The gentrification of Githurai 44

I grew up in Zimmerman in the 90s. Anyone who is familiar with this area, from Roysambu to Kahawa West knows how bushy this place was. I got a chance to go back and was shocked at how much the place has changed. Githurai 44 to 45 was a huge swamp and had single-storied houses, now the place has flats all over. But as usual the problem with Kenya, zoning/urban planning is a myth so the huge buildings/apartments are surrounded by sewage due to poor/nonexistent drainage. [ATTACH=full]378828[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]378829[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]378830[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]378828[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]378828[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]378828[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]378829[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]378830[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]378831[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]378832[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]378833[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]378839[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]378839[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]378833[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]378830[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]378829[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]378828[/ATTACH]

This huge apartment is just next to sewage[ATTACH=full]378840[/ATTACH]

Looks like a shitty place @Brayo44ki kweli wewe hupitia magumu kuruka sewage ukisnatch masimu za usiu cool kids

Bona hujaonana na mimi and am the Nyumba kumi director ?

Gentrification means turning a bad/ poor/ insecure neighborhood into a better wealthier secure one. This is not it. This is urbanization

Eh dame changes happened elsewhere…ata upperhill…game ya real estate imebadilisha bush zote…I grew up in k west and know 44 vizuri…it was way worse every 5 steps unaruka raw sewage…Good things are happening

You beat me to it. I was about to say that

that is a nice building, would not mind staying there

You are very right.

Yeah, this is what I meant when I was using the word gentrification, that somehow Githurai is getting better in terms of security and getting rid of slummy, mabati structures but the draining/sewage systems and planning are still poor so that negates gentrification. I remember in the 2000s, Githurai was just bad esp Githu 45 but things are getting better now security-wise. Some of these new apartments have parking bays, I was shocked.

Rent ya 1 bedroom hapa ni 14k. For comparison, 1 bedrooms in Githu go for 10k na for those without water, kitu 8k-9k. Bedsitters go for 2k-5k.

that is a great deal, and it looks very spacious

Wacha ujanja ya kufanya background research, hamia hio mtaa uchape biz ndio uache kula kwa pipa kama simba na tom.

I grew up in Umoja (Mowlem) area and now It’s huge ugly apartments kila pahali. Huruma is even worse. Areas like Buruburu, and City carton were once bushland. Many areas of Nairobi are experiencing urbanisation at stunning rate ata mi nimeshangaa.

Kikuyu architecture at its best.

This is in deed ghettoization

Good to see that the govt is improving roads in those areas. Kweli uhuru anafanya kazi buana. The landlords should now bring down those old buildings and put up modern ones and earn more cash.

https://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?attachments/img_20210803_133425-jpg.378839/

Hauwezi pata lanye akiuza huko ndani kamulu

Njaruo… kikuyu ako kichwa yako 24/7 rent free. Anyway nephew yako alikufa na ukimwi ama bado ako.

Weka ya Kibera Mr Foreskin