The day I cheated death

It was 4 years ago. I had gone to visit a friend who stays in Githunguri, Utawala. Wenye wanajua Utawala ama wanaishi huko wanajua iyo place vizuri. He was called Christian inshort Chris. He was called Christian but the things he did were devoid of Christianity. The area where Chris and family used to stay was slop like i.e kama ushaipitia Kangundo road kuna ile slope (ka mlima kadogo) inakuanga hapo kati kati ya Njiru na Chokaa. So hao wasee walikuwa wanastay on top ya hio slope.

So nikaenda huko tukachapiana nikarushiwa hadi form ya hio wikendi ilikuanga na huko Westy. Juu mzae wake si wale wazae watiaji nilichill huko hadi kitu 8 ivi. Kufika hiyo masaa nikaona niondokee nisonge na ivo mtaani. So I decided to use the Ruai route kuenda home (kuna boyz anaitwa AJ walikuanga na biz huko kitambo na alikuanga akiendanga na gari hadi huko) other than take a mat to tajmall (tajmall wasnt yet demoloshed back then) then connect na ingine hadi home.

So as I was going down the slope (wanted to go hadi block 10 nipande mat hadi Ruai nipatane na AJ) I found a lorry that was I think stuck there coz I dont think someone can park a lorry on top of a slope in the middle of the road. It was empty and had no occupants. There were no street lights back then (nowadays there are) and I was able to see the lorry when another vehicle passed through the road and shone its lights. So I decided to put on music on my phone and listen to it using earphones. Since there were not many cars passing by I decided to walk in the middle of the road ndo viatu ziache kukula vumbi.

So nikiwa natembea AJ called me. I took the call and received it through the earphones. One of the earphones slipped out of my left ear accidentally and that’s when I saved myself. When the earphone came out I heard a rumbling noise behind me because I was downhill already. Thats when I saw that it was the lorry that had been parked uphill in the middle of the road. Within seconds I had dived into a nearby ditch beside the road and could literally feel the air of the rolling lorry pass by me very strongly. If I hadnt jumped in the few seconds I had probably I would have been a deadman by now. I could feel my heartbeat very strong. I had just escaped death in a split second. In split seconds people die but I saved my life. The darkness also made it more dangerous since you wouldnt see anything and you would have been crushed to death. It was a coincidence that no one was injured or killed and no vehicle collided with the lorry. I have never been afraid like that day. I think my time with the grim reaper hadnt yet come.

Enyewe hii yote ni vanity!!!

Lesson learnt, guys stop walking with headphones on.

Una bahati mujamaa AJ alikusadia. Ulitoboa kuoshewa mucakwe that night

What happened to the lorry?

Even when driving, avoid earphones… Or just insert them in one ear…

I dont know. Labda ilifika mlima ikashindwa kupanda. What I know is that the stones couldn’t hold it any longer and it started rollimg downhill.

It died,obviously

For a moment, I thought the lorry had occupants hidden who ambushed you… what a close shave!

io place naijua. Lorry ilishindwa kupanda mlima wakaweka mawe

manze ni kama mawe ilitoka lorry ikaanza kurudi nyuma…noma sana…

place ingine mi hutense ni iyo slope iko kati kati ya Njiru na Chokaa…kwanza kama naendesha ndae sipendangi lorry ikiwa mbele yangu!!

Story telling needs a few more spice but hekaya poa. Sasa hakuna kitu mbaya kama kugongwa na Lorry ile Tx the short Tipa with old plates. Huwa ikigonga ata canter inararuka kama makaratasi

Hio place from chokaa to njiru after the bridge kuna gorofa unoccupied for many years …

juu ya?

Kama unaendesha? Okay

Unataka kuenda kunyakua

for once mujamaa umeprove sio uchinga tu umejaa kwa akili…pewa like hapo hayawani

This is not your usual writing mjamaa, I sense something.

Hehe

I can vividly read your fear as you write this

which is??