The cry of a gambler

What started back in 2011 as a joke while in first year has now turned to a monster consuming all my finances. Started with sportpesa, won big, made big losses also to a point of school fees and 90% of helb loan going there. Fortunately enough my parents and brothers bitterly bailed me out and i was able to finish campus in 2017. By then i had left sportpesa and started using betin, from frying pan to hell, betin league being the new monster. Have played continouly , some sessions going over 72hrs. I have hit 5k bonus limit thrice in a cycle of winning and loosing. Been working now for 8 months, with a salary of 75k but after every payday, within two days am broke like sh*t. Sometimes i miss to pay rent, have sold all the electronics some at half the price i bought to settle debts. Am living a life of misery. Haven’t shared this with anyone except my gf who left me coz of this mess. I need help, please someone out there to reach me. I have lost roughly over 1M. Some will say am stupid, well am not. It’s this addiction i find it hard getting over it. I don’t know what to do

1.ACCEPT ACCEPT ACCEPT that whatever you have lost hata kama ni 1M will never come back…leave it.will be bitter but chasing it to recover will lead to another loss of 1M
2…Reduce stakes to minimum to slowly control addiction… Bet 50bob kila wakati
3.Usiweke pesa kwa mpesa…or bank to mpesa transactions
4.Change phone to hata mulika mwizi …that doesn’t have internet for at least one week…especially pay week.will be hard but jaribu

I understand your predicament, do you lose because of not winning or because you have no control? Because if you only have 10,000 you can fund your habits for almost one year

Wachana nayo

Are you serious mbloo?

Yes. But that is the rough estimate of total losses over the past 8 years, 3/4 of it coming over the past 2 years.

What keeps most people in gambling pits is illusion that they can recover money lost…every gambler wants to quit but only when they win big to recover…unfortunately that never happens.never and ever…the earlier you accept the better…

Quit

I wasn’t addicted but when i realised most of my friends were heading there…i started betting 50 bob or betting as a group …then i bet on jackpots once every week… now i barely bet…

First, I congratulate you for realizing and acknowledging that you are addicted to betting. That is a very important step in overcoming any challenge. I hope and pray that someone will reach out to you. In the meantime, there is a lot of information on the internet on how to give up gambling… use Google. When you go clean… be sure to lend a hand to someone who will be in the pit then. I wish you all the best.

Have tried by all means to stop it but it keeps resurfacing after every pay day.

You are an addict bro. Seek help from a professional

It’s a very bad pathological disease

I was looking for them, the likes of gamblers anonymous groups…then i stumbled upon this site. Thanks for your help. The support groups are not well established in kenya tho’

Thank you. I will try this

That’s the exact same position I am in. I made one big mistake in 2014 and bet 22k on a certain bet I was so sure about. Makosa! I lost it. That was to be the beginning of my tribulations to date. In a bid to recover the lost cash, I started trying easy bets like Casino on betin. You win but within an hour all the money is gone. Then I was earning 120k/month. Then tried betin league. All my money was being drained here. I regretted why I even came to know about betting. There was no way I was going to stop betting and allow the bookmakers go with all my money. Then came Virtual league still in betin. This is where I almost committed suicide. Betting kills you by not killing you.Its not like a disease, that you will get sick today and maybe die tomorrow. Betting will ensure you are a dead man walking. FFW, I received my Salo yesterday…roughly 90k, Lost 75k in Virtual league. I deactivated all my betting accounts but I find myself activating them again. Talk of the devil. Saa hii sijalipa rent, I have needs to take care of with the remaining around 10k.Mungu atusaidie sisi….I have tried all means to stop this mess but I literally cant. I don’t know what kind of addiction is this!!!

I have no control. I do win, sometimes big, but pretty sure i will lose the same winnings withing a couple of hours. Till to some point i get thrilled when i lose. Sounds crazy and bad but it’s real. When i start betting, i get kinda hypnotized…the only thing that stops me betting is when i have lost all the money. Sad

I gotta just one idea for you, try betting with 100. If you can consistently make over 100/- from it every day for a month, step 1 is over. If you cant, even with 100 k you can’t even make any profit or even a single shilling.

You gotta control this man by all means necessary. Even loosing a bet of 10 bob pains me like crazy man.

Two paths my fren. 1. Sit down with your family and close supporting friends. Cry like a baby and confess how you have seen the light. Beg for forgiveness and a new start in life. After they bail you out and give you a brand new start go back to the sure bets. Kojolea pesa yote yet again ngombe ino! 2. End your miserable spoilt b.iatch life and save alot of people a lot of misery.