The Other Side

I have always been critical and skeptical about people who purchase apartments in Lavington, Kileleshwa etc. Today, I would like to know the perspective of those who have already bought or plan to buy apartments in premium addresses. How do you justify your purchases? What is your point of view that skeptics miss?

Why are you wearing shoes while you could do with cheaper sandals?
Why are you using a 30k phone while you could get a decent one for 7k?
Why are you living in a 2 bedroom house alone when a single room would do?
Why take an uber while you could take a matatu and save money?

Why are you asking meffi questions?

You are doing the same to those who choose to invest in Lavington and Kileleshwa.

True. Life isnt just about cost and lost opportunity. Life is also about the “Feel Good factor” and also social issues. For example, why not go to work in a blanket of the type rural maasai people wear? You will probably loose your job or clients on that day.

I am asking for their perspective because I want to understand it too. I am not critiquing their decision in this post, lakini wewe na kimbelembele yako ushajijazia.

these guys who have bought apartments in green leafy suburbs would also like to know the perspective of people like you who buy plots of land in rongai (a dirty, undeveloped, insecure backward place) and put up your pig-stays there

To get a bigger house with its own compound. As long as you have a car, there is nothing a person in Kileleshwa will do that I can’t. Your turn.

i have already given you the answer (a dirty, undeveloped, insecure backward place )
people take security very seriously
infrastructure development is also another thing ( i do not want to drive my car in a dirt rd to get to my hse, i need water in my tap 24/7 etc)
why should i stay 30km away from my work place and spend 4hrs a day in traffic jams?
population is another thing these backward places are noisy polluted and overpopulated

i can also use my apartment as a investment

Apartment complexes have a higher population density than gated estates in satellite towns.

I was renting from a guy hapa Valley Arcade then akapata mashida akaniuzia cash bei ya kutupa .It was too good a deal to pass up.If it wasn’t for this kuangukia ,I’d have bought a plot in Membley nijenge pole pole …

gated communities are not located in backward places like rongai or utawala (the favrite areas for plot buyers like you)
gated communities are a whole different ball game - take Runda for example
the price of a house in a gated community is not in the same range as a apartment
you are mixing issues here

places like kilimani , kileleswa lovington etc have bulding codes, you can not just put up a block of apartments 12 floors high

Wacha ujinga mtu Random - You cannot compare the quality of life in Kileleshwa with Rongai .Quality of life is nearness to great social amenities(good Schools ,good hospitals ,good roads ,good security) ,a variety of great restaurants nearby ,10 mins from work etc etc .

You actually can. But you must have an elevator.

thats where your wrong, home owners associations will not allow that for obvious reasons

Tembea Kenya uache mehemehe. I live in a gated community and it is nowhere near Runda. The price of a townhouse where I live is in the 15 million range, same as an apartment in those Kilimani areas. You need to travel more.

I agree. That’s why I said this isn’t a debate. I wanted to know your side of the story. The only reason I posted that is because he asked for my perspective.

It is called the pursuit of pleasure; hedonism. Unfortunately uncontrolled hedonism like we are seeing in Kenya today, the pursuit of pleasure without morals has led to the fall of civilizations. In hedonistic societies men become soft, cannot defend and/or lead their societies. Sorry for preaching on your thread.