the next stupid jubilee project - loading ...

you may have been wondering what the hell is being build in the middle of the super-highway. … yes the govt is building bus stops in the middle of thika rd…

its as if we have not experienced what happens when buses/matatus stop in the middle of the road to pick passengers …

[ATTACH=full]360549[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]360550[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]360551[/ATTACH]

Si ni za BRT, ama how should it be done bwana chief engineer?

Have you seen how other BRTs are done?? How do you paste a BRT lane in the middle of a highway on the acceleration lane … something that was not in the original intention or design of the highway.

Have you studied, analyzed and understood that design?

Kenya yazonga mbele na Uhuru Kenyatta.

Yes and it’s bullshit… have you ever experienced the traffic mess that occurs when a truck stalls on one of the inner lanes of the highway? Now imagine multiple buses every few kms … Just wait and see … the designers of the highway are not stupid when they put bus stops on the separate service lanes …

The design works well since the brt lane is reserved for the bus only. The only challenge naona ni hawkers kujazana Kwa hizo walkways leading to the flyovers.

Exactly. Centre lane ni ya PSV pekee.

As it has been said before the only challenge is hawkers, and knowing that thika road is part of the hawkers paradise.

Issue yangu ni hakuna ramps for wheel chairs

This looks okay,shida ni magari na abiria kufuata sheria,you’ll still see watu wa personal wakifuata the BRT Lane.

Is the stalled truck supposed to be using the inner lane in the first place

Sema tu wewe ni midget huwezani ata na stairs.

Hapo itabidii hawker kadhaa wafyekwe wanyurie ndio akili ifanye kazi.

The idea is that private motorists will leave their personal cars and opt for the BRT. This reduces traffic on that road.
In addition juu hakuna jam in those inner lanes and therefore travel time is faster then there will not be any need to use taxis. This reduces congestion further

Then the authority incharge (NAMATA??) will ensure high level of cleanliness, no hawkers, no pickpockets, spacious and comfortable buses, timely buses, etc. This will ensure that more people will opt to use the BRT as compared to akina Kenya Mpya and Paradiso. This further decongests the highway.

Eventually they want to have enough buses to ensure that hakuna delays especially rush hour.

Anyway thats what is on the paper/study that was used when coming up with the idea.

But as they say vitu kwa ground ni different.

Are you illiterate? Si hiyo ni BRT

How are stupid people so confident in calling others illiterate… i knew its supposed to be a “BRT” i just questioned the practicality of the design on a road that was not built to have a BRT… ama unafikiria BRT ni jina tu …unachora line kwa bara bara na unasema ni BRT …

Hio inner lane ya BRT pengine iwekwe fence to separate it from the normal traffic, otherwise bodaboda and mathree will have a field day hapo … and no one will do shiet about it. @eddy mayelo uko right kimpango

Usually there is a barrier(small like a kerb) that prevents other vehicles from crossing. Why do we think an engineer is so dumb?

Because engineers have done dumber things in the past