The New Apple Mac Pro

The recently launched Mac Pro is retailing at $5,000. It features 8-core, 32GB RAM, 256GB SSD. But the unbelievable part is the stand which is $1,000. Then add the display price for $4,999. Total inakuja 1.1 million Kenyan shillings for the complete basic model.

If you want more specs for the Mac Pro, you can get an upgraded model for $35,000. A computer at 3.5 million Kenyan shillings! By the time imefika Kenya na ukalipa tax za Uhuru, itakuwa 5 million.

[ATTACH=full]241194[/ATTACH]

Why do you need such a machine? For what not unless you want to wash your corrupt money…

This is made for the elitist squad.

Wewe pambana na Toshiba yako pole pole.Hizi zina wenyewe. Ghaseer

that 1000$ stand has a headphone jack. So in short ni dongle ya $1000

Ngojea sasa @patco akuje akuambie vile Apple is the best because of their expensive prices

for $35k you can buy a Tesla 3

sentiments of an empty wallet…Kwani ikitengenezwa,Apple Inc hawakua wanajua ni nani wanatengenezea? i can bet my two nuts off that at no point walisema “aah ,hii sasa ni @Mambombaya ,@Cypher254 atachangamkia”…lanes my fren,Vitu zingine hakuna haja ya kucomment

You either a child or dnt know much about technology… For half the price you can build a more powerful pc and if you fancy macintosh you can configure your build to a hacintosh and enjoy everything Mac offers…

You pay premium if there is nothing in the market that comes close to whatever you are buying. For this you are paying ‘apple tax’ nothing more nothing less.

Here is an official quote.

if you need to ask whether or not you’d benefit from a Mac Pro, then there’s a high chance that you wouldn’t. It truly is a computer built for professionals.

To be absolutely clear, you don’t need a Mac Pro unless you are a professional in the fields of video editing, image editing, or 3D rendering.

Along the same lines, Mac Pros could potentially be used as game development workstations for high-end 3D gaming. computer-aided design, architecture, medical imaging, and RAM-intensive image editing that involves concurrent editing of many ultra-high-resolution files. To show off the new Mac Pro’s power, Apple’s presenter loaded up a thousand audio tracks into Logic Pro, and the machine didn’t even flinch.

I see nothing wrong with the pricing as this should even not be bought by any home consumer. It is not a machine meant to edit your 5 excel sheets or edit your small time photos or wedding footage. Even the main competitors are priced along this range with a similar Microsoft Surface 2 starting at price range of close to 5000USD and even this I have never seen in Kenya.

It is only meant for corporates who complained about lack of power and modularity on the iMac

The Pro Stand though going for 1000USD though is pure theft though as it is just a monitor stand

The Mac Pro also comes with Apple Afterburner, an accelerator card that can decode up to three streams of 8K ProRes RAW video, or 12 streams of 4K ProRes RAW video in real time.

It’s got an Intel Xeon processor with up to 28 cores, up to 1.5 terabytes of RAM – yes, terabytes – and graphics up to Radeon Pro Vega II Duo, which Apple calls the world’s most powerful graphics card(can’t wait to see actual tests to this claim) (and you can have your Mac Pro with two of those).

i repeat… if you rely on a company’s marketing material as a reason to make a purchase or rationalize the price tag i feel for you. That is the first thing that any techie throws out of the window as most of the time its a load of BS. Let me leave this link hapa…

Tech review.

Lol. That video was published even before the press conference. And as you can see, Linus was very wrong about some of the claims he made. E.g. the total upgradable RAM here is 128gb compared to 1.5tb on the new Mac Pro

Plus this is not meant for a hobbyist. Keep in mind the main custpmer target is not hobbyists. Enterprises have no time to keep assembling their own builds.

Lol. The target market for this is enterprise customers that would laugh at you the moment you said the word “build”. You aren’t getting the same support contract or a legal copy of OSX from a bunch of parts you ordered from your downtown computer parts shop

Difference between me and you i am not a fan boy. I am a realist, if you visit or watch videos of serious content creators (be it game developers, you-tubers) studios you will get to understand they dnt buy OEMs but customize and configure their machines to produce their desired output.

Yes the the linked video is not the tower Mac Pro but the traditional All-in-one i Mac, issue here is value for money Mac products (most) dnt have but you just paying an ‘apple tax’.

But we are not discussing the iMac here. So I don’t understand what you mean when you say you are talking about the iMac. This thread is about the Mac Pro.

All those you mentioned are individuals. And I told you clearly that no enterprise worth its salt is going for a ‘custom build’ lol. Ati Electronic Arts is going to do custom builds for over 1000 devs…lol. halafu there is no advanced support. Do you even hear yourself?

Enough said. watu wakae kwa lanes zao. Sio kusema ati ume tune Subaru Hackingtosh, your subaru is now a Ferrari.

Hehehehe. Ati juu subaru yako inachapa 350kph sasa iko ligi moja na Buggati. Hehe. @Cypher254 can you kindly reflect and be serious for a quick minute.

Ati wewe na ujuzi yako umeshinda Apple engineers?!

No lets be serious at times.

Hizo hackingtosh kwanza naziogopa sana zinaweza fanya ulie machozi. Ama ikuchomee nyumba.

If a hackingtosh explodes issa motherfucking disaster. Saa hizo uko na project ya 6 months hapo. All gone.

QUALITY my fren. QUALITY!!!

People pay top dollar for an Imac because you know there is just no substitute. If you are a true filmmaker hizi ni vitu unafaa kujua @Deorro.

Si ulisema wewe ni mtu wa VFX? Hii ni kitu unafaa kujua automatically.

Apple is at the very top in videography.

This new imac is targeted at 5G users. 5G streaming.

It is targeted at people who shoot 4K to 8K video footage. Or high end game developers.

Entry level for this new imac is 8 cores but you can boost it to an insane 28 CORES of intel Xeon W processors. 28 cores of complete madness.

Basically you can edit 3 streams of raw 8K data at the same time… :D:D

If you can afford an 8K camera then you can afford this imac.

If you were to completely max out this new imac, it would actually cost $50,000.

$50,000. Kshs. 5 million. That’s the same cost of a proper camera my fren.

This is not for paupers.

Huyu jamaa anafikiria utaingia kwa digital department ya Ogilvy, Dentsu, Autodesk apate ati custom builds that have no vetted safety measurements, no vendor hardware support, OS licensing or known compliance and formal certification Lol. Na saa zingine ukiambia mtu ako retarded anacatch feelings.

@Cypher254 Just because you did a Django course juzi let me educate you. Custom builds are just that, for your home studio and personal use. No Fortune 500 enterprise is going to operate on custom builds…lol. This is the market that Apple is looking to tap into. Comprende?

Youtube huchezea watu psychology sana. Ati you can pimp any small thing and it will work the same as the ultimate product.

Na haujiulizi the amount of research and testing that went into building the ultimate product!!

That’s why they give you a warranty, that the ultimate product will deliver as sold for the next 5 or 10 years.

Lakini hackingtosh haina warranty. Like Ruto says, ‘Ni pata potea!’

It might work… or it may burn your house or factory down.

Can you imagine Mpesa using hackintosh servers…

@Cypher254 A fully decked out HP Workstation which is the main competitor goes for 44,220 USD.

Enterprise customers do not care in the slightest what a gaming PC costs. Gaming PCs don’t generally have Xeon CPUs or support for 1.5TB of ECC memory do they?

For large businesses the cost of a short downtime is orders of magnitude more than the price of this PC. They aren’t going to be wasting tons of time troubleshooting and RMAing individual parts. That’s why they need enterprise support.Huge film studios that make multimillion dollar films with huge production teams and cost are the target audience for this. Not Joe Schmo who has a million subscribers on YouTube

Lakini leo umenifurahisha. Hehehe. I am just imagining the head of creative at Pixar studio taking us on a tour of the company halafu anatuonyesha “Here is our creative and film production department running on no name assembled computer parts from Newegg”…lol. now I am just enjoying making fun of you

This is intended for the kind of user that makes $10,000/hr making VFX for the next Hollywood hit.

That computer is super-powerful and ideal for Hollywood movie editors, software engineers, animators etc. It will improve competition and I can bet some Asian tech companies will copy the Mac Pro design to improve their desktop computers. Kwanza hiyo cooling system wameweza.

Thank you. It is just so ridiculous that these people want to compare an enterprise workstation to a home build.

You just can’t 1:1 compare this to a regular build.

The thing literally has a built in video editing hardware accelerator with programmable ASIC that can simultaneously edit 12 RAW 4K streams without taxing your CPU. A standard PC build doesn’t have that. I don’t even know how to price it for a comparable PC build.

Plus it’s using high end server motherboards and Xeon CPUs and specialized server error-correcting (ECC) RAM.

Even the SSD. Assuming it’s the same as the iMac Pro, which it looks to be, it’s a top-of-the-line SSD with a read/write speed of 3 GBps (capital G, gigaBYTES, not bits) with a specialty controller chip that can encrypt/decrypt everything written in real time with no performance loss to the CPU or read times.

And the Radeon 580X is, similarly, a specialized model with high-output Thunderbolt that can send 500w of power and 6K video signals. It’s not the same as a standard Radeon 580.

(And all of this is ignoring the expensive metal case and cooling system- Apple literally bragged about how quiet it is for recording studios.) Imagine having like a hundred of these workstation in one room and the room is still work friendly. Custom build ungefikiria ni industry imefunguliwa halo.

Like, it’s not 1:1 with standard PC components. You can’t compare it 1:1. And for a normal PC build none of these things matter- I’d never choose to spend extra to get 3 GBps over 1 GBps for an SSD, I’d be fine getting non-ECC RAM or an i7 instead of a Xeon- but the machine isn’t ‘just overpriced’, it’s using insanely high end components, and comparing to cheap versions of the same parts isn’t really fair.

Those high end components have a diminishing ROI unfortunately, which is why the machine seems so expensive. In the same way an i7 costs a lot more than an i5 with the same specs, a Xeon costs more than an i7 with the same specs.

@Cypher254 This thing belongs at Disney sio kwa one bedroom ya Ruaka

You’re largely paying for the dope ass custom MOBO. 12 ECC (Not garbage regular memory) DIMM slots for up to 1.5 TB of RAM

28 Core (56 Threads) Xeon chipset capacity

8 PCI slots.

And when bill for software/licenses comes, price of workstation is not that much anymore. A suite of CAD/CAM/CAE with support comes to anything from 1,500-15,000€ per year per seat.

See in usual WS world it is not only performance that matters but it is quarantee from manufactuter of hardware and software house that combination will work, day after day 24/7 (per example in foundry and rolling mill) without any hickups for years. Guaranteed HW+SW compatibility and one business day service if needed, training and support.