THE POWER OF PRAYER

This regards prayer for our nation.Prayers of repentance and mercy can turn away justified comeuppance caused by the great evil and injustice thats our bedrock.If you’re in Nrb and can prayers are going up for our motherland in Uhuru Park from 9am to 4pm.Or join live via MBCI TV.Let us stand in the gap for our nation.The Lord will not let the beasts devour us His doves,if we pray.

[SIZE=6]The Power Of Prayer[/SIZE]
By
Rabbi Ben Tzion Shafier– July 20, 2017

“[I]And the congregation will save the killer from the redeemer, and they shall return him to the city of refuge where he will sit until the death of the [/I]kohen gadol[I] who was anointed with the holy oil[/I].” – Bamidbar 35:25

If Reuven unintentionally killed Shimon, he is called a “shogeg killer,” and he must flee to a city of exile.

The Mishnah (Maakos 11a) tells us that since shogeg killers could only return home when the kohen gadol died, the mother of the kohen gadol would bring the killers food and clothing. By acting with great kindness, she would create in them a sense of appreciation so they would not pray for her son to die.

This is rather difficult to understand. Thekohen gadol is considered one of the greatest men of his generation, certainly atzaddik. The shogeg killer, on the other hand, is viewed as someone who can’t even remain among the nation; he must be exiled. Yet it appears that if the shogeg killer woulddaven, his prayers might be answered, and the kohen gadol would die. Why? The kohen gadol is an innocent man, and this killer is only praying for his death so that he can go free. Why should anyone’s prayer have that effect – especially when praying for the death of such a righteous man as the kohen gadol?

The answer to this question is based on understanding that Hashem created two systems of judgment: the system of din, which is strict justice, and the system ofrachamim, which is mercy. The system ofdin demands exact accountability: you were capable of resisting the temptation and you didn’t, so you are responsible. There is no leniency, no leeway. It’s strict cause and effect. You brought about the consequences, so you are responsible.

The system of rachamim is very different. It takes into account many other factors: the difficulty of the situation, the effect of the generation you lived in, the circumstances that led up to the event. And while it is still true that you did what you did, you are held much less accountable because of the mitigating factors.

[SIZE=5]The World Created With Mercy[/SIZE]
When Hashem first thought (if it could be) about creating the world, the middah of dinwas in operation. That is the system of absolute truth, and it should be what guides all judgments. However, the world couldn’t exist under that system. The standards are too high; the demands too great. No man would be found righteous, and the world itself could not continue. Therefore, Hashem created the world with the attribute ofrachamim as the primary system. Now many other factors weigh in, and judgment is much lighter.

However, while the rachamim system may sound nicer and kinder, in a real sense din is far more proper and appropriate. After all, a person is responsible for what he does. And that is the conundrum. Judged with 100 percent din, no human would stand. But judged with complete rachamim, no person is responsible for his actions and justice would be destroyed. For that reason, a balance must be struck. The din remains in this world, but it is mitigated by rachamim, and the relative levels of din and rachamimare affected by many factors.

Because of this, both systems function. Any judgment becomes a balance – how muchrachamim and how much din? Almost like a slide rule that moves across a beam, the balance will shift across the spectrum fromdin to rachamim depending on many factors – sometimes 30 percent rachamim, 70 percent din. . . sometimes 60 percentrachamim, 40 percent din. . .

One of the factors that affect the balance between mercy and justice is prayer. When we daven, a big part of what we request is for Hashem to show mercy, meaning Hashem should shift the balance from justice to mercy. Without abdicating responsibility for my actions, I ask Hashem to judge me with a greater measure of mercy, taking into account all the extenuating factors that lessen the severity of the judgment. If, in fact, my prayers are effective in changing the balance, then the same act that might otherwise have been severely punished may now be overlooked. Judged by a different standard, it isn’t as egregious.

This seems to be the answer to the question. As great as the kohen gadol might be, if he were judged with complete din, even he would not survive. At some point in his life he must have done something wrong. If that action would now be judged with strictdin, he would die.

When the shogeg killer davens, he is asking Hashem to have mercy on him and let him go home. The only way this can happen is if the kohen gadol dies. But according to the current system of judgment, the kohen gadolis an innocent man and deserves to live. The prayers of the shogeg killer change the system of judgment that is used. With moredin in force, even the kohen gadol becomes guilty. Under those exacting standards, he deserves to die. For that reason, the mother of the kohen gadol would do everything in her power to prevent the shogeg killer fromdavening. She was aware of the power of prayer.

This concept is very relevant to our lives. Often we may find ourselves thinking, “How much of a difference can my daveningmake? If I am destined to get this, then Hashem will give it to me. If I am worthy of it, Hashem will provide it for me. What difference do my tefillahs make?”

The answer is that they make a huge difference. Not with regard to me, and not with regard to whether I merit that which I am asking for, but with regard to the system of judgment that is applied to me under the circumstances. Judged with favor, I might merit great things. Judged with strict justice, I might merit very little. We daven to Hashem to change the system; He should use mercy, not justice.

Advertisement

Previous articleNetanyahu Forbids MKs to Go Up to Temple Mount
Next articleWhether Notation Of A Loan In The Deceased’s Ledger Is Sufficient To Require A Borrower’s Oath Of Denial (Siman 75:22)
Rabbi Ben Tzion Shafier
http://www.TheShmuz.com
Rabbi Shafier is the founder of TheShmuz.com. The Shmuz is an engaging, motivating shiur that deals with real life issues. All of the Shmuzin are available free of charge at www.TheShmuz.com http://www.jewishpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/12/Gaonim-Midrash-logo-NEW.jpg

Selah

Two hands working can do more than a thousand clasped in prayer

Hii in religion gani? Sijasoma yote, but sounds interesting.

Hawa ni wayahudi…

hii comment imefanya nimechujwa from my family whatsapp group

You told people to stop being lazy?

yes…waache kuomba omba wafanye kazi

My dear Vunja de(btw your name is the one tht tickles me most on this forum - I don’t know why but from the first day I saw tht name,I was like what a name) but I digress.

Prayer is not mutually exclusive to work.Much like eating or sleeping or showering or brushing n flossing your teeth is being lazy or means you’re not a worker.I don’t know why atheists or agnoists or skeptics or free thinkers whatever it is you are have to throw shards at spiritual activities or people as being escapists. I will have you know,young man,that the Bible exhorts believers against any and all forms of sloth.If you took the time to read the Bible,you’d be surprised that your prejudices are completely unjustified!

There’s nothing the Bible extols more besides righteousNess than work ethic.What is wrong with your rejoinder is simply bcz you’re totally ignorant abt Christianity yet you’re the first to disparage it.

Lemme educate you just abit.Prayer,fasting,alms to the less fortunate, acts of mercy such burying the dead,visiting the incarcerated and the infirm are some of the responsibilities of a Christian! Infact the Bible says explicitly true religion is taking care of the orphan and the widow.

Now let me inform you what the Bible says about work.So that you can explain to members where the Bible said,Christians must pray but not work. Christians are not lazy, some of the most sucessful people are Christians.

Please this post is about prayers, remove your misguided n ill informed bias that Christians pray bcz they don’t want2wrk,they want God to be their sponsor. If that were the case it goes against the teaching of the Bible! Anybody who does not work should not eat.Any man who does not provide for his family is worse than an infidel(atheist/pagan).Diligent hands will reign.A little sleep,slumber, folding of the hands and poverty will come suddenly! Yes these are verses that are in the Bible. You should read it sometime! You’ll surprise yourself!

If Jesus was so prayerful,that He’d pray every single morning and even toroka His disciples during the day/night kuomba omba, wewe utatuambia tuache kuomba omba kama nani? So going to pray for 8 hrs will make ua miss work? Wewe mwenye unafanya kazi while praying, I challenge you we compare our networths,tuone if the I spent praying while you worked imekusaidia! Lemme advice from the Bible.God gives power to make wealth and provides for those He luvs while theyre still asleep. For me the time I spent praying opened doors4me nilipoenda kwa kazi yangu I overtook those who were busy at work as I was praying. Below are verses showing us how much Jesus prayed. Was He effective in His ministries or not? Kama kazi ndio muhimu sana just ask yourself if Jesus was not a free Physician how rich He could’ve been.Instead He said,be on your guard against all kinds of greed,for a man’s life doesnt constitute in the abundance of his possessions. If anything God gives believers the power to make wealth so as to build His kingdom on earth not for them to be seen that they’re rich.

Wait a minute. Hebu ni saidie kujua unatambua aje the meaning of Prayer? It’s importance quiz might come later if you help me get what you mean.

Otherwise everyone’s opinion is important. Whether you take it or not, it depends with the aspect of the opinion (with regards to one’s attitude in giving out the opinion). I don’t mean you’re wrong. Just bring your point out.

which book is this: Bamidbar 35:25 ?

Am trying to get it too. @GeorginaMakena the names themselves on your post are strange (at least to me). almost 100% of the names e.g. Kethohen gadol, Mishna, atzaddik etc.

Personally I believe in the power of prayer applied in faith, but I can’t lie to you. Your post is full of vocabularies and strange names / terms that unless you elaborate it, I don’t think your message will reach home to people like me. Please Help.

My Friend I can tell you got everything right here. Tu translatie at least.

Google. The concept of evoking mercy via prayer vs retribution was the point I was making via this story!

It’s fine.