The day I was almost shot (for doing my jobbo)

I used to sell internet services. By then there was no WiFi, no mbundles and no mbuguas faimba.
What we used to sell was something called dial up service and dedicated leased lines.
This is where one had to use an existing telephone line or a leased telephone line (all analogue) to connect the internet.
When signing up to the ISP, the client had to sign a lengthy contract. You know the devil is in the details. The ISP had cleverly exonerated itself from any additional cost incurred as a result of customers’ browsing.
This cost was the ‘call cost’ especially for the dial up services. When connected to the net, you were billed by Telkom as if you were making a call…
Since Kenyans do not read the fine print, they would hastily sign the contract, we would connect them and leave them browsing away at agonisingly slow speeds (by today’s standards) of 56kbps.
One morning when were having our Monday morning meetings, we heard gunshots outside. Tukachomoka mbio kuangalia what was up. Two more gunshots rent the air.
We scattered in different directions. I went through a @Panyaste route and scattered into the gathering curious crowd.
By then the shooter, a mzungu from karen was outside our offices yelling:
Where the ferk is he? Where is mtuwa turedio? Where is this son of a bitch? I wanna shoot someone today!! He yelled.
When he was calmed down, he explained to my boss that I had signed him up with a dial up service, he had paid a quarterly figure of 10k, but he got a bill of ksh 100,000 from Telkom!
Kumbe the dude left his connection on for almost three months? He never bothered to disconnect the modem after browsing.
Well I had to take leave for a month to avoid the burger.

HaHaHaa LOL:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:DThat must have been in 1970 right?

Kuishi kuingi kuona mengi, hehehe
You have conviniently forgotten to say nyee zilihama hadi kwa throat

Tumetoka mbali kweli.
I remember early 2,000’s Telkom was promoting a service called Voip, where you could make internet calls for free.

Waah, enyewe mlitoka mbali

Hehe… Voice over internet protocol… Sounded like French to me. Still does

Then they brought what they marketed as Telkom Wireless.

He he he…bahati yako kama mtende sasa mungekuwa kendemosi wawili…
Je, wajua kwamba watende ni wakuria ila si wakuria wote ni watende?

Ha ha

Noooo in 1970 getting landline was a great privilege… …pole lakini

Early 2000 when hindernet was making its grand entry…

Are you from a sabbatical leave ama ni kucheza chini dagitare?

Niko tu kaka. Muda ndiyo umekuwa kidogo

karibu basi. At some point I thought you had quit the village or changed your handle

:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:
Usikikumbusje mimi masaibu ya astronomical bills. Kuna mtu karibu apoteze grand jewels, Hekaya for another day

hiyo internet ya 1970 mlikuwa mnatumia na wachawi wenzako Kisii?

wewe si dem tukulambe matiti ndipo utuletee hekaya

:D:D:D:D:D Mtu wa Turedio. Dial Up… Waaah, umetupeleka mbali kaka. Even the interface was shitty.

[ATTACH=full]188343[/ATTACH]