The Land crisis, colonialism and Kenyan wealth

8 If you see in a province the oppression of the poor and the violation of justice and righteousness, do not be amazed at the matter, for the high official is watched by a higher, and there are yet higher ones over them.9 But this is gain for a land in every way: a king committed to cultivated fields. Ecclesiastes 5

Here is a list of top UK land owner’s The first five are British parastatals while number six is the most interesting i.e the royal family. This dynasty also controls half of the UK’s shoreline.
Way before the second world war when the Jewish bankers established mega financial empires, land was greatest measure of wealth in Europe. An observer named Pareto noted that Italy’s land was owned mostly by 20% of the population while 80% worked for the 20%. The situation was worse in England where landowners known as landlords took most profit from the farmers working on their fields. It is no surprise that average Englishmen who relocated to the Kenyan protectorate as settlers were quick to demarcate large plantations to themselves. But, a time came for the settlers to leave and African national expected to return to their clan based land ownership. However, the new African leadership which had been groomed by the British continued deploying the European based land tenure systems. As you noticed just like the England case, local dynasties are also the biggest land owners today. During the settlement transfer scheme these officials loaned themselves money to buy the land from departing settlers, money which was meant for poor Kenyans. So, land ownership is the way to be considered wealth to this date. Back then, herds of cattle was the measure of wealth in Africa society.
I brought this issue forward because there is worrying trend of uncontrolled subdivision of land. People are losing their earnings all over the country due to this rush rush to own land. The Westerners moved on as they relocated to urban areas. The Jewish bankers have also done a great favor by giving them mortgages and car loans. So, to resolve the land issue Kenya needs an advance financial systems to provide mortgages too.

I see …

the land issue in kenya is very complex, one day i will write about it

To resolve the land issue, we should start with the tjrc and ndungu land reports.

Those reports including Akiwumi are sitting in some dusty govt vault.

I look forward to your analysis.

this land business makes the likes of Gakuyo and his followers believe they can double their investments.

Very incisive. We have a political elite that is not original or homegrown but a copy of the colonial elite. A comprador elite that makes its wealth from the state either directly or indirectly.

The problem is that the colonial elite invested billions and spent a lot of time and expertise to make land very productive as a source of wealth. Most colonial lords were fulltime farmers and part-time politicians. Our elite are fulltime politicians and part-time farmers. They lack the capital and expertise to make land as productive as it should be.

We therefore have created a fake criminal elite that cannot reform itself.

And the trend is passed on to their children and grandchildren.

Why do you think America is so rich. Peasants from Europe where land was owned by nobles could do the same in the US with sheer hardwork, they could even own their own slaves and work them without paying them.

Yes, the Dutch pilgrims moved to America as peasants. They were running from oppressive kings yet they went on to oppress Native Americans. South Africa has also suffered from these land policies.

The industrial revolution is the key component. This led to the rapid rural-urban migration, not the mortgage system made available.
For Kenya, I think we are bearing fruits off overpopulation. I have seen farmers subdivide their farms to their sons to the point of a joke.

I agree but
England is smaller than Kenya and had a large population by the 1950s. They were saved by an advanced financial systems which offered loans to common people. Otherwise, there are very industrialize countries in Europe which are still poor like Ukraine.

All rift valley land should be given to the house of mumbi we are the only ones who fought for this countrys independence while the rest were hiding

Pia Nandi walikuwa na Koitalel Arap Samoei. Alipambana na mzungu vilivyo. MauMau wenyewe hawakupata shamba ata kidogo.

Ukweli

There’s a talker called @Damat who had this to contribute
[ATTACH=full]230043[/ATTACH]

True, white farmers also own large farms in Laikipia, Naivasha, Kitale and Meru North. Interestingly, most of the land is not under cultivation but an asset here in Kenya and also in England

Ongea na elders, they have the real account of what happened. We Westerners for one fought foreigners from Arabs to Wazungus.

Tell us your history I’m listening

Whites were able to cultivate huge tracts of land here SA Zimbabwe, US etc etc because labour was essentially free .The easiest way to develop is to use slave like labour. Since labour component is low ,you are able to be competitive and the massive profits generated are invested in other sectors of the economy .
That’s how the massive tea and coffee plantations came about .Again that’s how they were able to build a railway in just 5 years at the beginning of 20th C .Slave labour from India my friend .
The shiny buildings and infrastructure in ME built with slave labour from Bangladesh India and Nepal .The average Chinese factory worker is from the countryside and is paid peanuts .
My point is that if we want to leapfrog and become a true middle income economy debt free ,we need to utilize free labour from the prison department .
Free dams ,roads ,ports etc etc