you admit, you get more pussy than you used to, eat more nyama choma, travel to expensive hotels more which people without rides can’t access etc etc. When calculating the initial costs, you may have done your math and seen that you can afford to drive that car. But I am sure you didn’t see those hidden costs of owning it.

If you have enough cashflows from side hustles, you can ignore this advice. However, if you rely solely on a teacher’s income this car will be a classic financial blunder. Check your math again after three months and then decide whether to keep it or not. I come in peace. My point is if you earn less than 100k net income, that car will screw your finances and you can count on that and there is a very high chance you don’t net 100k/month as a high school teacher.

brown skin ,sio wewe pekee unatakiwa ufurahie maisha

Mtu random we know your handwriting

Brown skin?? Dude. I am dark skin.

I hate bearing bad news but I have seen this mistake among low-earning professionals before. They sell the car within two years and fall behind financially. I don’t know whether he has supplementary income, but if he doesn’t I believe his path will not be any different. There is no harm telling someone to re-examine his decision until he has enough cashflow to own a car and make investments too. A secondary school teacher earns 70k net or less if he is lucky. If you had a brother earning 70k net or less, would you advise him to own a car?? He can own the car but save nothing i.e

no meaningful progress in life.[ATTACH=full]240582[/ATTACH]

Furahia for now… A friend Ubered a demio, and said enyewe vitz is shyte… He bought the vitz thinking ati he will get economy n comfort… Vitz is a basic car!.. Mwalimu… Kuja Nairobi, bebwa na vitz, demio na Honda Fit uber, then decide the most comfortable car for that size… N most spacious (fit wins) vitz 990cc ni meffi
… Uliza hata jakipash

Well, you have a point bruv, but am able to fuel the car and service it. Yet am able to save a few coins. Unless the car develops a serious mechanical problem which am not able to sort, I dont see why I should not keep my vehicle. Got a side hustle which caters for misc. inda house but meen, yo gotta live once!

As I said before, if you have meaningful side hustles, you can ignore the advice. You are good to go. In that case, enjoy your ride.

Good points

Huyu si muturandom. The language is totally different na light skin hawezi kuwa analytical hivyo on something that doesn’t concern singo mathas

Lakini mkuu hii 70k hata niko under, so nitakufa bila kuendesha gari? Kesi baadaye bana.

Mine is 1300cc…

Si umesema una side hustles lakini?? Kwa hivyo umedanganya :D:D I am future @Elgin speaking to current @Elgin. That vitz will cost you 30k+ per month in direct and indirect costs of ownership. The question is, can you handle an extra 30k in your expenses (before you had it)?? According to public information, a high school teacher makes 70k per month net or less. You don’t need to be an actuary to know that the car will fuck up your finances big-time because your cashflow is too low.

Aha no lie, actually its 4 months now and we doing fine, just that had to cut my drinking habits, yea thats fine financially and healthwise too. So far, I ha ve made significant progress since we bought the vehicle.

Okay. In that case jibambe. Sorry for the unnecessary input though. Grow your side hustles with the improved mobility. I had to loan my uncle money and help him sell his demio after we did the math. He is a high school English teacher with the government. He opened a bookshop as a side hustle and when his income increased to 120k+ I helped him buy a basic car again. He is doing okay now that he can drive and invest at the same time.

@Bhai huyu @Azor Ahai ni m2random?

Wow, never had someone to make re think owning a vehicle. I had to pick a pen a paper to review my budget tonight. Thank yo sir. Bless.

Kabla mnichinje let me tell you some simple facts msinichukie bure. The salary of a high school teacher is public knowledge. They don’t net anything above 70k. In an urban setting where you are a tenant and buy all the food you consume, if you buy a car with that level of income you will live from paycheck to paycheck with zero savings/investments. You MUST have a meaningful side hustle to make sense of owning that car. That is my observation from real life examples:

• My uncle had to sell his car and start a bookshop in order to afford having a car and saving/investing. Now he needs that car to monitor his business in between classes because he has to rush to town to check on things. Also uses the car to restock the business etc.
  • His friend (also a teacher) has had a subaru for a long time (probably influenced him). But he also has a good computer college as a side hustle.

You get the drift now, right? They have side hustles which double or triple their income. The cars are not pure luxuries because they use them to monitor those side hustles. Wewe bila side hustle na net salary ya below 70k ukienda kununua gari utajiumiza brathe.

Hii vitz yangu siuzi. Liwalo liwe!