The Narrow Escape

I have no idea why my aging mind decided to remember something that happened so long ago. But, at times, my mind has a mind of its own.
Many years past, fresh out of college, working for a Real Estate firm in NHC house, i was a regular at a famous Fish & Chips place right opposite Ramogi studio. The name of the road escapes my mind…it has a mind of its own.
Anywho, i used to frequent the chips place almost every lunch hour for chips. Used to cost only 20bob. Infact, if you had only 10, you still could eat. Just wait at the door, holding your ten in hand and pretty soon, another sufferer would come with his 10, and you would both share a plate.
The place was very famous and extremly popular… The price was very welcoming, and the chips was more, in comparison to other outfits on Munyu Road. The queues would at times overflow to the street outside. We ate standing, crammed like sardines in a can. Hardly a turning space.
I was a regular and i knew that you got more chips if you ordered take away, rather than by the plate. I would then just walk to the nearest used plate that had not been collected from the eating counter, empty the chips onto the plate, discard the makaratasi ya kufungia chips to avoid detection by the management, and have my in bliss.
Lazima pawe na momo in such a place, so cue in Nancy… Nancy was a cleaning gal in the joint…meaning, she removed the plates from the counter tops, and wiping any crumb of viazi that escaped the hungry crowds. Not much fell by the way.
My first interaction with Nancy was when she confronted me seeking to know who exactly had disposed wrappings on the floor. I denied vehemently. She accused me, and i swore by a river and a valley that i ordered chips by the plate. I even dared here ask the cashier…the owner of the joint…her boss. She couldnt dare do that… The boss was a harsh shinny eye, macho nyanya, mdomo kauka mungiki from Muranga.
As days went by, she got used to finding makaratasi near me, and somehow we struck a friendship. She always came to say hi or to harass me… I gave her some compliments and gradually warmed her up.
I lived in a single 8x10 room in Mathare North… The best house i ever lived in. Had just a bed and stool for the stove. A nice place, …wait a second… The road i couldn’t remember is called Luthuli Avenue…yer…my mind has a mi… Forget it.
So i lived in Mathare North. I invited her over for slices, and she became a regular… I was very single then. So i took to taking slices almost every Sunday afternoon, and an odd saturday night sleep over. She started feeling at home in my place… Very much at home. To her, i was a very viable mzee.
Overtime, seeing that we were free and all, i jokingly, i swear by a roomful of Scriptures, i jokingly, only once, i jokingly…did i say i jokingly… Yes,… I jokingly told her to move in with me. I swear it was a joke. It was on a sunday. Sunday afternoon slice buffet. She went home and i forgot about the issue.
Monday lunch hour, i went to the joint for chips… Did my thing… She came over…and after the usual, she pointed to a bag at the corner…it was my bag… Hadnt even noticed that she had taken it. It was at the corner…full of her clothes…and stuff…she informed me that from that evening…she would be mine till hell froze over. I panicked. I almost ran out screaming… I was too young for this crap. I had to devise a plan… I calmly, smilling for joy, and beaming with the good news, gave her all the money i had. 1600 bob. Told her akija home afanye shopping. She had a spare key… I told her tukutane nyumbani. She walked away beaming with joy.
I spent one very scared afternoon. In the evening, she came over. I acted and behaved happy… For almost a week… Then my escape came… She recieved her periods. I have never been so happy…in my life… For being denied slices coz of periods… It meant she wasnt pregnant… And i was under no obligation to keep her…
On the third day, she cane home to an empty house…but i left her the bed, the stove and the stool. I took my matress and my clothes and my certs … And moved to Zimmerman.
@Meria Mata , tafadhari wapi unaskia kuna maji mombasa… Hatujafanya kazi two days… Today is the third…saidia bro.

54 Likes

Huyu ndio alituma panya kwako.

14 Likes

Joyland fish and chips.

your heading sounds like a movie shot in the 60s

nice read m4.
kwani you dint have enuff(read both) balls zakumshow rship imekulemea ama wewe ni yule rafiki ya @Purr_27 ako na nyee moja kama duck billed platypus. SWINE!

Husband pata potea…she had you then she didn’t

:D:D he he

OOO hata balls zijawahi ona:oops::oops:

Hahahahaha!

Wewe uko na moto Special mbiguni

You write like a hoe. And what’s with the repeating yourself thing ?

Swaffi…
Didn’t the lady have a mind of her own?

hahaha chips za combi

Kimani dukandehere umatina, njagathi ino.

Hehehehehe
Only M4 can pull such a move.

me likes.

@wamathuraku uka wuigwe ndeto ici.

Na uache kuficha hekaya…I’m sure there’s more where that came from…

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

What was wrong with telling her on the face it cannot work? You led her on and booom! Not fair.

I could see the story unravel on the eye of my mind. Wait does it have a mind of its own?
Good writing @Kasighau