The Clergy on National Dialogue

http://mobile.nation.co.ke/news/1950946-4163972-14l66nl/index.html

The Clergy has come out suggesting for a national dialogue that will result in constitutional amendments and create an enhanced position of official leader of opposition, prime minister and two deputies. Its no secret who are the intended beneficiaries of these positions. In any competitive venture, its the winner who takes it all, its a win - lose situation. The devolution addressed the need for all communities to share in the national cake. The only dialogue that should be held should be how to strengthen the already existing institutions, create more transparency and accountability and address historical injustices.

…wakati eve alipewa na nyoka

Kitambo sana but Jubilee already said that they will not amend the katiba to “give a few leaders jobs”.

So leave the church alone. They’re are thinking that the way forward is to go back.

Nonsense.
Which clergy is this? Of the “Order of The Sect of Canaan Dreamers”?

They can create positions for them in the church for accommodation I.e chief deacon, chief priest 1, deputy reverend etc. The best thing is that those positions don’t come with term limits so they can hold them for life. Lastly perhaps in Church they can find Jesus and forget uchawi.

hii debate ya Prime Minister tulimaliza in 2010. kwani hamkusoma katiba?

Canon Karanja is a joker.

Do these NCCK ferkers hold elective positions or do they select themselves?

He has been around for a very long time.

Karanja and his cronies are just busy bodies that forment crisis for selfish reasons kama Aukot. Why should the country go through the trouble of conducting expensive and time consuming elections if leadership positions are to be decided through dialogue?

Exactly, in a democracy dialogue is via the ballot not round table meetings.

I am RWNEBP but still believe that our do or die, winner take all presidential system does not bode well for our fledgeling democracy of 42+ tribes. A parliamentary system I believe will be more suitable for us as it makes it more likely that govt will be formed with the inclusion of a greater variety of ideas, parties and communities as opposed to how it is now. The smaller communities will have a better chance to be in govt. National elections will be less cutthroat as the parliamentary seat assumes greater importance.

If you are from outside the top 5 tribes, then this is the system you should advocate for

Even if we adopt a parliamentary system the PM would still come from Jubilee because they have the majority in parliament… so sielewi NRM watapata nini

For the current parliament, yes.
But in such a system, regional parties will over time become important and govt can be formed by any coalition that agrees to come together post elections. National dialog will be a matter of fact.The usual post election tension you can be sure will not exist as parties will immediately start talks to form govt after the polls. If we had such a system, there would have been nothin to annull on Sept 1st