THE GREAT RUN 11 IS HERE

Greetings, Great Runners
A nickel’s worth of years and a dime’s worth of events we have had ever since we puffed into existence, so here we are now: one short of a magical dozen. Eleven is the new number.
Welcome to The Great Run XI
First off, may we just express our unreserved gratitude for your contribution over the years. We really are thankful and - because of you, just for you and only with you - we will forge forward into the future doing what we’ve always done: making the world a better place and having fun while at it.
So let’s forge forward, shall we?
The eleventh instalment of the Great Run series is a whopper. This time we open up a hitherto unexplored corner of the country: the well-known Lakeside. Lads and Gentlewomen; WE ARE GOING TO LAKE VICTORIA. We are headed to Kisumu! Kisumo Dala! Gach Pacho! Adwaro mbuta maduong na kuon matin!
An owad gi ng’a?
An owad gi Great Run!
Mano ber kabisa!
This is the itinerary we shall have:
DAY 1 (425km):
Nairobi - Nakuru - Timboroa - Burnt Forest - Kapsabet - Nandi Hills - Chemelil - Awasi - Ahero - Kisumu - Korando
The Children’s Home is the Korando Education Center, on the outskirts of Kisumu City on your way to Maseno, about 10km past the Kisumu International Airport. Once we are done with proceedings at the home, Great Runners will be free to explore the area to their hearts’ content. There is accommodation aplenty in and around Kisumu, but the two strongest recommendations we have are the Vic Hotel behind Nakumatt Supermarket and the Imperial in Kisumu town itself. If anyone has suggestions, feel free to put them up on the event page.
DAY 2 (390km):
Kisumu - Ahero - Sondu - Kendu Bay - Oyugis - Kisii - Keroka - Sotik - Litein - Mogogosiek - Bomet - Longisa - Narok - Suswa - Mai Mahiu - Kijabe - Limuru and back to Nairobi
where we will end the eleventh Great Run.
Registration for the event is done on our website, by clicking here
https://www.thegreatrun.org/
and then filling in the registration form and paying KES 5000 via M-Pesa to SHELINA MOHAMED on 0725786396.
Mano ber! This is what is. As usual, keep checking our Facebook page (and the event page as well) for a steady stream of updates in the run up to the event.
Thank you all, and let’s get things rolling. ALEA JACTA EST!

it would be cool if talkers could organize themselves and we move in the same group for this event…

Did you attend the Sunday drive?

Beware Ksm-Ahero iko na 50kph zones kadhaa with equally greedy cops.

Ahero-Sondu-Oyugis sounds convoluted…shld be Ahero-Katito-Kendu-Olare-Oyugis…onwards.

nope i was out of town last weekend, but last month i joined the fellas at ole tepes

the great run is not a competitive event, there’s no racing, its more of a parade whereby there’s a lead car and tail car, the lead car is not to be overtaken at all times

Si there is usually a gap of like five hours between the lead and the tail???

Ooh, well noted. However remain vigilant of cops on Ksm-Ahero route. Those guys hide juu ya miti hata ndani ya rice paddies just to catch anyone moving at 50+1kph.
Enjoy the Run.
Cheers.

nope, the gap is between the Cars participating, the tail car being the ambulance… last event the cars were nearly 90

yap the silly cops didn’t wanna hear out our pleas of charity last round, ntsa are just fraudsters

nice one