The day stolen Múratina made us sing in the morning

13. Others mocking said, These men are full of new wine.

14. But Peter, standing up with the eleven, lifted up his voice, and said unto them, Ye men of Judea, and all ye that dwell at Jerusalem, be this known unto you, and hearken to my words:

15. For these are not drunken, as ye suppose, seeing it is but the third hour of the day.

16. But this is that which was spoken by the prophet Joel; (Acts 2: 13-16, KJV)

In the early years of this 21st Century, I, and a few other chimps were involved in an incident similar to the one above.

Let me explain.

I had just come home for the holidays, and boy had I missed some village mischief! Around then, there were not very many public service vehicles in my area. My neighbour was lucky to own one of these few matatus.

However, my neighbour was not well educated on property rights, so when he went to sleep, he would leave his 14-seater outside. No blanket, no tent- nothing! As a result, the matatu was always grumpy in the morning, always complaining of a cold and/or a cough. The employed driver would then spend around 30 minutes taking the vehicle for a walk downhill, sweet-talking it to go to work.

You see, from our neighbour’s to our place, the road is like this….aaah, sorry, I recently appeared on TV now I can’t shake off this habit of explaining things using body signs. Anyway, the road is a downhill slope from my neighbour’s to our place and past. At the very end of the slope lives an old man, Mgema.

Back then, I, and many of my village peers, had not seen that many vehicles, so we always came out to see our neighbour soothing and threatening his matatu every morning.

On this particular morning, as our matatu appeared uphill, Mgema, an elderly villager (Not to be confused with village elder) appeared downhill, carrying a ‘Daso’ backpack whose source investigations have not unearthed to date. Mgema announced that he was going to town, and took his seat at the back of the matatu as the coaxing went on.

As luck would have it, the matatu was taking none of the sweet-talk that day, and eventually the owner announced that the battery would need a thirty-minute recharge at the nearby market.

Would Mgema mind waiting? No, actually, that would give him a chance to go back home and collect his ID which he had forgotten in the huff to leave. Old people place this queer importance on carrying IDs around, yes? Would we, the lads, mind keeping watch over the matatu for the 30? No, of course not, it would be a pleasure.

And just like that, we, the village boys, had a Toyota Hiace 14-seater to ourselves! As everyone scampered to the front to look at the speedometer etc, I was quick to get to the back seat. I could hear them telling each other, this is the gearbox, this one here shows how many people the vehicle has carried since it was bought (mileage) this one here is the calculator (carburettor) e.t.c.

But me? I was more interested in finding out what was contained in Mgema’s back pack. From outside, I could feel it was carrying a plastic container, so I carried on with curious excitement. After a few moments of negotiating with the zipper which was begging for a sabbatical, it gave in and lo!

“DR. LIVINGSTONE I PRESUME!!?” Do you know who said those words? Find out.

Anyway, that was my feeling when I saw what sat before me. 20 litres of Múratina brew from the famed brewer, Mgema. Within moments, we were onto Mgema’s package like calves released from their pens onto their mothers’ udders.

Only when we realised that we had consumed at least three quarters of the rich brew did we take a pause, a wave of panic washing over us like an onshore wind. But then, just as soon, the ever idealistic Mkenya hatched a plan- water.

In less than a minute, the deal was complete with water from one of the nearby lads’ house and Mgema’s back-pack was safely zipped up. And, moments later, Mgema and the battery wielding driver arrived from opposite directions. The driver fitted his battery, Mgema checked his package and they were soon on their way.

The vehicle was not gone for ten minutes before Tugi, one of the lads involved in the imbibing, broke into song. For some reason, I felt like the song was really nice and I joined in. Soon everyone was at it, and we walked the entire village singing and dancing. I do not really remember the song, but haters say we were hysterical in praise.

https://mboyablogger.files.wordpress.com/2016/05/harry-cartoon.jpg

We ended up under a mango tree at kina Eli’s, where we slept for the better part of the morning.

Rumor spread quickly that we were tipsy, but it made little sense since it was 7.30 in the morning, and, also, clown behavior was not something alien to us. For that reason alone, the story did not get to my old man. Otherwise I don’t know who would be narrating this right now.

Later that evening, Mgema was heard complaining how the devil is a liar; he had brewed his best brew for his town friend but had ended up confused and carried a jerrycan of water instead. I do not understand how no adult got to join the dots.

The real truth as to what happened has remained a closely guarded secret until, well, now!

Was it your first drink?

@AllOfYall = Jimmy-m
Hehehe nice one

Not exactly, but definitely I was still in probation

Today’s robot ain’t that bad.

Hehehehe.
Kuna mtoi ocha alitumwa kuuza maziwa. Kabla atoke akiiba cham ya Madhake. Alipatikana chini ya mti saa tano usingizi imemlemea na bado maziwa hajafikisha.

Wacha matusi ,jimmy can’t relate to muratina.

Niaje hessy,mbona we huanikangi mbogi za Kijiji…

Fixt

Nakuona Afande.

Test it & Fix It!

:):D:D:D

The name Chang’aawas adopted in 1950s when one Oyuga Muganda was already an AP in Kisumu. He once narrated the story in the presence of Tom OMUGA how Pelele aka Worajgot its name as Chang’aa. Women from Kano area of Kisumu used to ferry fresh milk in pots to go and seĺl to Kisumu residents . Colonial Government had banned the sale of Local liquor (Pelele)and so the women carrying milk also carried pelele disguised as milk. One day a white policeman who had been tipped of the underground trafficking of “Pelele” stopped women milk sellers on the road to inspect their pots of “milk”. One of the pots had pelele and not milk. The policeman ordered all the pots lined on the roadside and the policeman asked " Maziwa ya nani ? Interpreter repeated in dholuo Ma Chag ng’a? To mean whose milk is this? So Mzungu charged the women with transporting and selling Chang’aa That is how the name CHANG’AA came about.

I see what you did there @Deorro
Hio post ilikua kwa tbt

Nice hekaya this is.

so vivid,i can see mgema seated at the back of the hiace,but 20ltrs in a backpack?!

20 small liters maybe? Could have been ten, no one was counting

We ulianza ndom ukiwa mtotot sana

Sijawai kuwa hiyo umesema

Kama huyu hekayalist sio mboya niambieni?