The Future of pigsty houses

If the housing agenda under the big four is actualized. What impact will this be to pigsty landlords.
Is it wish to construct a pigsty at this time ?

GAA the idea is not to provide everyone with a house but to provide houses in sufficient numbers as to correct the market such that prices come down.

I think you should add good affordable housing. Coz Greek landlords are the ones who have oversupplied substandard overpriced stuff

yes yes yes…i had meant to insert the word quality somewhere…sijui vile imesahaulika.

Wewe jenga tu, hizo zingine tutaona mbele. As long as nyimba iko na good finishing na iko sawa, maji si shida huwezi kosa tenant

Nangoja wajenge hizi nyumba, alafu zile bungalow tunaambiwa ni za 17million zishuke hadi 1.5million ndio ninunue moja. Saa hii hakuna haraka ya kukimbilia kupata buroti na kujenga. Let the bubble burst first.

hazitashuka. utaambiwa io pesa yako kidogo fanya ivi, enda uko slum kwa affordable housing ukapewe nyumba uko.

I listened to the PS Lands, saying that G.o.K has 536,000 hectares of land in Nsirobi with only 42,000 units .
If all that is utilized economically, then The Northland city comes up, to accommodate mostly the middle class. Then Pigsty owner will either have to lower their rent, renovate them or altogether demolish then.

Then the whole idea is defeatist because people will just give birth like rats and negate any envisaged gains. The number of houses will increase, but the proportions are always the same because the people will also multiply in tandem. There are more billionaires today than there ever has been, but their proportion to that of poor people has remained the same for centuries. A tale of fat cats and starving dogs, happy foxes and sad sacks, that occurs naturally in economics. Some scholars call it the pareto principle or 80/20 rule.

Have housing schemes/urban upgrades worked anywhere in the world or people always bred to negate any gains? No, don’t answer. It was just meant to be food for thought.

Have housing schemes failed anywhere in the world or all efforts yielded fruits? No, don’t answer.
The main cause of failure for housing schemes is bureaucracy, red tape and a bribing culture. Source: https://www.google.com/amp/s/tribune.com.pk/story/636406/bureaucracy-blamed-for-failure-of-low-cost-housing-projects/?amp=1
How do you think Kenya ranks on those metrics especially bribing culture?? Again, don’t answer. Just food for thought.

Diakagwo ta ya wakine

The government should use a capitalistic approach to make housing affordable: cut mortgage rates to levels of developed nations. Building “affordable” houses is a socialistic solution in a capitalistic country. It can’t work. Even in developed nations, it isn’t housing schemes that made housing affordable. It was the low mortgage rates that made houses affordable.

how, in your opinion, would the government do this. remember in the wider lending market we already have issues with lending rate caps…

An economics PhD has those answers. However, an obvious option is to stop borrowing locally. If local banks can’t loan to the government, they will have to all compete for Wanjikus money. This means less interest rates for Wanjiku.
Check this quote: “Analysts warn that the government ought to be cautious on domestic borrowing because it would push interest rates up and it would thus become difficult for firms to access credit.” From this source: https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.nation.co.ke/news/Kenya-Borrowing-Debt-Eurobond-Treasury/1056-2784270-view-asAMP-bgv4f0z/index.html

we are in a quandary, aren’t we? We need supporting infrastructure for our economic takeoff yet we are not in a position to finance it what do we do now?

Sustainable growth through responsible borrowing. You can’t solve all problems at once. Also, I believe part of the reason why Kenyans are experiencing high interest rates is because government officials overborrowed to finance infrastructure projects and pocketed the extra money. I believe that most of Kenya’s infrastructure projects are overpriced and Kenyans are left to pay back money and interest that wasn’t used on the projects but pocketed by officials.

I think there is still a lot of potential in the counties, you don’t need to focus only on Nairobi. The demand for high quality housing in such places will continue to rise.

Boss you better take ur pig sty money sepnd it on whores or keep it under a mattress , their is nothing as hard as being a slum lord ! hao watu ni sumbuwa , there is no way ur going to recoup ur investment !

But remember most people in the counties lives in their own homes

Kuna county professionals na pia departments and people settling from one county to the next. Halafu there are significant numbers of people hawana a rural home or they are avoiding conflicts with relatives