The Kenyan corn market

Kenya has one of the most chaotic maize market. Now, Maize is trading at 3400 for a 90KG bag. At times farmer hold back their maize to cash in big during high times. However, the greatest problem is overreliance on one buyer that is state owned NCPB. This buyer is also highly manipulated by cartels in both the maize and fertilizer supply. Looking at the global market, corn trades at 165-180 USD per metric ton. This translates to roughly 1620Kshs per 90KG bag. In South Africa, corn is one of the most highly trade commodities at the stock market, JSE. This makes corn competitive and easier to sell. To better our maize supply we need to restructure the market to suit modern times and eliminate cartels.

Why can the maize growers not turn into millers via group cooperative. This would stabilise the market. Add value to the crop and reduce cost to the buyer.

Can’t happen deep state can’t agree to such a scenario.

Cartel s and deep state must manipulate prices,wamefinya mpaka gathecha makende,he can’t do shit

The problem is the government, why buy maize from farmers at a price almost double the global prices? Thus creating a cycle that is repeated year after year. If a farmer is not making money farming maize let them try other crops.

There is nothing which stops a small group of farmers creating a self help group, set aside an acre, installing a posho mill machinery, deliver there crop to there own mill, then incorporate other farmers. For many years Kenya was built on Harambee concept.
Next time you will see brand, Harambee you heard it here first.

Yes you can start a small posho mill and grind a few hundred bags but ukifika a certain level of success " utakutwa na deep state" na watakwambia you sell the business to them ama you go meet " Baba"

The problem with being a miller outside the cartel control, when the local supply is over you will suffer. Grain business is highly controlled by a few wazungu families in kenya. Every two days there is a ship docking in mombasa carrying grains, either wheat or sorghum and maize. The business is controlled by white people, with influence in all the major ports handling grains.

As long as everything is done [COLOR=rgb(243, 121, 52)]above board, any “deep anything” will remain [COLOR=rgb(41, 105, 176)]below board watching the success; that which is planted in good soil, by abundant water is difficult to uproot.
The business will rise and soar. Breaking the chain of negative control of the food chain.

I admire your positivity but let me bring you back to the real world,look at what eabl we’re doing to keroche , kuguru anasumbuliwa na big Miller’s and am sure you know how gathecha deals with competition.

Last week was 3k…nilicheki lots of guys wakileta from Uganda…

Bunge East Africa Limited (Operates in 40 countries)
Capwell Industries (kila kitu supermarket, pearl brand)
Shah Kanji Lalji and Sons (K) Ltd
Louis Dreyfus Commodities (K) Ltd (Global, and they operate inside the Port)
Seaboard Overseas Trading Company (Big Boys)
Capital Reef Kenya ltd
PISU & Company Ltd

Those are some of the companies which own the mombasa port. And they control all grain business in east and central Africa)

The big league is handled by guys at the levels of Mexican cartels. You’d rather even deal with sugar than maize at times.

Keter proposed this but I’m sure it was just lips service.

Hio Bunge ltd inauzaa Unga hadi kwa Trump

those are the lords of the land. they are faceless lakini mikono yao ni mirefu sana.

Chances are, If originating from politicians it is too compromised, already shaky before its foundations are started.

No, politician or clergy. Just ordinary people with a tonne of good will.

Sad but true.

This is more of what we should encourage in most of our sectors…reduce exploitation

Some of the names here are also major coffee brokers, no wonder they do not want to see Kenya industrialize.