The irony of Dowry payment in a Feminist Age.

Apparently, Meghan Markle; the latest addition to the dysfunctional family that is the British royal family is a self confessed Feminist.

What is a Feminist?
She is a divorcee and chances are we might see a black baby waving back at us from the upper balcony of Buckingham palace! (I’m sure there are plenty of Brits who are hoping their babies don’t come out in the wrong shade of black!.. kikikikkkk…)

In Kikuyu culture, there is a saying or rather a description for impregnating a woman before marrying her.
" Kuuna mburi kuguru"
Loosely translated, it means Breaking the Goat’s leg.

It means damaging and devaluing goods for sale.
It means that an interested buyer will not fork out the asking/going price of the said commodity and in all honesty, the buyer has an upper hand in negotiations because he is paying for inferior quality goods.

So how does a modern, Educated Kenyan woman in 2017 reconcile being a Feminist and then going through with being “bought” in the name of Dowry?

Never mind the double standards, but is any woman today worth paying dowry for?
I can only speak from a Kikuyu cultural point of view.

In my grandfather’s time, the potential bride had to be a virgin and of good reputation for her to even be considered marriage material.
Today, the average 21 year old woman strutting their behinds on the streets of Nairobi has slept with more men than they count on all their fingers and toes!
They demand respect and claim to be independent and empowered.
They might even have a sprog or two!

But they still want you to “pay” for them in marriage.
Isn’t it what Dowry is ?.. Payment?

In Kikuyu marriage is traditionally described as " kugurana" … - Purchasing.

@MaryJane , @Purple etc… how do you justify allowing your parents to accept any payment or reward in exchange for you as an independent human being/woman in 2017?
And is it not ridiculous that any woman today would even consider themselves Empowered if her parents accepted any form of dowry for her hand in marriage?

There is no such thing as Feminism.

There is just a whole new generation of selfish women who want to have their cake and eat it too.
And they won’t let culture, religion or morality get in their way.

Personally, I don’t know any woman that is worth paying dowry for.
In an age of equality there is no place for dowry.
Women are traditionally and religiously supposed to be Helpers of the man.

And that is why I choose to invest in a Mboch rather than a wife.

#resistdowrypayment
#savetheboychild

@Nefertities, COME HERE

True. Kama mtu sio vajo na hajui kupika watangoja dowry wachoke. Impregnate as many as you can, but dowry wachia beta males wenye wataoa hao baby mamas walipe.

Mna shida na wanawake kweli

lol cry me a river.
so women have slept with men, you’re angry coz they didn’t sleep with you?
if they did you wouldn’t whine coz all men want is sex. ebu chunguza kitu those “more men than they count on all their fingers and toes!” are doing

nikilala nawe Mimi ni Malaya
nisipolala ati nakula pesa yako
nikioleka nikuwe stay at home Mimi ni burden na ati nalala na watchman
nikifanya kazi ati nalala na clients, supervisor, etc.
nyinyi wanaume mnataka nini?

Kuma. 24/7…365 days

Most of the times it is the parents who insist on these things. This younger generation doesn’t care about dowry lakini jaribu kuambia mzazi ati hutaki dowry especially if they are peasants weh! that wedding might not even happen. Parents blessings are muhimu to some extent. But the culture is slowly changing and it could be obsolete in the future coz millennials are either broke or jobless

Si huyu rafiki yako amemakasirika juu tunapeana. Ama anataka apewe yeye pekee yake

Kila mtu hutaka apewe yeye pekee…hata mimi:eek::smiley:

patia Mimi please

Kama utakaa na Mimi pekee yake pia basi hakuna shida

what do you bring to the table?

Kama tuko wengi sema nivae CD ya leather priss…sitaki kisonono

Can I live without a man? Yes.
Can I get married despite being a feminist? Yes.
Why should a man pay dowry for a feminist?
I don’t k ow about others but if I am to slave away for a man 24/7, carry a baby and have it stretch my vagina to unimaginable size to make him a father, come home breastfeed and what not till he/she grows and continue picking after a man - washing, cooking and cleaning after him. Then he’ll yeah he is paying dowry. Na sio ngombe ya kawaida. Ni ng’ombe ndume hakure! Na sio moja.

@Nefertities is not a Feminist, she is a confused element.

No you can’t get married. You will get fucked, not married. There is a big difference. Same case na most single mothers…they have no problem getting boyfriends…getting a husband is a whole different story. You can only be a revolving door for men.

I have no problems paying dowry for a woman with your level of commitment.
But I have been played before so I will Defer payment until you prove your worth… ,- stretched pussy not withstanding!.. kikikikkkk…

We cannot walk away from our culture.

:D:DWhat is your story? Ulikamuliwa bibi?